Close

BMW 318i Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from BMW 318i owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
BMW 318i Ratings Overview
11 car owners like you reviewed their BMW 318i. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
(11 Ratings)
5 star
(1)
4 star
(8)
3 star
(2)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 11 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/18/11 | Covington, GA
well i hit the curb just the other night and after that my car started to overheat check the oil pan thats fine have x brace so cant hit that it started leaking antifreez after that from the rear and smoking and now its not leaking anymore but smokes from he heater valve area but still cat tell if its the heater valve just smokes from the rear by the heater valve cant figure it out ?
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 1/21/10 | Windsor, CT
Excellent Car. I have 305,000 miles and have never done anything to the engine except normal maintenance. I bought this car brand new in 97 and still have the original clutch. Most expensive work done was the Catalytic Converter. This is the most bullet proof motor I have ever seen ! Even the mechanics at BMW are amazed when I bring in for service.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
8 out of 8 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By of on 1/23/10 | Downey, CA
still running good after 225K miles!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/13/10 | Greensboro, NC
Why does the rpm's, speedometer, gas, oil and temp. guages flip on and off while driving? When they flick back on it makes a dinging sound as though you've left door open with keys still in the ignition. Someone help, its driving me crazy. The car does not shut off it still drives but when the gauges go out you can't tell how fast you're going or how much gas you have. It stays off 10 to 15 mins at a time sometimes longer before the gauges pop back on.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
18 out of 18 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/7/10 | Glendale, CA
Great lil' "Beeemer"! :)
I'm having fun fixing it up.. .thinking about lowering it and placing sway bars to stabilize the suspension..
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/25/10 | Fort Lauderdale, FL
This car deals well with good and bad Bahamian roads, hurtles round corners and gives great gas mileage. The styling is timeless and people always assume that the car cost way more than it actually did. Once you stay on top of the common problems you have yourself a top ride for not many dollars.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/23/10 | Houston, TX
Have 76,000 miles and love this car, drives like new. Have 4 cylinder engine has plenty of pep and gets good gas mileage. Have replaced water pump and a/c compressor once. Since it is a convertible, have replaced cloth top once. Have hardtop as backup whenever it gets too hot.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/22/10 | Glen Gardner, NJ
i BOUGHT A 02 318I AND LOVE IT. i DRIVE 50 MILES ONE WAY FOUR TIMES A WEEK TO WORK AND LOVE THE DRIVE. THE GUY I BOUGHT IT FROM SAID IT OVERHEATED BUT DIDN'T KNOW HOW TO FILL THE RADIATOR. YOU HAVE TO REMOVE THE SCREW TO LET THE RESEVOIR FILL IT. ANYWAY IT IS A GREAT RUNNING CAR. NOT TOO FAST BUT SPORTY ENOUGH FOR A WINDY ROAD TRIP, THANK GOD FOR A GOOD RUNNING BEAST.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/5/09 | Thorofare, NJ
I bought this car for my 19 year old so fall of 2009 with 127,000 miles on it. I wound up having to replace the Tstat and Housing along with the water pump and Radiator cap right away as the car was overheating. The radiator reservoir is plastic and has a very small crack in it which requires once a week monitoring of the fluid. It's a fairly complex fix so I am waiting a little before I replace it.

The 5 speed drives and handles really well with good power and acceleration while getting an average of 30 plus MPG.

One other issue is the driver's side plastic window guide broke allowing the window to fall out of it's forward guide. An easy but timie consuming fix and the parts weren't too expensive.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/18/09 | Alderson, WV
Folks I had to make up the zip code I'm from Nova Scotia Canada, this site doesn't recognise our postal codes.
I've owned my 1991 318i for a couple of years and recently have been using here in our Canadian winters for travel every day, return is about 65 miles. The rear wheel drive was a blast to get used to, again. I just had it painted for the first time and it came out great. I expect to drive this car for years it currently has 398000km or 245000mi, approx.It burns no oil, the only problem I'm having is locating the hook inside the gas cover to hang the gas cap on, it was misplaced during the paint job. If anyone has one or knows how I can get one please let me know at kguptell@eastlink.ca.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/23/08 | American Falls, ID
This Car marked the breakthrough of BMW. Its a car that refuses to age and that even nowadays you see people wanting this model for its looks and incredible speed! I travel 8000 miles twice a year on two road trips and also use it for every day use and i have never had any problems with it apart from maintenance stuff like oil tyres etc and this is my 8th year in a row that i do these trips!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Not your car? Find reviews now: