Close

1997 Ford F-150 Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from 1997 Ford F-150 owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
1997 Ford F-150 Ratings Overview
10 car owners like you reviewed their 1997 Ford F-150. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
(10 Ratings)
5 star
(1)
4 star
(5)
3 star
(3)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(1)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 10 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/17/11 | Sachse, TX
My lariet has 297,000 miles i have had to replace the coils,brakes and rear seal overall it has been a great truck with routine matainence it keeps going and going and going
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
8 out of 8 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/21/11 | Meadowview, VA
I HAD TO REPLACE HEAD GASKETS INTAKE GASKETS 1,250 DOLLARS WIPER PROBLEMS NOW MODULE PROBLEMS GETS GOOD GAS MILLAGE 26 MPG OTHER THEN THIS I LIKE MY TRUCK
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 8 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/16/11 | Watertown, NY
Fixing 4x4 right now for the first time
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 9/25/10 | Indianapolis, IN
Had to have engine replaced at 86,000 mi. due to 4.2 size eng being junk. Transmission problems at 100,000. Complete harness replacement at 70,000. I babied this truck from the day I bought it in 98....with not too much reward.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/24/10 | Wilmington, NC
Bought this Lariat new in 1997. Now, has 101000 miles. Only problem was the heat/ac. Had it fixed for $600. They had to take the whole front panel off. Otherwise, it's been really solid...I love it...I think one of the air bags has broken according to a light on the panel but otherwise...I can count on this baby.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 7 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 3/26/10 | Ann Arbor, MI
i have 248000 miles on my truck and the only thing i have replaced is the lower ball joint on the driver side this year. it has been a very good truck and always starts up. it is a 1997 four wheel f-150
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
5 out of 5 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/17/10 | Escanaba, MI
F150 3 door, small 4.6 L v-8. Terrible gas milage. 12-14mpg, Gas tank completely rusted out, running boards completely rusted out, Frame rusted. Brakes, rotors replaced. Both exhaust manifolds rusted through. Replaced 4 wheel drive motor, Heater'air conditioner controls do not work correctly. cruise control does not work, So far, I have spent over two thou
sand on repairs and no end in sight. Only 127,000 miles on truck. What can I say, and they talk about Toyota. Estimate to replace exhoust manifolds are running in the range of $800 to $2000
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 4 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 11/24/09 | Mabank, TX
Bought thi truck six years ago with 45k miles. Now have 108000.
In 2006 it caught fire in the engine compartment while parked on a city street with the engine off, if not for a bypasser spotting smoke coming from under the hood, it would have burned to the ground.
It cost my insurance co. 4600.00 for repairs. Ford offered nothing although they later had a recall for the same problem.
The AC controls don't work properly and the heater core is leaking.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/7/09 | Lanett, AL
have owned my 1997 f-150 4x4 for about 7 years and have driven it daily, It now has 225000 miles. The heater/ac air handling has gone haywire 4 times . Reoccurring problems with the some door has been the main problem. Repairs are very expensive because the entire dash panel has be removed (8 hr repair at dealer) Ford blew it on this !!! Other wise i really love my truck
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
1997 Ford F-150
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/16/08 | Duluth, MN
I bought this truck w/ 105,000 miles on it.

Now it has 117,000. Other than the head gaskets replaced by the dealer...and I only had to pay 50.00 on a 1900.00 job...i've had no major problems w/ it. I've pushed it to it's limits and it still holds on. Except now...if I drive the truck constantly (week after week) I go through a full pan of oil in about 700 miles. There is just a minor leak...but don't quite know where it's coming from yet. And the rest is probally being burned by the engine...but the converter is filtering 99% of it before it goes through the straight pipes.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Not your car? Find reviews now: