Close

Toyota Tercel Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from Toyota Tercel owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
Toyota Tercel Ratings Overview
16 car owners like you reviewed their Toyota Tercel. The average rating is a 4.5 out of 5.
Compare Car Reviews
×
Compare Vehicles
compared with
(16 Ratings)
5 star
(1)
4 star
(13)
3 star
(2)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 16 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/31/17 | Olympia, WA
I must confess that the reason I came to this site was to figure out whether or not to sell my 1995 Toyota Tercel.

On the one hand, I love this car. I bought it new, in 1996, for less than $10,000, with only 34 miles on it. So yes, I've owned my Tercel for 22 years! It gets great gas mileage (nearly 40 MPG), and looks sporty, can fit into compact spaces, and has a huge trunk! I also like how durable it is. It has 212,000 miles on it after 22 years. Yes, I've babied it, and kept up with all the maintenance, and kept it in the garage. But it's been a great car, fun to drive, and very reliable! Even after it was totaled in 2006, it was totaled when an 18-year old without insurance rear-ended me while I was on the way to the airport. Lovely. But it didn't affect the drivability of this car! The trunk has some leaks, but wow, to survive that sort of impact, you've got to know this is a sturdy car.

Here are the problems I've had with the car over the past 22 years: An oil leak needed to be repaired, the battery replaced, and the brakes overhauled. In 2004, I had an A/C unit added, and this had some problems as well, but it was fixed. So nothing major at all!

Some disadvantages to this particular car is that it's all manual steering, an also has manual windows with handles. The handle on the drivers side has come off, and there are no parts to repair it, so that's a bummer. I still use the handle, just have to keep it in the pouch below where you roll down the windows and use it when needed. I am considering using glue to permanently attach it, but I'm not sure how that will work. Another disadvantage is that it is noisy. I have very sensitive hearing, and I measured the decibals it puts off while driving it and wow....no wonder I have ringing in my ears constantly.

The reason I wanted to sell it is because recently, mice began to infiltrate it. Last week, I saw a collection of mouse-turds on the interior of my car when I left a latte cup in my car overnight. Lovely. Anyway, after freaking out a bit, I immediately took it to the dealership and had it completely cleaned. I planned on selling it, but then they told me that this is a common problem, even with newer cars, where people live in rural areas like I do. So, now that it's clean, and I am using herbal remedies to keep the mice out, I am considering keeping it and hoping to get 300k to 500k miles out of this car.

I don't know if this is a forum where you can comment, but if it is, maybe tell me if I am out of my mind for deciding to keep this car? Regardless, thanks for listening!

Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
60 out of 122 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/20/12 | College Station, TX
I have been using since 2009 to date almost four years but changed only battery,refill gas.Toyota Tercel 1996.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/11/12 | Seale, AL
I bought this car in 2004, had it for four years; only reason for that is because a friend of mine really wanted to buy it, and I needed the money anyway. Best car I ever had; over 400 miles on one tank of gas, only routine maintenance; nothing too bad. Would love to have it again if I am Stateside!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/1/11 | St. Cloud, MN
Purchased my Tercel with 82,000 miles on it...Just rolled it over to 337,000 miles with nothing but very basic and limted manitance. At 325K I had to replace the first rotor and a windshield washer pump. Been a great little car!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/24/11 | St. Paul, MN
This thing is a tank!! It is not a Corvette but I can go for years without repair!! 190,499 miles. Typical maintenance and nothing else! Gets 30 mpg!!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
6 out of 6 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/14/11 | Longview, WA
super commuter, got it with 2,000 miles and it now has 224,000 miles on it. replaced tranny at 100, 000 (my fault for thinking it was an f-1 car) all original engine and suspension, engine burns "some" oil, suspension definitly sagging..oh yeah brakes done 1 time. im looking to rebuild my motor and get some basic things replaced.
BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 5 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/15/11 | Elk Grove, CA
I love this car. very good gas mileage. I own it since it came out on 97. it has 190,xxx miles but still with original timing belt and water bump. now it burns lots oil. but it can be fixed easily - just replace some valve seals. event burn oil, passing smog no problem. it goes up to 30mpg.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/27/10 | Fort Wayne, IN
Essentially bulletproof. Only issues: starter and second oxygen sensor. The starter just failed, at about 75,000 miles. It turned out to NOT be the sensor, but the exhaust pipe. The biggest challenge is/was finding a good, trustworthy shop, as it is with any car.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 11/17/10 | Warren, MI
Runs and runs and runs and runs. Have had it three years. EXCELLENT on gas. Parts kind of expensive but when it's fixed, it's FIXED. Great car.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 3/13/09 | Nome, AK
I own this car. I've been running this car since it came off the lot NEW in 1996. I've replaced the following: an engine (after 319,000KM) after a water pump failed [twice (1999, 2008)], radiator (hole found), Boots L and R, clutch plate, brakes (2004), air blower (2003 and again in 2009). I've run this car mostly on the highway in some of the coldest, harshest climates on this planet. I used this to get to and from industrial construction sites all over Alberta, Canada. The seats need replacing in the front along with the carpet on the floor. If someone asked me if I got my money's worth? Did I EVER!! The best car I've ever owned for durability and ease on my pocket book. Normally, I toss away a car after 5 years. This one I've now kept running for over 13 years. Sure it devaluated abit. But it's easy on the gas budget. It's reliable even by today's standards... and I'm driving an advertisement for Toyota now.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
6 out of 6 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/9/10 | Oxnard, CA
I have this car since bought the same year, believe it or not I still ahve it at 257k! Change major necessary part ofcourse but still runs good air condition. Love it! PS I think I just need to replace the brakes though but it's all good!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/16/10 | Killeen, TX
Amazing cheap car, reliable car....never die. Its a Toyota!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/26/10 | Clearwater, FL
I love my Toyata Tercel and have had it for 16 yrs...since new! I would buy another and think as far as repairs..it is good...change oil every 6 months and get tune-ups and your car will be happy and run well with good gas mileage. It is a great car...oh...and just 54,000 miles to date...Im not a driver..I like to walk a lot...lol!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 5/26/10 | Schenectady, NY
cheap and afordable toyota car
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 5/20/10 | Van Wert, OH
I have had my tercel for 10 years. I love my car, it is great on mileage and even though I have had to replace parts, it has never given me a problem. I drove it 350 miles in 5 1/1 hours at 75 the entire way and still had 1/4 tank of gas.I will buy another but I hope to have this car many more years, right now I have 189000
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/6/09 | Clarksville, IA
I love my little Toyota:) so much so that this is the 2nd time I've owned the same one!!! And the gas mileage is a dream!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Not your car? Find reviews now