»

Reviews for Volvo 850 years:

  1. (3)
  2. (1)
  3. (3)
  4. (1)
  5. (2)

Owners' Reviews

Volvo 850 Reviews and Owner Comments

 
10 Reviews
Volvo 850Owner Reviews (10 reviews)
  • 1995 Volvo 850
    Visitor, Clawson, MI, March 07, 2014 14:38
    I own a 1995 Volvo 850 turbo with 200,000+ miles on it. It still runs well for a 19 year old car. Only real problem is the air conditioning - after it failed twice i finally gave up on fixing it.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Volvo 850
    Steve96850, Waterford, CT, January 14, 2014 15:03
     Rookie
    I bought this car new in 1996. It is my last new car. I have always enjoyed the vehicle. The 5 speed transmission adds a little zip to the drive and the rear spoiler puts just the right angle to the body. The car handles impeccably with the compressible linkage in the rear helping in the handling. I expect to keep this car forever. The brakes are excellent and easy to maintain. The clutch wore out at about 195,000 miles and was replaced. The 5 speed is crisp and precise. The engine is still strong at 225,000 miles and burns no oil and has no leaks. I still have the original exhaust system except for a new muffler at 150,000 miles. It seems that with reasonable service (pretty much by the manual) this car will be with me for quite a while.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Volvo 850
    shamus, Effingham, NH, March 30, 2012 18:09
     Enthusiast
    I bought my 1994 850 non-turbo standard shift Volvo wagon 1n 2002 for $7000.00 with 72000 miles on it. It had 302468 miles when the odometer quit and god knows how many miles since then. Unbelievable facts:original clutch,original exhaust system,original radiator,original hoses,original water pump,just replaced heater core,1 fuel pump,1alternator 1 starter. It just keeps on giving in New Hampshire winters. Best car I've ever owned bar none. They don't make them like this any more.! Jim
    Flag This
  • 1997 Volvo 850
    Visitor, Yucca Valley, CA, December 12, 2011 13:21
    Have owned it 4 years now with minor repairs needed, strut bushing, PNP switch, and ABS module. The car gets 30 MPG on the freeway, and with 161,000 miles it's gonna last me a while.
    Flag This
  • 1993 Volvo 850
    range, Bloomington, IL, October 07, 2011 12:49
     Rookie
    This car has 178,573 miles runs good only one problem no one seems to be able to solve.When you are driving it will shut down the dash lights up you turn on the flashers pull over to a safe place out of traffic wait about 5-min.it will restart and go you never know when this will happen so you are always on guard it might happen 2-times or go 2-or 3 weeks before it happen again its been in 3-shops without an answer i need help before someone rearend me.
    Flag This
  • 1993 Volvo 850
    Visitor, Bellingham, WA, October 15, 2010 13:50
    This is a great car especially over 200k. Great gas milage.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Volvo 850
    thisisit, Chicago, IL, August 28, 2009 13:07
     Enthusiast
    I love this car just replaced some things but overall a great car and gets close to 500 miles on full tank when driving out of town. I am at 121k miles
    Flag This
  • 1995 Volvo 850
    Andrew Burgess, Monroe, NY, June 24, 2009 13:20
     Enthusiast
    Still going strong and reaching 300k miles
    Flag This
  • 1993 Volvo 850
    ROK1987, Glenn Dale, MD, February 07, 2009 11:16
     Enthusiast
    Great car especially with over 200K on it. Runs like new.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Volvo 850
    Bret Bodas, Castro Valley, CA, December 26, 2008 14:38
     Master
    I've owned this car for a few years and it has had some of the typical problems associated with this vehicle, ABS control module failed, broken shock mount, broken upper motor mount, leaking turbo return line seals etc. The vehicle is a good daily driver but requires regular maintenance and repairs to keep it in good condition.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car