Close

1998 Ford Contour Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from 1998 Ford Contour owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
1998 Ford Contour Ratings Overview
7 car owners like you reviewed their 1998 Ford Contour. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
(7 Ratings)
5 star
(1)
4 star
(4)
3 star
(2)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 7 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/12/14 | Lewiston, ME
'98 Ford Contour beige/fake convertible choc. brn. top bought new. 16 yrs. old. Usual maint.. Serpentine belts, new muffler, rear/front light bulbs, new fuel pump @14 y. o., brake work, rust repair X 2...Maine/salt on roads. Overhead light plastic part snapped early on, driver side plastic door knob broke @ 15 y. o., dash air blower quit @ 16 y. o.. Its resistor or something changed/temperamental...mostly doesn't work...I question if dial mechanism worn out and not engaging/something not making good connection. Lost/replaced two hubcaps. Trunk excellent design in keeping debris/water out. Car is a beauty/sharp looking, has been totally reliable, excellent in snow, good on gas, great on the road. Have used Irving gas unless not avail.. 7 yrs. ago began using synthetic oil. Rarely allow anyone else to drive it. Absolutely love it and am growing sad at the thought she may die on me soon due to age. Inherited parents' well maintained 2000 Chevy Impala...twice the cost of my Contour and it has been a royal pain in the ---. I'll take my Contour any day!!!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 3/30/12 | Terre Haute, IN
My car's temp. gauge reads hot. The dash console was replaced, both temp sensors were replaced, checked fuses, connections, and the computer reads all temps are fine at 190F and the cooling fans kick on at 210f like it should and cost a small fortune to find this out! The car has 114,xxx and come to find out this March 2012 the a/c shot to craps. Rides nice but it is now for sale and I don't recommend anyone to buy it unless money, time, car issues, crappy days and bad moods are your thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is officially now a money pit.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/29/11 | Warner Robins, GA
Purchased used in 2001 at 7600 miles, now at 149,800 and counting. Reliable as long as maintained, still gets 30-32 MPG consistantly. Keep tune-up, change fluids regularly, fully depreciated and will not buy a new car again!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 3/13/11 | Washington, DC
recently had timing belt replaced drives good new engine only 94,000 miles
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 3/21/10 | Philadelphia, PA
I bought my '98 Contour with 26,000 miles on it. It now has 97,000 miles. No problems with the exception of an anti-lock brake module whose 60 amp fuse is shared with the blower motor. But after 70,000 + miles, I have no real complaints. The car handles so well--like a "real" German car. (2.0 I-4 VCT Zetec, 5 spd). A winner !!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/2/09 | Richmond, TX
My 1998 Ford Contour has been an excellent car. It has 227,114 miles. New brakes just put all around.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
1998 Ford Contour
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 8/21/08 | Gaithersburg, MD
Excellent driver's sedan. Go for the SVT version if you can find it. Solid power, exceptional steering and cornering, and a subtly good-looking, unpretentious exterior.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Not your car? Find reviews now: