Close

Reliable Auto Mechanics

(801) 528-7740
41 Verified Reviews
phil@reliableautomechanics.com

HOURS
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Monday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Tuesday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Wednesday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Thursday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Friday
08:00
16:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Saturday
Su
Closed
M
8:00am to 6:00pm
T
8:00am to 6:00pm
W
8:00am to 6:00pm
Th
8:00am to 6:00pm
F
8:00am to 6:00pm
S
8:00am to 4:00pm

ADDRESS

9356 S. State St
Sandy, UT 84070 USA

AUTO REPAIR EXPERIENCE

  • Philip Tomassian, Owner
  • Established 2013
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 21 Years of Car Repair Experience

Reliable Auto Mechanics Reviews

OVERALL RATING

41 Verified Reviews
5 stars
(19)
4 stars
(15)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
by - Verified Customer June 12, 2017

Good, honest car repair.

by - Verified Customer June 05, 2017

Thanks!

by - Verified Customer June 02, 2017

Mechnic good, Jessica good

by - Verified Customer May 31, 2017

I feel that the price seems high for the work performed. The left rear drum/cylinder needed to be replaced (maybe?) due to the brake fluid bubble being cracked and leaking oil onto the drum/cylinder. Even with a discount, I think ~$470 is high considering it did not take long to change out. Price is my biggest question.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 30, 2017

Service was good, they just received a part that was missing pieces so I had to wait an extra half hour to get my car.

by - Verified Customer May 24, 2017

Jessica was a sweetheart. My car needed more than I thought but it was done quickly and for a fair price.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 23, 2017

The service I received was excellent. I felt my car was thoroughly inspected for possible needed work and problems were brought to my attention. Jessica was very impressive in her customer service, knowledge, etc.

by - Verified Customer May 21, 2017

you were very helpful.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 17, 2017

Everything was explained in easy to understand way. With no added stuff and never felt time they were trying to cheat me or add things I did not need. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for honest work.

by - Verified Customer May 15, 2017

Shop atmosphere was so comfortable and clean. Loved it.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 14, 2017

Very pleased with the work done. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Alliance to my friends.

by - Verified Customer May 08, 2017

Good job!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 02, 2017

Really nice folks, but this time they recommended repairs I did NOT need. Took my vehicle to a second shop, and for what Reliable was quoting $2900 for in terms of repairs they said I needed, I paid $1300 for the repairs truly needed, and my vehicle is running perfectly. I'd still consider Reliable for small repairs, but no longer for anything close to major, I just don't trust their opinions/estimates.

by - Verified Customer May 01, 2017

I've uses shop many times and always been satisfied.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer April 27, 2017

They were excellent and wouldn't provide the service unless I actually needed it. The first shop I've found with complete integrity and honesty.

by - Verified Customer April 23, 2017

OK.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer April 12, 2017

Very polite receptionist, mechanic exaggerated a little when saying radiator fluid was dry, it did need half of a container of 50/50 mixed, but the mechanic took the time to explain the difference in the fluids to me to make sure I'd buy the right one, which I appreciated.

by - Verified Customer January 18, 2014

Good, honest and friendly.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 18, 2014

Really good service and quality work, also affordable.

by - Verified Customer January 17, 2014

Clear information. Doing extra little things like changing 3 bulbs instead of the one included in my coupon. Great waiting area, with movies and even drinks!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 14, 2014

I was in the shop for 5 hours waiting to get brakes and rotors. They were very courteous, but due to some unforeseen issues my waiting time doubled and my bill tripled.

by - Verified Customer January 06, 2014

The customer service was outstanding.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 02, 2014

Very friendly. Very knowledgeable, did what they said they would do. Stayed in touch all the way through.

by - Verified Customer December 30, 2013

They quoted a price, completed the work when they said they would, and the charge was what they quoted. Friendly service and no issues/surprises.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 28, 2013

They were fast friendly and had excellent service.

by - Verified Customer December 19, 2013

Great customer service, reasonable price, and did a good job.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 19, 2013

An employee there, Ken, was more focused on making sure it was known that he was right rather than providing high-class customer service. I went in there to get my timing belt replaced. After opening up the engine, they said it was fine and sold me on the three other belts instead. They put the engine back together and did the belts and gave us an estimated finish time of 2pm. We didn't get our car back until 5pm, and when we took it out on a ride, the engine light was on and the speedometer didn't work. We brought it back immediately, and all Ken did was reset the light and said it was fine. Turns out the speed sensor was wiped out and had to get replaced, which was an additional $300, including parts and labor, which we decided to spend at a more reliable auto mechanic (how ironic). Most normal mechanics, when replacing the belts, would take out the belts and give them to us in order to use as spares when the other ones break. Upon requesting for the belts, we noticed that the mechanic had cut the belts, instead of slipping them off. I've never seen such terrible protocol.

Reply from Reliable Auto Mechanics – by ReliableAutoMechanics February 05, 2014

Hi Nathan,

I’m very sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here at Reliable Auto Mechanics. I’d like to take a moment to address your concerns and possibly clear up any miscommunications we may have had. First, we had approval from you for a repair that cost around $900 for the timing belt, water pump, and tensioners. When we got into the timing cover, which required nearly as many hours as actually changing the belt, we saw what looked like a brand new belt and water pump already installed. We called you upon noticing this, saved you all of the money on this repair and didn’t even charge any diagnostic hours. We then suggested other repairs that would give you more value for your dollar. You declined all of those repairs except for the drive belts on the vehicle, which we told you were on the verge of snapping. There is no point in us or anyone cutting a belt off, it doesn’t expedite a repair. When you cut a belt, you still need to move the tensioner to put a new belt on, and if you’re going to move a tensioner, the belt will loosen anyway. Your belts broke as we were working on them. I believe I was the one who explained to you in the first place that we would be giving your belts back to you, and I thought I already explained when you picked up the car that the belts were beyond hope, if I didn’t, I apologize for my oversight. No one took a knife to your belts, it’s pointless.

When you returned with your speed sensor code, we took our computer to the vehicle, reset the code, and sent you on your way. The reason we did this is that when we took apart the vehicle and got down to the timing belt, we had to move many electrical components out of the way and unplug them. Often, this causes the vehicle to throw codes that are not real. We did not want to recommend a repair to you based on a possible ghost in the computer system. So we reset your codes and asked you to bring it back if the code came back and we would work with it then. The diagnostic steps are there to save you money, just like we promised to diagnose your timing belt situation before changing it which saved you around $900. Again Nathan, I’m sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here, but I hope this clarifies to you what happened and that we wanted to serve you as we do all of our customers, to the very best and fairest of our ability.

by - Verified Customer December 18, 2013

Service writer was very accommodating and polite. Drinks were offered. Service was fast. All went well.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 18, 2013

Comfortable waiting room, nice staff, good price.

by - Verified Customer December 16, 2013

They were very helpful. They went above and beyond what was required. Very friendly. The only reason for not giving a 10 is that I got the package on a groupon and don't know what their full prices are.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 16, 2013

They took great care of my car.

by - Verified Customer December 11, 2013

Quick and professional.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 09, 2013

Service was good.

by - Verified Customer December 06, 2013

I was very impressed by the customer service of Reliable Auto Mechanics. They were great at explaining everything.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 04, 2013

Fast service. Didn't try to BS me on what was wrong with my truck or try to sale me extra stuff. Friendly honest people.

by - Verified Customer December 03, 2013

It was quick and at a good price.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 27, 2013

The people was cheerful and treated me great!!! Was very honest to what the problem with my car was and gave me options on how to proceed.

by - Verified Customer November 07, 2013

They were very friendly and very efficient with the service. They gave me advice on some things about my car rather than try to tell me I need this and that done. Overall I was very happy with my visit to Reliable Auto Mechanics.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 02, 2013

Personable - Great People - Good Service.

2 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by Mikeand 1 other verified reviewer

RepairPal Scorecard
92
OVERALL QUALITY SCORE

12
month
Nationwide
warranty
12
month
Local
warranty
TECHNICAL ABILITY
92
TOOLS & EQUIPMENT
97
CUSTOMER SERVICE
91
CUSTOMER AMENITIES
97

Reliable Auto Mechanics is the new kid on the block with the right ideas. Phil Tomassian, the owner, is committed to building his business based on accurate diagnosis and reliable repairs. This RepairPal Certified team is committed to staying current and up to date on the latest in automotive technologies. This commitment to training, and the right tools to complete professional repairs on late model vehicles, make Reliable a great place for you and your vehicle. Their work is backed by a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, Saturday hours, early bird drop off, and a clean comfortable waiting area are all available for your convenience.


Details

SPECIALTIES

  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Hybrid/Electric
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
+ More

AMENITIES

  • AAA Member Discount
  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Gas/Diesel
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Loaner Car
  • Military Discount
  • Open Saturday
  • Open Weekends
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Towing
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet
+ More

AFFILIATIONS

  • iATN

MESSAGE FROM THE SHOP

When a good mechanic isn't enough, you need someone Reliable!

Our philosophy is different. Here, the customer comes first. We mean it when we say our customer service is our top priority. We have some of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the city or even the state when it comes to auto repair. Come experience the Reliable difference.

We are your Complete Auto Repair destination. Mufflers, brakes, tires, emissions, or even a basic oil change. Our professional, courteous staff will tend to your vehicle's every need. Come relax in our lobby, have a fresh cup of coffee or a complimentary beverage and some snacks while you wait. We also have WiFi access and local shuttle service to get you where you need to go. Need a rental car? Don't worry, we can arrange that for you too!

MAKES WE SERVE

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
+ More

Map
Get Directions to Reliable Auto Mechanics

Asset 71
HIGH QUALITY REPAIRS
Your auto repair done right, only the work you need with no add ons.
Asset 72
TRANSPARENT PRICING
Our free estimator calculates a custom price for your vehicle repair.
Asset 73
GUARANTEED REPAIRS
Rest easy knowing you're covered by our RepairPal Nationwide Warranty.