» » » Universal Automotive Services

Universal Automotive Services

8281 Ten Mile Rd., Center Line, MI 48015 Map & directions

Call Now: (586) 522-4013

See more real customer reviews

About Universal Automotive Services

RepairPal’s Comprehensive Evaluation

RepairPal Quality Index (?)
Customer Satisfaction (Net Promoter Score®) (?)
Based on interviews with 25+ recent customers
Avg Repair Shop
American Express
Lowe's
JetBlue
Apple
95
Technical Ability (?)
92
Tools & Equipment (?)
94
Customer Service (?)
91
Customer Conveniences (?)
12 months / 12,000 miles
Parts & Labor Warranty (?)

Assessment Summary

Universal Automotive Services is the new kid on the block. This RepairPal Certified shop opened in February of 2013, and features 2 experienced technicians. The team focuses on training and education. They work hard to stay current with the latest training available, and are committed to passing on this knowledge to their customers. They encourage their customers to ask questions and make sure they understand what is going on with their vehicle. It is this commitment to education, coupled with some of the best computer diagnostic equipment, that make this a great place to get accurate professional repairs to your modern vehicle. They offer a minimum of 12-months / 12,000-mile warranty on repairs, but this can be extended if premium parts are installed. Local shuttle service, early bird drop off, and a waiting area with wireless Internet are available for your convenience.

Message from the Shop

While most competitors offer 1 year on all their services, and a choice of 2 years 60,000 miles or 3 years 39,000 miles on all other replaced brake parts. Also, we offer a standard 2 year/24,000 mile parts and labor warranty. We stay in touch! Courtesy calls to make sure you had a pleasant experience. Free car wash with every service. Thank you letters because we appreciate YOU choosing US. Holiday/Birthday letters or cards to show WE haven’t forgot about YOU. Reminder letters and phone calls for recommended or needed services because let’s face it, we all forget. Rob and Mo have been servicing the Warren and surrounding areas for nearly 20 years and a combined experience of roughly 42 plus years.

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Audi BMW
Buick Cadillac Chevrolet
Chrysler Dodge FIAT
Ford GMC Geo
Honda Hummer Hyundai
Infiniti Isuzu Jaguar
Jeep Kia Land Rover
Lexus Lincoln Mazda
Mercedes-Benz Mercury Mini
Mitsubishi Nissan Oldsmobile
Plymouth Pontiac Porsche
Ram Saab Saturn
Scion Smart Subaru
Suzuki Toyota Volkswagen
Volvo

Quality Affiliations

Specialties

AC/Heating Check Engine Light Diagnosis Hybrid/Electric
Muffler & Exhaust Oil Change & Lube Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair
Timing Belts Transmission Repair

Amenities

AAA Member Discount Car Delivery Car Pickup/Dropoff Car Wash
Coffee Early Bird Dropoff Free Estimates Gas/Diesel
Heated Waiting Room Military Discount Open Saturday Open Weekends
Senior Discount Service Guarantee Warranty Accepted Wireless Internet

Customer Reviews 25 verified reviews (29 total)

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 09, 2013

I have used them in the past and haven't had any problems.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:32

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
July 10, 2013

My car was broken into when I was there. They did not contact me. After my car was broken into, after it was put up on cinder blocks, and my tires and rims were all stolen off of it, they contacted my daughter-in-law not me. I don't know that the brakes and rotors and calipers were new, and also I did not receive new tires and rims after they were stolen off my vehicle. I understand this is not the first time the shop has been broken into. I don't know why they left my car out in the weekend unprotected when they knew they had problems with theft.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 16, 2014 07:26

First of all let me say that we are very sorry to hear that you are not 100% satisfied with your services. It was a very unfortunate incident that occurred with your car. Yes your car was parked outside of the shop along with two other cars. The shop was full with other cars that were being worked on at the time we were very busy. Not to mention the fact that we had your car in our possession for over two weeks at the time waiting for your authorization to make the needed repairs. We did try to contact you twice with no call back so at that point we contacted your daughter-in-law who had referred you to us in hopes that she could get a hold of you. We know that sometimes people will not answer from a number that is unknown. Your rims and tires were both replaced. Rims that you picked out for the car and tires that were 90% new. The tires that were originally on the vehicle had rubber layers peeling and steel belts protruding. We did not have to do this mind you as we are not liable for damages or theft that occur after hours on the property, this did come out of our pocket but we want to make sure the service we provide is always the best. The shop has never been broken into before there was one other incident of tires being stolen but that can happen anywhere even in front of your home. All parts we use are new and can be verified as replaced upon inspection unless we notify you otherwise. Again we are truly sorry that this happened to you as we want all of our customers to be 100% satisfied with all that we do here.

~Universal Automotive Servives

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 27, 2013

They were really fast. They did a good job. I had no complaints.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:49

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 19, 2013

They were friendly and helpful and extremely knowledgeable.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:47

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 17, 2013

My car had a problem with a resonator. The dealer said to go to a muffler shop. They only charged $199 where the dealer would have charged $700. I have been going there a long time.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:51

Thank you for your support and trust, We always look out for our customers

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 11, 2013

He found the problem quickly and fixed it. He had always worked very well and his prices are very reasonable.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 09, 2013

They did exactly what they said they were going to do. They did it in a timely manner. The price is good and right. The people are friendly.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:47

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
December 06, 2013

They did a good job. They are a ten, they did exactly what I wanted them to do and did an excellent job. They did the job I asked them to do. I told them what was wrong with the car and they took care of it.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
November 22, 2013

Quality customer service, timely repairs, and decent prices.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
November 16, 2013

I was very satisfied with the service. I would recommend them to my friends on how satisfied I was. They were timely, precise, and clean, which is very important. They took care of a few problems. Communication was very good.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:46

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
November 11, 2013

The repair did not go perfect the first time but the second time it did. I was satisfied but not impressed.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:46

We are sorry we did not gain your 100 percent satisfaction, unfortunately we had no control of a factory defective part. we are working very hard to avoid this from happening again. thank for your opinion, we appreciate any comment that will help improve our service.

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
November 08, 2013

They are quick and efficient and friendly and the price is lower than anybody else. They did quality work.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:51

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
October 24, 2013

They did a perfect job and it was just what I needed repaired. He put a new radiator in my truck and did an excellent job. They fixed my front end alignment and I have no problems. He also repaired my passenger bearings and also fixed my struts. He did notice my brake pads and gave me a heads up for what would be better for my vehicle to run better. I have no problems with it and it is great.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
October 24, 2013

It was done in a timely fashion, before they even started doing work on my car they called to make sure I wanted it all done. I was thankful it wasn't what I thought it was, my car runs better now than when I first bought it.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:51

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
October 22, 2013

He's always fixed everything good, he's very helpful. If I need a ride he takes care of that and he always does excellent work on my vehicle. I just know I can depend on him.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:47

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
October 21, 2013

Service was fantastic. The time was prompt. The price was very reasonable.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:49

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
October 04, 2013

The work was fast and done with quality. I haven't had any problems with the repairs I have had done and people are asking me who I had do the work.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:49

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
August 26, 2013

They give me a really good price, and they got it done fast, faster than I expected, and they're just really nice guys.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
August 15, 2013

They are very friendly. They are honest. They get you in and they get you out. I have never had any problem.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:52

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
August 08, 2013

My car runs better now than when I bought it and that was ten years ago. I know for a fact if I have problems, I take it there and they stand behind their word. They are courteous and fast and efficient.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:33

Thank you for your support and trust. Our mission is to provide the highest level of service

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
July 10, 2013

They are friendly and do a good job fixing it the right way the first time.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:48

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
Verified Customer
July 03, 2013

Great service. Reasonable prices. Fast and friendly.

Flag This
Reply from Universal Automotive Services -  Universal Automotive servicesJanuary 20, 2014 08:47

Thank you for your support and trust

Universal Automotive Services
December 18, 2013

Rob has worked on our Taurus always professional and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend going there! Honest reliable great service!

Flag This
Universal Automotive Services
December 18, 2013

Rob was awesome! He had my heat working in no time, changed my oil and fixed my muffler in less than 2 hours for great price. I will not be going any where else :)

Flag This
Universal Automotive Services
December 18, 2013

Like most people I am a very busy guy. I don't have the time nor the money to waste on a (excuse the language) half ass shop with half ass mechanics. If I am going to a repair shop I am already upset that I need to spend more $ on my car. I don't want to worry about how much it is going to cost. Or if the place I took it to is going to diagnose the problem properly the first time (Saving me $$)
I was referred to Rob at Universal by a friend a couple of years ago. I have never felt more confident in a repair facility/mechanic in my entire life..... I will NEVER go anywhere else. Fair prices, extremely knowledgeable and incredibly thorough. My questions get answered without making me feel like a moron, and I feel and sense nothing but honesty and concern for my issues/repairs every time I deal with them.
10 stars if I could!!! Keep up the good work Universal!!

Thank you
Grant Leszczynski

Flag This
Universal Automotive Services
December 18, 2013

Rob has serviced my Ford Explore for years and I was very excited to see them open this shop. Great hours! Prices are best around. Very easy to understand what they want to do on your car/truck. Very happy with services! Keep up the great work!!! Thanks for everything!

Flag This

3 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:

(2) by Joyce and 1 other verified reviewer
(1) by 1 verified reviewer
Get Directions to Universal Automotive Services
Get Directions
RepairPal Certified Shops
An exclusive network of auto repair and maintenance shops that delivers:
  • Quality work, backed by a minimum 12-month/12,000-mile warranty
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Happy customers
Hours of Operation
Mon - Fri:8:00am to 6:00pm
Sat:8:00am to 3:00pm
Sun:CLOSED
Call Now:

(586) 522-4013

Auto Repair Experience

  1. Robert Dyer, Owner
  2. Established 2013
  3. 2 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  4. 1 ASE Master Auto Technicians
  5. 42 Years of Car Repair Experience