Close

Auto Jockeys

(715) 316-4974
96 Verified Reviews
autojockeys@frontier.com

HOURS
07:30
17:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Monday
07:30
17:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Tuesday
07:30
17:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Wednesday
07:30
17:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Thursday
07:30
17:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Friday
Su
Closed
M-F
7:30am to 5:00pm
S
Closed

ADDRESS

400 East 2nd Street
Merrill, WI 54452 USA

AUTO REPAIR EXPERIENCE

  • Jon Cody, Owner
  • Established 2007
  • 2 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Master Auto Technician
  • 45 Years of Car Repair Experience

Auto Jockeys Reviews

OVERALL RATING

96 Verified Reviews
5 stars
(75)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(3)
by - Verified Customer December 11, 2017

From start to finish, this was a pleasant experience! You have gleaned a new customer!

by - Verified Customer November 16, 2017

They explained what needed to be explained and fixed a minor issue.

by - Verified Customer November 12, 2017

Thanks for delivering the car to Laurie.

by - Verified Customer October 30, 2017

Auto Jockeys was very helpful and explained in full detail the repairs. I would highly recommend them to anyone needing repairs. Very proffesional

by - Verified Customer October 25, 2017

Good guys to talk to & work with.

by - Verified Customer October 16, 2017

Great

by - Verified Customer October 10, 2017

They ordered a replacement side mirror and installed it. Quick and easy, always very satisfied with the service at Auto Jockeys.

by - Verified Customer October 01, 2017

Pleased with timely service.

by - Verified Customer September 27, 2017

Great work and was clean up inside and outside, nice surprise thanks

by - Verified Customer September 13, 2017

Excellent service and professional work. I would choose Auto Jockeys over a dealer service center any day!

by - Verified Customer September 11, 2017

I was happy with my experience at the shop.

by - Verified Customer August 29, 2017

I am always happy with the service I receive at Auto Jockeys.

by - Verified Customer August 23, 2017

Great job!

by - Verified Customer August 14, 2017

Always a thorough job detailing my car!

by - Verified Customer August 13, 2017

This was my first experience with Auto Jockey & it was refreshing to have the work done promptly & in a professional manner. I will continue to do business with Auto Jockey.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer August 07, 2017

I am always pleased with the services that are made to our vehicles. I feel I am given an honest estimate of repairs needed and in the order of importance when they need to be completed.

by - Verified Customer August 03, 2017

Will definitely let my friends and family know what great service we received. Will be back for sure!

by - Verified Customer August 02, 2017

We were very happy with the quality of the work done on our truck. It was even less than the estimate!

by - Verified Customer July 04, 2017

Great as always!

by - Verified Customer June 28, 2017

Very satisfied.

by - Verified Customer June 27, 2017

very good place

by - Verified Customer June 25, 2017

No complaints

by - Verified Customer June 21, 2017

I have recommended Auto Jockeys to co-workers. My last experience was as good as all the previous ones!

by - Verified Customer June 08, 2017

It was completed as said it would be and will be bringing it back for final repairs. Thank you...

by - Verified Customer June 08, 2017

Always good.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer June 07, 2017

I am satisfied with work. great people, good to work with.

by - Verified Customer May 29, 2017

Excellent job as usual.

by - Verified Customer May 24, 2017

Work performed on time in full and at agreed cost

by - Verified Customer May 15, 2017

Great service.

by - Verified Customer May 03, 2017

I had my car detailed and when I got it back it was almost like brand new! There was nothing dirty, windows were smudge-free! Just completely an awesome job! Thank you!

by - Verified Customer April 30, 2017

Very nice and clean shop.

by - Verified Customer April 26, 2017

I was referred by a client of theirs whom I trust. They were very helpful and concerned about my safety; they took my car right away, gave me a loaner, made the repairs and had my car ready in a couple days. I will be going back for regular maintenance work on my car.

by - Verified Customer April 25, 2017

These gentlemen run a first rate operation. Courteous, knowledgeable, and very efficient.

by - Verified Customer April 23, 2017

They did work we did not ask for and charged us for parts not labor. The work completed was not completed correctly. Unfortunately, they are the only import repair shop in the area.

by - Verified Customer April 19, 2017

I was totally satisfied. Great customer service!

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer April 18, 2017

Always treat us fairly.

by - Verified Customer March 22, 2017

Good Service.

by - Verified Customer March 20, 2017

Good.

by - Verified Customer March 19, 2017

I was treated with courtesy and respect. Staff was very friendly.

by - Verified Customer March 09, 2017

Nice people with great service and mechanics.

by - Verified Customer February 22, 2017

My car was sold in a timely manner.

by - Verified Customer February 21, 2017

Friendly, courteous and dependable service.

by - Verified Customer February 15, 2017

Very good service with my daughter's car with the oil change.

by - Verified Customer February 13, 2017

Friendly service, also squeezed my car into schedule early!

by - Verified Customer February 05, 2017

Good work.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer January 30, 2017

Excellent customer service! Greg was great. Very fast service. I had my car back the same day!

by - Verified Customer January 23, 2017

Really good.

by - Verified Customer January 18, 2017

The boys always take great care of Steven and myself... Always.

by - Verified Customer January 18, 2017

The service has always been excellent. I have had contact with were Greg and Jared and I have always been treated with respectful and friendly service. Very trustworthy. My go-to place for the care of my car. Thank you Auto Jockey.

by - Verified Customer January 05, 2017

I brought my truck in to be diagnosed. I got my results back and am deciding on what route to take.

by - Verified Customer December 29, 2016

Very good shop.

by - Verified Customer December 26, 2016

I always get good service and advice at Auto Jockeys.

by - Verified Customer December 21, 2016

Great.

by - Verified Customer December 20, 2016

Honesty and integrity.

by - Verified Customer December 18, 2016

These guys are always friendly and treat me with great respect. I feel like I'm part of their family.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer December 06, 2016

Kind courteous service.

by - Verified Customer December 05, 2016

Thank you!

by - Verified Customer December 04, 2016

It was a simple oil change but done on time and no extras. Will go back.

by - Verified Customer December 01, 2016

Very good.

by - Verified Customer November 30, 2016

I still have problems with the car-when it starts! No heat! The engine over heated on the way to Merrill. I am a caregiver to a man that is 96 years old and needed a dependable car. This car is a 3 month old car that broke down. I paid $4795.00 for a car that ran 3 months! I got taken for a ride and not a good one.

by - Verified Customer November 27, 2016

Friendly, reasonable, great people.

by - Verified Customer November 20, 2016

Always on time and done well!

by - Verified Customer November 20, 2016

Excellent work

by - Verified Customer November 14, 2016

We always get excellent service and value at Auto Jockey's. Unlike other shops, they get the work done when they say they will!

by - Verified Customer November 06, 2016

I take my car there to be detailed. When I got it back it looked like it was brand new. Will be back in 6 months, after the winter.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by August 04, 2014

They have good service, I've been going there for many years.

by - Verified Customer July 29, 2014

They seem pretty confident about getting cars in on time, but that was not our experience. We had scheduled an appointment and they were off by two days.

Reply from Auto Jockeys – by autojockey August 14, 2014

Our apologies for that unexpected delay, Scott. Thank you for your understanding.

by July 28, 2014

Service has gotten out of hand expensive.

Reply from Auto Jockeys – by autojockey August 14, 2014

We're sorry you feel this way. Please contact us to let us know which service you are referring to. Thank you.

by July 27, 2014

They are just friendly, they know what they are doing, Just great guys and they do great work.

by - Verified Customer July 27, 2014

Reliable service.

by - Verified Customer July 24, 2014

Excellent service. We feel you take great care of us and our vehicles

by - Verified Customer July 16, 2014

I really like how they do the work in a timely manner. I can also pick up my vehicle when ever it is convenient.

by - Verified Customer July 16, 2014

They do good work by fixing my car or telling me what repair can wait, which is nice when I'm low on money.

by - Verified Customer July 15, 2014

I respect what they have done for me and I really enjoying working with them.

by - Verified Customer July 15, 2014

I trust the mechanic, Shannon.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer July 15, 2014

Best place ever. I trust them.

by - Verified Customer July 15, 2014

Honest & helpful. I have never have been disappointed with service. Great business to deal with.

by - Verified Customer July 08, 2014

They do good work and it is accurate. It is fixed the first time from what is wrong with it.

by - Verified Customer July 07, 2014

They do great work and they are very knowledgeable about what they are doing.

by - Verified Customer June 30, 2014

Great people! Jared is te best and I trust him.

by - Verified Customer June 29, 2014

Very happy with the service.

by June 26, 2014

I think they did a good job. Their overall service is excellent and I like the brochure that came with the work they did.

by - Verified Customer June 26, 2014

Great service.

by - Verified Customer June 23, 2014

They did a good job on my car. They detailed my car very well.

by June 18, 2014

They are high priced and a normal person could not afford them. This was the first and only time I went to this shop.

Reply from Auto Jockeys – by autojockey August 15, 2014

We're sorry you feel this way. According to the RepairPal Estimator, we charged a fair price for the service. Today's vehicles can be very complex, and sometimes a task as seemingly simple as spark plugs can be made difficult and time consuming by the design of the modern engines. Keep in mind that we are standing behind that work for 2 years or 24,000 miles, as well. Thank you.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn
by - Verified Customer June 17, 2014

Decent work and they explained the service. They provide options as well. Excellent customer service. Very friendly.

by June 04, 2014

Well they do good as far as the repairs and they stand behind their work.

by - Verified Customer May 22, 2014

Good service and a fair rate.

by - Verified Customer May 19, 2014

Professional & friendly. They offer a complete explanation of services and recommendations.

by - Verified Customer May 08, 2014

Great service, my truck looked great.

by - Verified Customer April 30, 2014

Excellent service and value. Trustworthy and professional.

by - Verified Customer April 17, 2014

Excellent service.

by - Verified Customer April 17, 2014

Did a great job.

by - Verified Customer April 16, 2014

I was in for an exterior detail and they did excellent job.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Nikki
by Lynn

RepairPal Scorecard
94
OVERALL QUALITY SCORE

24
month
Nationwide
warranty
24
month
Local
warranty
TECHNICAL ABILITY
96
TOOLS & EQUIPMENT
95
CUSTOMER SERVICE
93
CUSTOMER AMENITIES
96

Auto Jockeys is a family owned business that has been providing the Merrill community with high quality, customer friendly automotive service since 2007. This commitment was demonstrated in the feedback we received in our review of their most recent customers. This team was described as friendly, confident, honest, and professional, achieving a higher than average customer service score. This commitment to excellence also carries over into the ongoing training this team attends to help ensure your vehicle is fixed professionally. This training, coupled with the investment that has been made in the automotive tools and computer diagnostic equipment necessary, make this RepairPal Certified shop capable of repairs ranging from check engine light diagnosis and repair, to minor and major mechanical repairs, as well as your scheduled maintenance needs. These repairs are backed by a 24-month / 24,000-mile warranty for your peace of mind. Local shuttle service, rental vehicles, loaner vehicles, early bird drop off, and a waiting area with wireless Internet are available for your convenience.


Details

SPECIALTIES

  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
  • Vehicle Detailing
+ More

AMENITIES

  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Car Wash
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Loaner Car
  • Parts/Accessories
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet
+ More

AFFILIATIONS

  • NAPA
  • iATN

MESSAGE FROM THE SHOP

Stop in today and check out our newly-refurbished front office/lobby! Enjoy a complimentary soda, bottle of water, or cup of hot coffee! Get 6 Months or 12 Months Interest Free on all services and repairs - Apply today! We are proud to be a certified NAPA AutoCare Center and offer a 2yr/24k mile warranty on parts & labor. Looking for a new car? Stop by today to test drive any of our hand-picked pre-owned models! We are proud to recycle ALL of our used waste oil!
Auto Jockeys has been providing top quality auto sales, service, and detailing in Merrill, WI since 2007. We are a family owned and operated automotive shop, delivering honest and professional auto repair services to the wonderful people of Merrill and the surrounding Lincoln and Marathon county areas.

Auto Jockeys values your patronage and never takes it for granted, constantly striving to provide only top quality parts and service. Our business continues to grow due to referrals from our clients, and for that we THANK YOU!

MAKES WE SERVE

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
+ More
Question Answered by Auto Jockeys
p1744 says its the torque converter clutch...
If the code resets without driving the vehicle, check the resistance of the TCC solenoid, it should be 12.5 - 19.0 ohms. If the solenoid resistance is way out of range, the solenoid may be bad.

If the code only sets back after driving, monitor the TCC solenoid command and the engine RPM to see if the torque converter actually locks up when the PCM commands it to. If the torque converter is not locking up, the problem will be internal to the transmission.
This can be treated the same as a code P0741. This code can either indicate a fault with the TCC solenoid circuit electrically or it can indicate that the solenoid didn’t function mechanically. If the code resets without having to drive the vehicle, the problem is electrical. If the code only resets after the vehicle has been driven, the problem is mechanical. It is very rare for this code to be the result of an electrical circuit fault. This transmission has a high failure rate and in most cases the transmission is the cause of the code P1744.

Map
Get Directions to Auto Jockeys