»

Reviews for Toyota Pickup years:

  1. (5)
  2. (7)
  3. (4)
  4. (5)
  5. (10)
  6. (1)

Owners' Reviews

Toyota Pickup Reviews and Owner Comments

 
32 Reviews
Toyota PickupOwner Reviews (32 reviews)
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Wake Island, HI, March 27, 2014 21:53
    I have a rav4 2001 model, Got tapping noise as if its a loose tappet don't know about these is it true the oil pick up on these block easily,ran engine cleaner through it twice and did make little difference. Is it true that they don't have the usual set up and you cant just tighten the tappets by taking off the tappet cover or what ever top cover on motor joined to head is called on these things. Any advice would be much appreciated,ASAP Please
    Flag This
  • 1995 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Tempe, AZ, October 30, 2013 01:00
    I have 1995 Toy. 4 cylinder, 5 speed, 22RE. I've had it for about 5 years, when I got it, it had 127.xxxx. Now it has 267.xxxx. no problems, I have replaced the battery. and now the clutch is getting ready to have to be replaced. I love my truck. I only wish I had the ex cab. It gets pretty small when myself and 2 dogs get in the truck. Most dependable ride I've ever had. I'm 61 today, female. no one could ask for a better vehicle. You take care of them, and they will take great care of you. Drive and enjoy. Tempe, Arizona. Land of dirt dust, and hotter them Hell weather.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Port Townsend, WA, October 10, 2013 15:25
    My 1990 2 wheel drive pickup extra cab currently has 312000 miles. I bought it years ago and immediately threw the split front seat away and installed buckets from a Corolla. The engine has a hotter cam, an exhaust header and a k & G air filter. I change oil and filter every 5000 miles, using delo 15-40 oil. It has plenty of power and still gets a steady 25 MPG driving it hard. I have heavy duty shocks and bigger springs as I carry up to 1200 lbs often. I pull a 15 boat also. It is fun to drive!
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Swanzey, NH, December 29, 2012 15:37
    bought this truck in october and have read the reviews on this vehicle and i must say i am an absolute fan of this truck based on my personal expirience with this truck i feel i have bought the perfect truck!! wish they still made em this gd
    Flag This
  • 1993 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Phoenix, AZ, August 25, 2012 10:03
    I have a 93 4wd toyota pickup that I have had minor issues with. This truck has 160k on it and has had the clutch replaced just two years ago. I did have to replace the timing chain last year at 152k due to plastic guides broke. I had it sitting for nearly a year due to being relocated from family for that time while chain was broken and vehicle not running. But, after I got the chain on and vehicle back together, it fired right up and has been a champ ever since. I did recently have an issue with the steering gear leaking badly, I took it off, sent it out to be resealed and dry as a bone now. No drain plugs like someone was asking or other ways to fix it, just get it resealed and it should be fine. I work for a small auto repair shop so prices are at cost for product only and I do the work myself. I would like it to have a bit more power, but what do you expect out of a small 4 cyl? The lights are apparently a needed commodity cause mine were stolen(tail, head, and parking)and when I called around to find some I was told they are being stolen all over the place. Probably due to how expensive they are. I used tamper proof screws to install mine and have a special bit to screw in the screws.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Los Angeles, CA, June 21, 2012 23:55
    I have a 1994 Toyota pick up with the 22re motor, I bought brand new as a leader item ( stripped base model ) not even a radio. I am still driving it daily and have about 265,000 miles on it. I get on average 22 mpg in town and between 27 and 32 mpg on the highway cruising at 65-70mph depending on terrain and load. I broke in the engine with Valvoline 20-50 weight oil and new filter at 200 mile then at 500/1500/3000. I went to Castrol Syntec and have run it ever since changing it every 10,000 to 15,000 miles. Yes you read it right every 10-15k miles. I use the truck for my business and it sees everything from beaches to deserts to mountains. I have had no engine problems ( with the exception of valves that are a little noisy ), my dad always said a little loose is a lot better than too tight, when it comes to valves. I live in SoCal and it has always passed its smog cert without a problem. I have a camper shell over the bed that is flush with the top and it is normally loaded with between 500 and 800lbs in the bed whenever I am on business ( I put Highjacker Air shocks on it to help level it out when loaded ). The worst thing is the dash board electronics. I have had the dash lights and the speedometer freak out on me ( the condition comes and goes ) and starts reading in KPH instead of MPH. At one point when I would turn on the turn signal the speedo would bounce back and forth in time with the blinker. I have only had to replace the battery, tires and brakes. It has been the best truck I have ever owned and I have owned 1 ford and 2 dodge truck in my lifetime. I am 57 and wont even think about any other small truck, unless VW brings the AMAROK to the USA!
    Flag This
  • 1993 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Forest, VA, February 24, 2012 15:41
    I have a 93 toyota 4 wd truck that is drinking power steering fluid as fast as I can fill the resevoir,I have been told there is an air valve mounted to the bottom of the steering box that is connected to the intake does anybody out there know anything about this if so please drop me an email and let me know @ hrrysprc@verizon.net
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Gila, NM, February 22, 2012 08:20
    A 94 toyota pickup with 4 wheel drive the front driveline will turn when engaged the front hubs will not engage. Is there any other part that could go wrong besides the front switch or vacume leak . Both appear to be ok.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Hayesville, NC, January 04, 2012 13:33
    1989 Toyota truck,No Spark have replaced the distributor the coil the coil igniter the computer the battery the coolant temp sensor ! What can a girl do next?
    Flag This
  • 1992 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Glenrock, WY, September 29, 2011 15:25
    My 1992 Toyota is a great little truck. I bought it with about 145K miles on it and have done nothing but drive it. It survived a 60 mph crash only needing some new plastic in the grille. It is driven hard off and on road as a work truck. As long as you do regular maintenance they run forever. My truck has 190,000 miles runs great and never misses a beat. You take care of it and it does the same.
    Flag This
  • 1993 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Dunnellon, FL, September 27, 2011 20:10
    have had my truck for 5yrs now, bought it with 120k on it and it has 345k on it now, replaced the timing and oil pump and water pump and head gasket,the runs strong burns no oil and get around 24 mpg, would love to have an other one, best truck and motor Toyota built...
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    brandon123, Leesville, LA, September 21, 2011 07:44
     Rookie
    Bought a new radiator that stated it fits 1991 p/u after recieving it, it is a 2.4 and i have a 3.0 holes match up housing is a little smaller on the new one
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Leesville, LA, September 21, 2011 07:37
    I have a 1991 toyota pickup and just bought a raidator that says it fits 1991 pickups. After looking it is a 2.4. and I have a 3.0. holes match but radiator is slightly smaller Robert
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Plant City, FL, September 16, 2011 10:34
    1994 toyota 2-wheel drive 22re engine 5 speed tranny. 2nd owner bought in 2004 77,000 miles for $3,500 has 152,000 now. Replaced a few parts but thats normal for any make,model or year after its 10 years old. Toyota trucks with the 22re are like a timex they take a lickin & keep on tickin. Best money I ever spent. Well maybe except for that circus lady.
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Sierra Vista, AZ, August 25, 2011 10:02
    Most of the underside still original parts, most parts are pretty cheap and easy to replace. 22re engine that runs like new, transmission took a crap right around 208,000 miles due to pin falling out of 4th gear. Quick fix of 2 grand, runs like a champ again with 211,295 miles. A/C non existent anymore, but could scramble an egg on the dash during a blizzard. learned that if one of the four, battery, alternator, electrical, and starter, decides to quit...the others will soon follow. very durable and reliable, takes me to Nogales and back (140 miles) every Saturday for the past 9 months without fail. All in all, best investment I could have made for first truck.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Brenham, TX, July 10, 2011 13:14
    I hate my truck, it was given to me as I was out of work and needed a truck, I would rather push a dodge! All I do is work on this truck, and I only drive it in town. would NEVER but a toyota!
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Cocoa, FL, May 18, 2011 17:31
    Got it from my grandfather a little over a year ago with 147,XXX on the clock. Now sitting with 171,653. I've put alot of my own money into the truck (plugs , wires, rotor cap, fluids, master and slave clutch, performance exhaust and o2 sensors, timing chain job, suspension, cold air intake, ect.) car is very easy to work on, parts are cheap, and easy to learn. The engine is great, NOT a power horse by any means but , reliable as long as you do your part, beware the famous timing chain rattle! IT WILL HAPPEN! A/c is weak, needs recharge, will cook your balls off though. ORIGINAL CLUTCH! and still catches fine! 23mpg @ 80mph, 27mpg @ 65mph. Engine 0-60 in 7.2 seconds top speed @ 125mph All and all one hell of a first vehicle, love it!
    Flag This
  • 1992 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Swisshome, OR, April 30, 2011 08:58
    Very durable truck who doesnt love toyota's. Does seem to need repaired a lot but a least a guy with little mechanic knowledge can do it. For the most part
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Medford, OR, February 26, 2011 21:37
    bullet proof best buy i ever made
    Flag This
  • 1992 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Huntington, WV, January 23, 2011 13:13
    I own this truck with the 2.4l 4 cyl 22re. Everything on this truck works as well as it did when it was new. However it has slight problems with frame rust. The timing chain problem is also problematic. The 22re is efficient, durable, and provides a suprising amount of low end torque. Due to the gearing the truck is able to utilise tires up to and beyond 32" without losing much acceleration. This truck is very tough and reliable. great for daily driver or off-road project truck.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    76pinto, Fort Collins, CO, November 23, 2010 16:31
     Rookie
    I have had mine for over 13 years - its been in two accidents and still runs like a champ. I haul rocks and wood and junk all the time and it keeps on going. Just timing belt change, brakes and belts. though I have to do ball joints and muffler in the near future. Great in the snow and fine off road. Its been a loyal friend and I would like to keep it forever.
    Flag This
  • 1993 Toyota Pickup
    Wreckless1, Tarzana, CA, July 21, 2010 16:28
     Enthusiast
    I love this truck... It took 14 years with no service before my tranny failed... my own fault of course, but damn,(that is awesome) with help from my buddie.. took it out, had it rebuilt, saved $800.00, reinstalled it and paid $1450. for it.... Then drove it 1,200 miles with no oil in the transfer case... before I heard a whirring noise.. .added oil there... and still goin strong! It has its 3rd tranny now... cause Aamco screwed me over with an inferior tranny... and didnt tell me the drive shaft was bad, till I noticed it, and charged me and extra $360, on top of the $2,390.00 for the tranny rebuild. Love Leons Transmissions!
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Locust Grove, GA, July 20, 2010 22:06
    this 1994 truck has givin me more trouble then the thing is wearth so i dont recamend this truck but it is a great runner tile the tires fall off
    Flag This
  • 1993 Toyota Pickup
    Visitor, Minneapolis, MN, July 01, 2010 12:53
    These trucks are known for legendary reliability and toughness, but that has not been my experience. While it certainly has an improvement over the Ford and Chrysler I owned before, much has gone wrong on this vehicle in the 5 years I have owned it that has caused me to doubt the truck’s mythical durability. The 2.4 22RE is pretty solid and burns well. It produces a fair amount of torque for its class and makes acceptable MPG--though in the winter it is significantly lower. I have averaged about 22 with 18 being the floor and 30 being the ceiling. The biggest problem I had was the timing chain loosening inside the engine and making a definite rattling noise. I had this replaced at 85,000 miles costing $1,500. This is due to a flaw inherent in the design. The breaks are durable, but rather soft. Stopping distance must be increased substantially in comparison to other cars. I have had to replace the starter twice in a time period of less than two years. Make sure you buy an aftermarket brand and not anything from Toyota. Be gentle with the hand cranks on your windows. The knobs easily break off. The exhaust system rusts quickly and must be replaced every two years (note, I park outside in Minnesota). The transmission is durable and the clutch is extremely forgiving. This is a very good vehicle to learn on. Do not tow anything with the bumper as it probably will not live up to its 3500lb rating due to rust damage. The best feature this truck has is the small turning circle. This is the best vehicle I have ever driven for making U-turns. Keep in mind, mine is a Minnesota truck that has been parked outside its whole life. Durability will vary with shelter/climate situations greatly. Despite, these complaints I have liked this truck. It has been handy and good cross-country commuter for me in the years I’ve owned it. I would consider buying a Toyota again, though I would research much more thoroughly.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Toyota Pickup
    2jz, El Cajon, CA, June 03, 2010 13:35
     Enthusiast
    very good truck amazing braking on the 4x4 bad : for the mechanic very good motor but very expensive to fix the v6 3vze i did all the seals and belt it is alot of work to do this you at least need 500 just for labor
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    mypoortoyota, Las Vegas, NV, February 28, 2010 02:46
     Rookie
    I agree with all the praise of this vehicle. Unfortunately after 192500 I noticed it started running hot. Three days ago it overheated due to no coolant. Filled the radiator and the next day the truck will not start. I checked the oil- and it seems to be mixed with the coolant. (chocalate-brown runny fluid). Advise on internet says blwon head gasket or even a cracked head. OUCH!!!! any advise!!!!!!!
    Flag This
  • 1991 Toyota Pickup
    ToyotaPickupLover, Sandia Park, NM, April 08, 2009 13:29
     Enthusiast
    This is the only vehicle I ever bought new, and for 18 years now I have never once regretted my ownership. They'll probably have to burry me in it! As for the quality and reliability - it rocks! With 180K miles on it, I have never had to do any major service or parts replacement. With just regular oil changes, the 4-cylinder (22RE) is rock-solid, burns no oil, puts out like-new power and gets the same 27 to 34 MPG as ever. The only major parts I've had to replace are brake pads & shoes, shocks, starter solenoid contacts, and battery. The original Panasonic battery lasted nearly 12 years! Yes, there is good reason why Toyota has eclipsed GM as the world's top auto manufacturer! I'm a real buy-American kind of guy, so I'm really glad most Toyotas sold in America are now made in America these days! See ya on the hiways and biways...
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    jazzman55, Ephrata, PA, April 08, 2009 10:33
     Enthusiast
    jazzman55 1994 Toyota Pickup 4x4 Ephrata, Pa April 8,2009 This has been the best darned vehicle I have ever owned, EVER. I agree with " wildsuns" I would like to have a brand new one. I've been driving this for 13 years and the only major repairs have been the timing chain and guides and a new clutch. I've been towing a 17 foot aluminum bass boat, fully loaded, all over Pa to the Susquehanna River , and various lakes across the state. With a 4CYL it can be slow going over some of the Mountains but it gets me there and home again. I also go to Delaware (Indian River) to go fishing with a buddy there. My Toyota, it's the best truck I've ever had My Toyota, it's a pretty shade of red My Toyota, it's the best truck I've ever had My Toyota, I'll drive it till I'm dead
    Flag This
  • 1990 Toyota Pickup
    wildsuns, Cypress, CA, February 15, 2009 14:45
     Enthusiast
    1990 Toyota Xtra cab V6 5spd 4x4 med red pearl..... Orig Owner and im with the first guy, I want another one brand new again just like mine! Had the headgasket blow like all the V6's did, mine went at 80,000 well after warranty expired.. I paid around $3,000 at an indipendant shop to fix and only found out about the special service campaign about a year after all that. But I sent in my reciepts and Toyota reimbursed me almost the whole cost of the repairs...!!! Otherwise has always been the best vehicle I have ever owned. And my truck has more off pavement miles on it then any other rig I know... And it still gets the exact same MPG now as it did 19 years ago... Forget giving to my kids, this truck is like one of my kids...!!! People try to buy it often, but my kids are not for sale, nope. Im keeping this one... Even though it is at that age, where I worry about its age.. But still the safest bet to jump in and take off secure knowing it will go anywhere, and bring you back home everytime....
    Flag This
  • 1992 Toyota Pickup
    carhomepro1, Bronson, FL, December 30, 2008 16:02
     Rookie
    Having now driven over 200K miles I can only say that I wish they would make this EXACT truck again! I have never owned a more reliable vehicle. I am very careful to keep it properly maintained (I do all of my own maintenance) especially in regard to oil changes. The only mechanical problem I've had is timing chain failure at 120K. Yes, the guides disintegrated, the chain snapped & did chew up the inside of the timing cover. I did the repair and decided to just replace the guides & chain assembly every 80K thereafter. So I now just completed the 2nd replacement. It is a bit of a pain, but well worth it. As for all other systems, I have had no problems. Brake pads have been replaced 3 times. A/C system is still original and has never needed service. The 89-95 Toy Pickups are uniquely simple and very well designed mechanically (except the plastic timing chain guides LOL). I'm keeping it and going for 300K.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Toyota Pickup
    4wheeler, Emeryville, CA, December 19, 2008 15:26
     Technician
    These trucks are fantastic with the 22RE 4 cylinder. You have to watch out for the timing chain rattle because the plastic guides wear after a while. If the chain breaks or comes off the gears you might be looking at a new engine because the chain usually breaks through a coolant passage on the block. My truck only has 140K miles but the trucks I drove during school for a parts house were getting 25mpg and had 286,000 miles!! Do the simple maintenance and these trucks will run and run. Don't let them overheat or you might need a head gasket
    Flag This
  • 1990 Toyota Pickup
    pixiechic420, Costa Mesa, CA, October 29, 2008 17:51
     Enthusiast
    We've had this car in the family since 1990 when it was purchased new. After 18 years the truck hasn't had any major engine problems; has been properly maintained throughout its life. Hopefully I can pass this truck down to my kids.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car