Close

Reliable Auto Mechanics

(801) 528-7740
114 Verified Reviews
phil@reliableautomechanics.com

HOURS
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Monday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Tuesday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Wednesday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Thursday
08:00
18:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Friday
08:00
16:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Saturday
Su
Closed
M-F
8:00am to 6:00pm
S
8:00am to 4:00pm

ADDRESS

9356 S. State St
Sandy, UT 84070 USA

AUTO REPAIR EXPERIENCE

  • Philip Tomassian, Owner
  • Established 2013
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 21 Years of Car Repair Experience

Reliable Auto Mechanics Reviews

OVERALL RATING

114 Verified Reviews
5 stars
(61)
4 stars
(31)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(7)
by - Verified Customer November 03, 2017

Great place but I needed a bulb replaced and they didn t have the means to replace it.

by - Verified Customer November 01, 2017

Experience was excellent. I would reccomend to a friend.

by - Verified Customer October 29, 2017

Very pleased with them.

by - Verified Customer October 29, 2017

I was impressed with the detailed report of uncovered issues that was e-mailed to me - it contained issue descriptions with photos, graded by the level of severity/urgency. I've never seen this before and I love it. Clear, transparent and helps keep record of things my car needs work on for the future.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 23, 2017

Excellent customer service.

by - Verified Customer October 15, 2017

I was very impressed with the service and felt like they were very honest with me about everything which is hard to find in a mechanic. So they have earned a new customer!!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 15, 2017

Great service, great price!

by - Verified Customer October 13, 2017

I came in with a groupon for new brake pads and they said my pads were fine. Told me they fixed the squeak completely, but it now squeaks worse than before. I ended up paying $140 for nothing and now need to go back in the PAY again for new brakes. The lady on the phone said they worked on the 'hardware' of the brakes but it doesn't look like they did anything. Not happy with the work they did.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 10, 2017

Customer service was a little to be desired. Interaction between employees could be more profestional.

by - Verified Customer October 09, 2017

I had a good experience the mechanics were really knowledgeable and assisted me in getting my car fixed for a fair price

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 05, 2017

Jessica was great to work with. She was knowledgeable and helpful in solving my issues.

by - Verified Customer October 02, 2017

i don't regret getting the work done there.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 01, 2017

Quick
And efficient

by - Verified Customer September 28, 2017

I had never been here before and was very pleased at how they treated me and for the explanation of all the work. I will be back again.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 28, 2017

Very friendly staff, quality work done. Just wish the problem I had with my car had been fixed on the first trip there. I ended up going back to get it looked at again and they decided it was something else. Glad it's fixed now!!

by - Verified Customer September 27, 2017

The shop did excellent work and I really liked the report of the repairs that was emailed to me with details of the repairs, photos and recommendations.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 26, 2017

My only issue with work performed is that I was told my back brakes and rotors might need to be replaced along with the front set soon due to rust and near the end of their life. When I was told this was covered due to having them replaced before by you, I said sure if it's covered go ahead. But since they we're not quite there the staff decided not to do the work. It was explained that your business would have to eat the cost and that would be a factor in your decision, ok I get that, but it doesn't come across that my best interest are as important. I say this because the warranty on the previous work will likely expire by the time I come back into the shop, making me pay for work that could have been prevented, if my interest were important. I understand that you are running a business but if I'm told I'm covered for work and give the ok to do it, then get told it's better to wait because it's in your best interest, that does not encourage me to become a loyal customer. Mind you the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable I just think this kind of practice needs to be addressed from the owners perspective.

by - Verified Customer September 24, 2017

I feel so fortunate to have found an honest reliable repair shop!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 24, 2017

I had 2 vehicles repaired incorrectly, one w/wrong size brake pads at a nationally known brake & Muffler shop. After returning twice, I went to Reliable & had to redo the pads & one damaged rotor repaird. This shop completed a full inspection w/pictures & explained the damage & repaired properlly. They will be my Family Shop!

by - Verified Customer September 24, 2017

Awesome

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 20, 2017

good experience

by - Verified Customer September 19, 2017

First time taking a vehicle in to Reliable Auto Mechanics.
I was a little uncomfortable that they would perform unnecessary work without explanation or hit me with a bill higher than I expected... My experience was exactly the opposite. They were thorough, and communicated clearly what they were doing and why. They made sure I was aware and approved the work before doing it.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 18, 2017

I did not like it, that they were not honest with us on the amount for the repairs.

by - Verified Customer September 17, 2017

Misdiagnosis, inflated prices, seemed like diagnosis was by trial and error rather than locating the problem and fixing it. They, after a week and a half took my car to the dealer to have them diagnose the proble, I told the dealer to do it and I would have them repair it. Finished my dealings with reliable, paid them in full, over $1400.00 and the problem was'nt fixed.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 14, 2017

Jax treated me so well. Thank you!

by - Verified Customer September 13, 2017

My brakes were making a weird noise , so I had them check them. They showed me that there was a lot of dirt up in there that was the cause. They blew it out and said a car wash was advisable and the brakes were in good shape.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 11, 2017

Good service!

by - Verified Customer September 11, 2017

The woman at the desk that spoke to me was extremely courteous and very helpful!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 11, 2017

had to wait

by - Verified Customer September 08, 2017

I feel that they try to make sure you understand what repairs that suggest and why.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 07, 2017

Work still needs to be done on the car but 'Reliable Auto Mechanics', is a great place to take your car. I have great confidence in this company and the car will be going back to them to finish the repairs.

by - Verified Customer September 06, 2017

I really like my appt there. There took care of me. I feel that they listened me and that they were looking out for me.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 05, 2017

They always take care of me and my car or I wlouldnt keep going back to them.

by - Verified Customer August 31, 2017

Used a Groupon at the shop. I feel like the prices were miscommunicated to me

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 28, 2017

I have only been to the shop For and oil change and a tag renewal but they have amazing customer services and I'll be going back for auto repairs in the future

by - Verified Customer August 24, 2017

Brought my vehicle in for an issue with the car starting and I paid for a diagnostic that provided that the fuel injectors needed replaced, and then those didn't arrive when told they would which was more of the supplier's issue than the mechanics. But the issue didn't fix the issue and brought back in and was charged another diagnostic fee and told the battery needed to be replaced, which is not the issue. The battery tested good before in previous diagnostic and still had starting issues, but they decided to say that it was the battery this time and wanted me to pay for that diagnostic and if that didnt work was to pay another diagnostic which is complete BS. I paid for the first diagnostic which proved to not fix any of the issue and paid 1200 for new injectors that didnt need replaced to really fix the issue. So basically I just need to keep shelling out dough until the mechanics can really figure out what the deal is.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 24, 2017

Place was awsome. Lady at front desk had great customer service.

by - Verified Customer August 22, 2017

Love this place!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 22, 2017

Great people. Do nice, fast work.

by - Verified Customer August 20, 2017

Very professional.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 16, 2017

knowledgeable front desk and mechanic. Took time to explain the problem with my car and gave me options on repairs. No pressure to get anything done right away.

by - Verified Customer August 15, 2017

Brake replacement

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 14, 2017

The performance was done well but the shop itself could have been cleaned up a little bit

by - Verified Customer August 09, 2017

good work

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 08, 2017

We loved dealing with Reliable Auto. Both me and my wife were treated with respect, and did not feel talked down to by the employees. I want to give a particular shout out to the lady at the front desk that was ready and qualified to answer all questions without asking the mechanics. She made the process so much easier on us.

by - Verified Customer August 07, 2017

I brought in my 64 T-Bird to be evaluated on if it had any major issues, etc. One mechanic looked at the engine, thought it looked fine and that was it. Another mechanic actually thought it was a good idea to look underneath it. Duh! That mechanic said 'well, this needs to be done and that needs to be done, blah, blah blah. No written recommendations, nothing! Everyone was in a hurry to finish the evaluation. If you are going to say that you will inspect a car, do it properly and professionally and give written recommendations!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 06, 2017

They are a great shop. Fast, Honest, and great quality work

by - Verified Customer August 06, 2017

Shop manager gave me detailed explanation of work that was being performed and what product was better. Thank you guys for the great service!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer August 04, 2017

I was very impressed with this shop! I orginally came to this shop because of a Groupon I purchased. I live downtown and will make the drive again for future car issues because of the high quality of customer service and expertise.

by - Verified Customer July 31, 2017

Jessica was great to work with and very knowledgeable about was needed to be done. She is an asset to your company.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 31, 2017

Very grateful for a job well done and the loaner car to get to and from work.

by - Verified Customer July 30, 2017

VERY GOOD SERVICE FRIENDLY NICE SEATING AREA THIS PLACE IS GREAT AND I WILL BE BACK WHEN I NEED REPAIRS

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 28, 2017

The guys were great! They took me outside so I could see the problem before they did anything. Troy saw I was a veteran so he put that discount in automatically. Great experience.

by - Verified Customer July 27, 2017

Great experience. Looking at coming back again and again

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 26, 2017

Great service, but took a long time.

by - Verified Customer July 25, 2017

Jessica was very nice and understanding.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 16, 2017

great work and professional.

by - Verified Customer July 16, 2017

I ask to fix some cover that was falling from my car they said they will fix it after I got my car back I noticed they didn't even touch it. So I want to think they forget it. But forgetting little details is how big problems begin

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 13, 2017

The work was done well. I will use their services again.

by - Verified Customer July 10, 2017

Dyllan needs a raise!! He's awesome.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer July 10, 2017

Thanks, guys. Perfect.

by - Verified Customer June 30, 2017

They took very good care of my car. I'll be back tomorrow for an oil change.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer June 28, 2017

Always great

by - Verified Customer June 28, 2017

Would recommend.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer June 25, 2017

Thank you for excellent customer service. I will definitely return again.

by - Verified Customer June 23, 2017

Good experience. Quick and easy.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer June 16, 2017

I really appreciated the great service and excellent communication.

by - Verified Customer June 12, 2017

Good, honest car repair.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer June 07, 2017

I will never recommend this shop. They didn't fix either problem I went in for. They haven't followed through with calling me for parts needed. 2 messages left with no return call. (going on 2 weeks now) horrible service

by - Verified Customer June 05, 2017

Thanks!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer June 02, 2017

Mechnic good, Jessica good

by - Verified Customer May 31, 2017

I feel that the price seems high for the work performed. The left rear drum/cylinder needed to be replaced (maybe?) due to the brake fluid bubble being cracked and leaking oil onto the drum/cylinder. Even with a discount, I think ~$470 is high considering it did not take long to change out. Price is my biggest question.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 30, 2017

Service was good, they just received a part that was missing pieces so I had to wait an extra half hour to get my car.

by - Verified Customer May 24, 2017

Jessica was a sweetheart. My car needed more than I thought but it was done quickly and for a fair price.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 23, 2017

The service I received was excellent. I felt my car was thoroughly inspected for possible needed work and problems were brought to my attention. Jessica was very impressive in her customer service, knowledge, etc.

by - Verified Customer May 21, 2017

you were very helpful.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 17, 2017

Everything was explained in easy to understand way. With no added stuff and never felt time they were trying to cheat me or add things I did not need. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for honest work.

by - Verified Customer May 15, 2017

Shop atmosphere was so comfortable and clean. Loved it.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 14, 2017

Very pleased with the work done. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Alliance to my friends.

by - Verified Customer May 08, 2017

Good job!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer May 02, 2017

Really nice folks, but this time they recommended repairs I did NOT need. Took my vehicle to a second shop, and for what Reliable was quoting $2900 for in terms of repairs they said I needed, I paid $1300 for the repairs truly needed, and my vehicle is running perfectly. I'd still consider Reliable for small repairs, but no longer for anything close to major, I just don't trust their opinions/estimates.

by - Verified Customer May 01, 2017

I've uses shop many times and always been satisfied.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer April 27, 2017

They were excellent and wouldn't provide the service unless I actually needed it. The first shop I've found with complete integrity and honesty.

by - Verified Customer April 23, 2017

OK.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer April 12, 2017

Very polite receptionist, mechanic exaggerated a little when saying radiator fluid was dry, it did need half of a container of 50/50 mixed, but the mechanic took the time to explain the difference in the fluids to me to make sure I'd buy the right one, which I appreciated.

by - Verified Customer January 17, 2014

Good, honest and friendly.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 17, 2014

Really good service and quality work, also affordable.

by - Verified Customer January 16, 2014

Clear information. Doing extra little things like changing 3 bulbs instead of the one included in my coupon. Great waiting area, with movies and even drinks!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 13, 2014

I was in the shop for 5 hours waiting to get brakes and rotors. They were very courteous, but due to some unforeseen issues my waiting time doubled and my bill tripled.

by - Verified Customer January 05, 2014

The customer service was outstanding.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 01, 2014

Very friendly. Very knowledgeable, did what they said they would do. Stayed in touch all the way through.

by - Verified Customer December 29, 2013

They quoted a price, completed the work when they said they would, and the charge was what they quoted. Friendly service and no issues/surprises.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 27, 2013

They were fast friendly and had excellent service.

by - Verified Customer December 18, 2013

Great customer service, reasonable price, and did a good job.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 18, 2013

An employee there, Ken, was more focused on making sure it was known that he was right rather than providing high-class customer service. I went in there to get my timing belt replaced. After opening up the engine, they said it was fine and sold me on the three other belts instead. They put the engine back together and did the belts and gave us an estimated finish time of 2pm. We didn't get our car back until 5pm, and when we took it out on a ride, the engine light was on and the speedometer didn't work. We brought it back immediately, and all Ken did was reset the light and said it was fine. Turns out the speed sensor was wiped out and had to get replaced, which was an additional $300, including parts and labor, which we decided to spend at a more reliable auto mechanic (how ironic). Most normal mechanics, when replacing the belts, would take out the belts and give them to us in order to use as spares when the other ones break. Upon requesting for the belts, we noticed that the mechanic had cut the belts, instead of slipping them off. I've never seen such terrible protocol.

Reply from Reliable Auto Mechanics – by ReliableAutoMechanics February 05, 2014

Hi Nathan,

I’m very sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here at Reliable Auto Mechanics. I’d like to take a moment to address your concerns and possibly clear up any miscommunications we may have had. First, we had approval from you for a repair that cost around $900 for the timing belt, water pump, and tensioners. When we got into the timing cover, which required nearly as many hours as actually changing the belt, we saw what looked like a brand new belt and water pump already installed. We called you upon noticing this, saved you all of the money on this repair and didn’t even charge any diagnostic hours. We then suggested other repairs that would give you more value for your dollar. You declined all of those repairs except for the drive belts on the vehicle, which we told you were on the verge of snapping. There is no point in us or anyone cutting a belt off, it doesn’t expedite a repair. When you cut a belt, you still need to move the tensioner to put a new belt on, and if you’re going to move a tensioner, the belt will loosen anyway. Your belts broke as we were working on them. I believe I was the one who explained to you in the first place that we would be giving your belts back to you, and I thought I already explained when you picked up the car that the belts were beyond hope, if I didn’t, I apologize for my oversight. No one took a knife to your belts, it’s pointless.

When you returned with your speed sensor code, we took our computer to the vehicle, reset the code, and sent you on your way. The reason we did this is that when we took apart the vehicle and got down to the timing belt, we had to move many electrical components out of the way and unplug them. Often, this causes the vehicle to throw codes that are not real. We did not want to recommend a repair to you based on a possible ghost in the computer system. So we reset your codes and asked you to bring it back if the code came back and we would work with it then. The diagnostic steps are there to save you money, just like we promised to diagnose your timing belt situation before changing it which saved you around $900. Again Nathan, I’m sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here, but I hope this clarifies to you what happened and that we wanted to serve you as we do all of our customers, to the very best and fairest of our ability.

by - Verified Customer December 17, 2013

Service writer was very accommodating and polite. Drinks were offered. Service was fast. All went well.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 17, 2013

Comfortable waiting room, nice staff, good price.

by - Verified Customer December 15, 2013

They were very helpful. They went above and beyond what was required. Very friendly. The only reason for not giving a 10 is that I got the package on a groupon and don't know what their full prices are.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 15, 2013

They took great care of my car.

by - Verified Customer December 10, 2013

Quick and professional.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 08, 2013

Service was good.

by - Verified Customer December 05, 2013

I was very impressed by the customer service of Reliable Auto Mechanics. They were great at explaining everything.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 03, 2013

Fast service. Didn't try to BS me on what was wrong with my truck or try to sale me extra stuff. Friendly honest people.

by - Verified Customer December 02, 2013

It was quick and at a good price.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 26, 2013

The people was cheerful and treated me great!!! Was very honest to what the problem with my car was and gave me options on how to proceed.

by - Verified Customer November 06, 2013

They were very friendly and very efficient with the service. They gave me advice on some things about my car rather than try to tell me I need this and that done. Overall I was very happy with my visit to Reliable Auto Mechanics.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 01, 2013

Personable - Great People - Good Service.

7 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by David
by Russ, Kourtnie, Ben
by Mikeand 1 other verified reviewer
by Jeff

RepairPal Scorecard
92
OVERALL QUALITY SCORE

12
month
Nationwide
warranty
12
month
Local
warranty
TECHNICAL ABILITY
92
TOOLS & EQUIPMENT
97
CUSTOMER SERVICE
91
CUSTOMER AMENITIES
97

Reliable Auto Mechanics is the new kid on the block with the right ideas. Phil Tomassian, the owner, is committed to building his business based on accurate diagnosis and reliable repairs. This RepairPal Certified team is committed to staying current and up to date on the latest in automotive technologies. This commitment to training, and the right tools to complete professional repairs on late model vehicles, make Reliable a great place for you and your vehicle. Their work is backed by a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, Saturday hours, early bird drop off, and a clean comfortable waiting area are all available for your convenience.


Details

SPECIALTIES

  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Hybrid/Electric
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
+ More

AMENITIES

  • AAA Member Discount
  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Gas/Diesel
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Loaner Car
  • Military Discount
  • Open Saturday
  • Open Weekends
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Towing
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet
+ More

AFFILIATIONS

  • iATN

MESSAGE FROM THE SHOP

When a good mechanic isn't enough, you need someone Reliable!

Our philosophy is different. Here, the customer comes first. We mean it when we say our customer service is our top priority. We have some of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the city or even the state when it comes to auto repair. Come experience the Reliable difference.

We are your Complete Auto Repair destination. Mufflers, brakes, tires, emissions, or even a basic oil change. Our professional, courteous staff will tend to your vehicle's every need. Come relax in our lobby, have a fresh cup of coffee or a complimentary beverage and some snacks while you wait. We also have WiFi access and local shuttle service to get you where you need to go. Need a rental car? Don't worry, we can arrange that for you too!

MAKES WE SERVE

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
+ More

Map
Get Directions to Reliable Auto Mechanics