Close

2002 Ford Windstar Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from 2002 Ford Windstar owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
2002 Ford Windstar Ratings Overview
10 car owners like you reviewed their 2002 Ford Windstar. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
(10 Ratings)
5 star
(0)
4 star
(6)
3 star
(3)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(1)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 10 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/20/16 | Tecumseh, MI

I have a 01 Ford Windstar with a 190,000 miles AC still blows ice cold and I live in Michigan where they use tons of salt don't know what else you could ask for from a van been great to me replaced in the last hundred thousand miles only the alternator brakes and front end suspension nothing out of the ordinary
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 15 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/3/14 | Yonkers, NY
I PURCHASED MY 2002 WINDSTAR LX IN 2003 IT HAD 16453 MILES ON HER AND WAS STILL UNDER 36/36 WARRENTEE BUT I WAS GOING TO KEEP THIS VEHICLE FOR QUITE A WILL HAD 3 GRANDKIDS AT THE TIME NOW 6 I HAVE 134000 MILES OM HER NOW I HAVE A NEW (REBUILT TRANNY IN 2007) AND 3 POWERSTREERING PUMPS 2 UNDER WARRENTEE AND ONE IN 2012 NOT UNDER WARRENTEE ITS A SHAME THAT FORD DISCONTINUED IT IN 2006 SHE RUNS GREAT I KEEP HER UP TO DATE WITH ALL MAINTAINENCE GREAT RIDING VEHIHCLE
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/22/12 | Fairfield, CA
Bought this van for $300 with a bad engine...and replaced the engine IN A DRIVEWAY...Is being a daily driver for me since. Body is good although there are rattles, Brakes...jeez...it needs a brake job every other year. Engine is okay as well as the transmission...just change the fluids regularly. The CEL will always try to turn itself on so if you live in a smog state, be prepared! Heater and AC work excellent. Would recommend this vehicle to everyone, just have to maintain it!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/17/12 | Mediapolis, IA
The body and interior are awesome. The van brakes well. electrical is full of shorts. the engine quit due to blown head gasket. emissions has been an issue since 2008. heating is good but air condition has leaks in lines. steering is great suspension is good. It was not a good value $7,500 I paid the dealer in 2008 . Wont do it again
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 11/30/11 | North Las Vegas, NV
We have a 2002 Ford Windstar. One of the sliding doors won't open from the outside and both are getting harder and harder to open. The engine light practically stays on. Everytime we turn around there's something wrong, (fuel filter; air kit; alternator--twice; electrical problems). This vehicle is a lemon. When we attempt to answer a recall, to which we've received 3 and only had one problem resolved, your dealership won't schedule an appointment and tells us it could take any where from 4 hours to an entire day. VERY POOR SERVICE AND VERY POOR QUALITY!! Diana Sheridan
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
5 out of 6 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/16/11 | Bradenton, FL
I purchased the ford 2002 windstar se in Illinois with 113,000. I currently have 144,000 a year later. I have replaced the alternator, Ignition coil, manifold covers and had the air condition line fixed. Runs great up to 65 mph after that the rear end shakes. I am going to take it into the ford dealer to see if all the recalls were taken care of. I hope to get 200,000 out of it and I do not see that being a problem. I bought it for $3000
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/9/11 | Olympia, WA
135K on this vehicle. Clunking noise from front end is getting worse. Mirror adjusters are failing again for the second time. Some paint is starting to peel from the front. Seats are starting to feel less supportive. 24 mpg on the highway. This is our second windstar. The first one got rear-ended by a car doing 50 mph. The crumple zone saved my wife's life and the life of the girl who hit her. So we bought another one immediately. But I think we got a good one. Do a search for "windstar problems", and you will find plenty.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 3 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/23/08 | Hammond, IL
I am a second owner of my windstar and it runs great. I have the sport and i the only thing i can say about this vehicle is the back 3 person seat cannot be taken out with only one person so I wish it did have stow-n-go seating...otherwise this is a GREAT vehicle.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 6 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/4/10 | Minneapolis, MN
Nice Van,Now has 92,000 miles
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
2002 Ford Windstar
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/22/09 | New York, NY
i have 155675 miles and have replaced transmission 2 times. 2nd time was due to the fact the 1st time was not done correctly. oil is changed every 5000 miles using synthetic oil and fram 7000 mile oil filter. obviously things have had to be replaced with so much mileage but as far as i am concerned this van is great and i will buy another windstar.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 5 people found this helpful.
Not your car? Find reviews now