Close

Chevrolet Express 3500 Reviews & Ratings

Read real experiences from Chevrolet Express 3500 owners like you.

Find ratings and reviews for any car
Chevrolet Express 3500 Ratings Overview
13 car owners like you reviewed their Chevrolet Express 3500. The average rating is a 4.0 out of 5.
Compare Car Reviews
×
Compare Vehicles
compared with
(13 Ratings)
5 star
(0)
4 star
(7)
3 star
(4)
2 star
(2)
1 star
(0)
Chevrolet Express 3500
Is your car worth 5 stars?
Login to Review
Displaying all 13 reviewsFilter
Ratings
Reliability
Details
×
Rating Details
Value
Fuel Economy
Safety
Interior
Comfort
Performance
By on 5/6/18 | Shelbyville, KY | Car Owner
With our kids mostly grown now, our latest spring break trip to Myrtle Beach with all five "kids" will probably be our last. We reminisced on the many vacations and road trips we've taken with our van. Although the mpg have been pretty low at 14 city and 17 highway, it's been well worth it. We have been spoiled by our 12 passenger Chevy Express because of the sprawling-out room for everyone including all their sleeping bags/luggage, and also the way we just hit the road and never even worry about a breakdown. Regular maintenance has been done religiously, but this vehicle has given back more than we deserve.
Yes, I would recommend this car.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
23 out of 49 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/18/14 | Cleveland, OH
My Check engine light is on
The following codes needs attention
C004S C0283 C0228 P0056
Please Help! Help.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 6 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 1/21/14 | Las Vegas, NV
Reliability Rating: (3.5/5)
Above Average
@around 65K now. Very reliable vehicle. Still on original brakes even though I live and drive mostly in a metro area. Great air and since I live in the desert that says even more. But I am glad the Van does have the rear air option. Other than that I have only had a few bulbs burn out. Perform all scheduled maintenance and have not had major problems. Though I have 2 weird intermittent problems. (1) Something in the fuel tank occasionally makes a sound like expanding metal. Seems to happen on really hot days after the engine is shut down. (2) At about 60K I hear and feel a rubbing sensation in the steering wheel when wheels are turned hard left. Fluids fine, something changed because it never used to do it. I had this same exact problem with a 2006 Silverado around the same mileage. I don't recall what the dealer did to correct it. I had an extended warranty on the 2006 and didnt really ay attention.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 1/15/14 | Georgetown, TX
Very bad problem with paint on this vehicle. Paint starts peeling off the hood and then off the rest of the van. All that is left is the primer. If you watch when you are on the road you will see many of these models with the same problem.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
8 out of 8 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/13/12 | Tyler, TX
I need to know where I can get a driver door interior panel.
Can anyone help? 9725675036
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/5/12 | Ada, OK
Reliability Rating: (3.5/5)
Above Average
My 2011 Express van has an incredibly rough ride. Any ideas to fix it?
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
3 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 2/3/12 | North Highlands, CA
one of my oil lines came disconected iam trying to find to reconect it back could you help
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 12/18/11 | Louisville, KY
Reliability Rating: (3.5/5)
Above Average
On my previous post, the Chevy dealer replaced the TPS (Throttle Positioning Sensor) not the PCM. My mistake!
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 11/25/10 | Farmington, UT
I like the body style of this van. The sheet metal isn't as thick or durable as past body styles. The factory paint is reasonably durable and so far the corrosion protection is adiquate. The interior is comfotable and quiet and I like the seats. However, if you have to remove any interior door or wall panels, be prepared to use epoxy to glue the plastic that the retaining clips hold on to. It's also very easy to break other plasic parts such as electric door and window switches if disassembly is nessesary. I'm very impressed with this vehicle's braking system. It's a hydrolicly boosted anti-lock braking system that stops this vehicle exceptionally well. The model I own has a 5.7 litre V8 gasoline engine that delivers a good strong performance. When towing a trailer the 5.7 V8 is adiquate. My transmition has worked well, but I've been very careful to keep it maintained. I've always followed the manufactuer's recomended maintainance, but if I'm planning on towing a trailer on a long road trip I always drop the transmition pan and change the filter as well as look in the pan for sludge and debris as well as check the condition of the trans fluid. So far I've never found any problems. I've had very few problems with my electrical system. However I had to replace the door switch for the dome lights on my sliding side door. I've also added some aftermarket headlights because I wanted brighter lights. I thought the stock sealed beams where kind of weak. I've never had any problems with the engine. GM has used the 5.7 litre (350 ci.) for years and years and it's a tried and true design. I faithfully change the engine oil every 3,000 miles, as I always have with all the chev 350 motors I've owned. As a result, I've never had any problems with past or my present 350 V8. The stock exaust system is fine and the van has never not passed emissions so far. My van has front and rear air conditioning and heating. I've enjoyed that a lot and I think if you have a 15 passenger van like mine, it's well worth having. I haven't had to recharge the a/c unit yet, but I expect to at some point. This van handles very well for a full size van. Any full size van has handling limitations, this one does well for what it is. It rides very smooth and comfortably at freeway speeds if I'm towing a trailer or not. I've been impressed with the van's handling while towing, but I'm always careful not to over load it or improperly load the trailer. Over all I like my van and would recomend it so long as you understand that full size vans drive and handle a lot different than full size SUVs and trucks.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 4 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 10/19/10 | Miami, FL
I live in Bonaire and did buy this Van in Aruba .The cooling Van is a little bit noizy and there`s to much sensors around the engine
4 oxigen sensors, cooling temp sensor, trottle pos.sensor, crankshaft position sensor etc etc. If 1 doen not work properly you will loose power in your engine or the transmishon will not shift properly. But over all not a bad vehicle.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
1 out of 1 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/11/10 | Brooklyn, NY
Engine and transmission is very poor
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 3 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 4/23/10 | Liberty, MO
Problems with air, AC, rear heater, AC coolant leak, engine lurches w/in first 2 miles in morning, both wheel bearings needed to be replaced, driver seat replaced 2x, wiring system is flaky
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
4 out of 5 people found this helpful.
Details
×
Rating Details
Body, Interior & Misc.
Brakes
Drive Train
Electrical & Lights
Engine
Exhaust & Emissions
Heating & Air Conditioning
Suspension & Steering
By on 7/11/09 | Fairfax, VA
We outgrew our minivan when child number 5 arrived, so we bought the 12 passenger version of this behemoth. It was a used Avis rental van, and we have had no problems with it in the 30,000 miles we have driven it. It is a basically a big truck that drives like one and carries passengers. 12-14 MPG (sigh). Not the most refined vehicle around, but it is big and tough and reliable.
Did you find this review helpful?Yes | No
2 out of 2 people found this helpful.
Not your car? Find reviews now: