Close

1998 Acura RL Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from 1998 Acura RL owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
1998 Acura RL Ratings Overview
9 car owners like you reviewed their 1998 Acura RL. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
(9 Ratings)
5 star
(0)
4 star
(6)
3 star
(3)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)
No car image
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 9 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 1/21/14 | Los Angeles, CA
This is the best car ive ever owned. I love it.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
18 out of 34 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 1/2/12 | Northbrook, IL
Ok, My 1998 RL only has 72,000 miles and I'm the only owner. Really no problems except minor ones but I do have a question for other owners. Every time I go to the dealer for oil change they keep telling me I need to have the timing belt changed. Have all of you with many miles on their RLs changed the belt? Last year I had a problem when the car would not start and had it towed but it was a switch that starts the ignition which is under the dash and was told the older RLs have a problem with this. Today I also had a problem as I started the car and it stopped. Tried to start it but no good. As I was told if it's the timing belt don't keep trying as you would destroy the engine so of course I had it towed again. They jumped it and charged the battery . Still confused because the battery is only about 18mo.old. Anyway would like a reply regarding the timing belt.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 11 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/26/11 | Tucson, AZ
My car shift's really hard sometimes doe's anyone know what I need to do to fix it? I like my Car a lot
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 12 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/25/10 | Randolph, NY
I,am a 57 year old male who loves cars and owned 20 or more. I have worked in a auto parts store for 34 years. If we had to depend on acura rl's to stay open we would be closed years ago. This 1998 that I own is the best car by far I have ever owned. It now has 180,000 miles on it and other then recomended maintenace I have done nothing. SUPER!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 11 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 6/2/10 | Minneapolis, MN
Great car. Beautiful inside & out - very minor repairs and im up to 205,000
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
9 out of 13 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 5/14/10 | Bensenville, IL
1998 rl , we purchased 5 years ago. Thee worst car I have had Terrible to work on . Parts bare hard to find unless you go to the dealer and then watch out, you are going to pay!!!! 170,000 miles onthis car and many problems .The final one was a blown head gasket or cracked cylinder head. Mechanics I spock to do not like to work on this car, say its a pain. Pain , thats what this car has given me plenty of!!!!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 12 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/29/10 | Hartford, CT
98 rl with 205,000 on it. I love the car but this is the third starter im putting in it. i heard theres supposed to be a bypass or something. if anyone knows tell me
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
6 out of 9 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/4/10 | Smyrna, TN
I have a 1998 3.5 RL with 294,000 miles on it. Original everything and have replaced one oxygen sensor. What a car but showing it's age now.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
7 out of 11 people found this helpful.
1998 Acura RL
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/8/08 | Texas City, TX
Great car, I've put 167,000 miles on it and have never had any problems except EGR valves. Love this car, Acura RL's are rock solid cars.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
8 out of 12 people found this helpful.
Not your car? Find reviews now