» » » Sparks Auto Service Inc.

Sparks Auto Service Inc.

(734) 522-2370

34043 Ford Rd, Westland, MI 48185

Overall Score

Hours of Operation

Mon - Fri:8:00am to 6:00pm
Sat:8:00am to 2:00pm
Sun:CLOSED

Message from the Shop

Come in and experience our award winning service for yourselves and see why we were voted "Best in Michigan" by readers of the Detroit News!

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Buick Cadillac
Chevrolet Chrysler Dodge
Ford GMC Geo
Honda Hummer Hyundai
Isuzu Jeep Kia
Lexus Lincoln Mazda
Mercury Mitsubishi Nissan
Oldsmobile Plymouth Pontiac
Saturn Scion Subaru
Suzuki Toyota Volkswagen

Specialties

AC/Heating Alignment Check Engine Light Diagnosis
Oil Change & Lube Roadside Assistance Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair
Timing Belts

Amenities

Car Delivery Car Pickup/Dropoff Coffee Heated Waiting Room
Military Discount Open Saturday Open Weekends Senior Discount
Service Guarantee Shuttle Towing Warranty Accepted
Wireless Internet

Customer Reviews (11 reviews)

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
January 23, 2013

I have known Gary and his family since I was in Cub Scouts when I was a kid. They have my complete trust when I hand them my vehicle, whether it is for a oil change, changing filters, or replacing a simple tail light bulb. I have never been disappointed with their quality of work and friendly staff.

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
October 29, 2011

I took my lhs into Sparks with a faulty crank sensor, they looked at it imeditatly, drove me home, called me to ok the service and picked me up. They went above and beyond in working with me. I have taken this car into no less than 4 shops in the last 8 months and never recieved this kind of service. I trust their judgment and was not ripped off like the other places I used in the past. I recomend Sparks and will continue to use them and only them in the future

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
September 12, 2011

I have been taking my cars, and my family members cars, to Gary for many years. They have always been friendly, honest, thorough, and accurate in their diagnosis of any issues with my cars. They also worked with me on scheduling repairs so it didn't interfere with my work. If I thought there was a concern after a repair, it was resolved immediately - not something that happened anywhere else I used to take my cars. There were times when finances were a concern and Gary was willing to work with me on taking care of safety issues first and scheduling other repairs for a better time without making me feel embarassed about not being able to take care of it all at one time. LOL!
(NOTE to other shops) As an "older, single woman," I can't tell you how many times I took cars in for repairs at other shops and was insulted by repairmen who thought I knew nothing about cars and was too stupid to know when I was being ripped off. I've changed my own oil, plugs, and brake pads so I'm not a moron. (I'd much prefer having Sparks handle it now!) Don't ever assume women don't know about cars - they'll go to the shops where they are treated with respect and honesty!

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
September 01, 2011

I take my 2002 Ford Escape here for maintenance and any other service. I freak out about every little noise and their highly trained staff have always dealt with my craziness and rather than trying to sell me products I don't need they tell the truth something so hard to come by at an auto repair facility. This is a family owned business and they are what America is about, It's no wonder they have been voted "Best in Michigan" by the Detroit news and have been in business for over 20 years.... Thanks for all you do!

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
September 01, 2011

I took my Montana in to Gary at Sparks and they repaired the air conditioning lines. Before he made any repair he explained and showed me exactly what needed done to my van. Knowing that it is my only mode of transportation the repair was done in a timely matter and at a low cost. Just as a precaution because it was a big repair I had taken my van to a Tamaroff dealership for a second opinion and their head mechanic who has been with them over 20 years explained that the price I was given was the best I was going to find. He also told me that Gary and Sparks Auto was a very upstanding individual and establishment. He would jump at the offer and have his car repaired there anytime. I have had my catalytic converter, my brakes, and numerous oil changes done there and will take it back again and again.I whave and will continue to recommend Sparks to anyone who asks me for a car repair place. Thank you to Gary, Randy, Nick, and Patrick for keeping my car on the road. I would be lost without you all.

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
January 22, 2013

Gary and his crew do a fantastic job. Quick service, guaranteed work, and very affordable pricing. They work on all of my family's cars - I would not trust anyone else to take care of my kids' cars.

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
January 22, 2013

I walked in to the shop having a bit of an idea of what was needed to be done to the car. I needed new front bearings on my Ford Explorer. The shop owner was there to assist me and also gave me options on the pricing and parts. Not only did I get a fair price, but I was able to get it fixed that day, no questions asked. They didn't even have the parts in stock, but they made a call to someone and got them there within 10 minutes. Great customer service, fair prices and very knowledgeable staff made this repair shop a no-brainer to go for help on my vehicle.

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
January 18, 2013

Thanks to Gary and his team of professionals my parents have their car back running better than ever ! We took the 2002 Concorde to Gary after having previously repaired water pump and timing chain work done by another shop, which failed. The water pump exploded and caused a lot damage. I did not want to take it back to that shop again so we took the car to Sparks after reading other reviews. Gary and his team agreed to take on the job (and it was a big job!) making all necessary repairs to get the car running like new for my parents. I am so thankful for Gary's honesty and his philosophy of getting it done right the first time. Sparks Auto takes what they do very seriously and we are very grateful for all they did. They also have a one year or 12,000 mile warranty.
I highly recommend Sparks and Gary to anyone looking for great service, honesty, quality of work, and integrity !
THANK YOU GARY AND TEAM !!!

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
March 14, 2013

I think Sparks is the beast auto service around! yes I have recommend friends and will always! especially the ladys because up there they do not try to get over on us just because we are women. I've ben going there for about 8years and thats the only place I will go.

Flag This
Sparks Auto Service Inc.
September 02, 2012

Took it in because the heater fan was not working on the lower speeds. Their first quote was $800! Second was $500!! Got it done at an independent shop for under $100! Would not let a friend go to this place!

Flag This
Reply from Sparks Auto Service Inc. -  sparkstowingSeptember 02, 2012 09:14

I am Gary, General Manager at Sparks Auto Service, this story either has more to it that the reviewer is not telling or it is a lie. A fan inoperative at lower speeds is generally a simple replacement of a blower motor resistor, a usually cheap and easy repair, we replace these on a regular basis, usually for under $100.

Sparks Auto Service Inc.
August 18, 2011

I would not recommend to anyone.they will screw you. My brother inlaw had his truck towed there needing a fuel pump, they charged over $1000 for the job. The pump is a single unit and they tried telling me in came in two pieces( which I know it doesn't because I work on cars and called the dealership to make sure) autozone had the pump unit for $315 but they charged $489 the pu formp and an additional $99 for the sending unit. That's almost twice what autozone wanted and $150 more than the dealership!!!! Then when I asked to see the old one they said they thru it away. That's a no no by Michigan law. they must keep the part to show customer. liars! they couldn't even show the packaging the new one came in. I'm sure they used a cheap pump assembly and knew they were caught. beware of sparks auto and towing there crooks.

Flag This
Reply from Sparks Auto Service Inc. -  sparkstowingAugust 29, 2011 13:22

I am the GM of Sparks Auto Service and would like to respond to the above review. This customers truck was towed in after it stopped running while the customer was driving, we verified the ignition system was functioning properly and found the was a lack of fuel pressure, the vehicle was showing a 1/4 tank of gas and I called the customer to ask if the gas gauge was accurate, he said it was. With that information we determined the cause of failure was a faulty fuel pump , I gave him a price for the fuel pump which does not come with the fuel level sender from GM . The customer gave his approval for the fuel pump replace, we removed the fuel tank to find it empty, the fuel gauge was inaccurate, I immediately called and told the customer he needed a fuel sender, not a fuel pump, but still recommended a fuel pump for maintenance due to the high failure rate for GM vehicle fuel pumps. He approved the repair with a fuel pump and fuel level sender. The repair was performed as promised and in a timely manner, when he came to P/u vehicle his brother-in-law was pre sent and began questioning our work. We had the original OEM boxes as well as his old fuel pump available for viewing or for them to take with them. We have been in business for 21 years, we have not survived that long by ripping people off! My responsibility was to my customer not to his brother-in-law! The customer was satisfied with our work, yes the repair was expensive but GM fuel pumps are expensive! I urge anyone to come in and experience our award winning service for yourselves and see why we were voted "Best in Michigan" by readers of the Detroit News!