Recall 18V131000

Engine Stalls And Fails While Driving

Recall Details

The oil pump housing - balance shaft module in the engine may be cracked, resulting in oil pump failure. This would cause the engine to stall. Dealers will inspect the oil pump and replace affected balance shaft modules free of charge to resolve the concern.

Our Quick Take

The oil pump may fail inside the engine and cause the engine to stall and stop operating. This could result in a crash.

What Should You Do?

Recall repairs on your Jeep must be performed by a Jeep dealership. Chrysler will notify known owners of affected vehicles beginning in April, 2018. If you do not receive a notification, but wish to check to see if your vehicle is included, please contact one of your local Jeep dealerships. They will also check for any other incomplete recalls on your vehicle. For best results, be prepared to provide your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) to the service department consultant you speak with. The Chrysler recall number is U18.

Affected Cars

Engine, February 22, 2018

Original Recall from the NHTSA

Manufacturer's Report Date
February 22, 2018
NHTSA Action Number
Potential Number of Units Affected
Chrysler (FCA US LLC) is recalling certain 2017 Jeep Renegade vehicles equipped with a 2.4L engine. These vehicles may be equipped with a cracked oil pump housing/balance shaft module (BSM), which can cause the oil pump to fail and the engine to stall.
An engine stall can increase the risk of a crash.
Chrysler will notify owners, and dealers will inspect the oil pump for its production information, and replace the BSM as necessary, free of charge. The recall is expected to begin April 13, 2018. Owners may contact Chrysler customer service at 1-800-853-1403. Chrysler's number for this recall is U18.
Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Vehicle Safety Hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), or go to
Not your car? Find your recalls now:
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration logo
Recall data provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration