Close

Lexus GX470 Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from Lexus GX470 owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
Lexus GX470 Ratings Overview
10 car owners like you reviewed their Lexus GX470. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
Compare Car Reviews
×
Compare Vehicles
compared with
(10 Ratings)
5 star
(1)
4 star
(5)
3 star
(2)
2 star
(2)
1 star
(0)
Lexus GX470
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 10 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
Details
×
Rating Details
Value
Fuel Economy
Safety
Interior
Comfort
Performance
By on 7/7/18 | Belton, TX | Car Owner
I bought this car as a CPO through Lexus in 2009 with about 36,000 miles. I’ve only done two unexpected repairs and it was the alternator both times. Because the alternator drained the battery I also had to replace the battery both times. Seems to happen every 4 years... otherwise this car has not had any other issue. It’s been nothing but routine maintenance and service. Mileage is what you would expect for an SUV... we get an average of 17-18mpg but highway driving can go up to as much as 20. City driving can go as low as 13mpg... really depends on where you spend more time driving. We have used this suv on several long road trips and it’s very comfortable. I really have few complaints with this vehicle. Stick to the routine maintenance and service and it will last. Currently have over 110,000 miles. We don’t drive it a lot but it’s been a really good car. That being said, parts are not that cheap but they are also not too expensive. Just have to look.
Yes, I would recommend this car.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
21 out of 43 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/11/15 | Menlo Park, CA
We purchased our '07 GX 470 with 26,000 miles on it. It was a Certified Pre-Owned vehicle, and in immaculate condition. We hadn't had any problems with it until recently. Our alternator went out. The vehicle now has 63K miles. Initial estimate we were given to fix it was $1,100, but I challenged that after seeing that the parts are $370 for an OEM alternator. Got them down to $850, installed, which seemed fair after seeing all the parts they had to remove to access it. So, we've had the vehicle for 4+ years and that's the ONLY cost we have had. Pretty darn good, and this suv is solid! Powerful, comfortable, quiet, and it even tows 3,500! lbs with ease. I highly recommend it.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
5 out of 9 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/17/13 | Austin, TX
I HAVE A 2005 GX 470 WITH A CRACKED DASH
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/5/12 | Fullerton, CA
Decent car, but not a true lux vehicle. Plagued with problems during ownership. Still a Toyota. First and last Lexus/Toyota I'll buy.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 6 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 5/23/11 | New York, NY
I want to know how to change my oil in my Lexus GX470. Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
8 out of 11 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/28/10 | Boonton, NJ
Bought my 2004 GX470 used with low mileage. Had high expectations coming off a 2003 BMW X5. The X5 blows away the Lexus in every area except the leather interior. Handling turns requires you to SLOW DOWN so much it's not fun to drive except as a luxury truck with no sports suspension at all. The dashboard cracked and chipped and was replaced by Lexus as a "courtesy".
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/10/10 | Wichita, KS
SOMETIMES WHEN I'M AT A STOP THE VEHICLE JUMPS AS IF SOMEONE HAS HIT ME FROM BEHIND. IT ALSO HAS STARTED WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN DRIVE IT FEELS LIKE IT IS IN A LOWER GEAR.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
12 out of 13 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/6/10 | Redondo Beach, CA
This is a great SUV with lots of power.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/7/10 | Lebanon, TN
our sunroof doesn't close and sounds like it is off it's track. Same with our power windows sometimes. Sometimes they go down, but do not go up. VERY SAD FOR A LEXUS! Can fix this for a small penny! :(
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/5/10 | West Hartford, CT
sunroof make noise like misalign gear and don't close when operate.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Not your car? Find reviews now