Skillender's Service Center

✓ RepairPal Certified
1422 Route 9 South
Howell, NJ 07731
View map and get directions
8:00am to 5:30pm
8:00am to 5:30pm
8:00am to 5:30pm
8:00am to 5:30pm
8:00am to 5:30pm
Call now:
(732) 686-6014

Auto Repair Experience

  • Jacki Skillender, Owner
  • Established 1994
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 39 Years of Car Repair Experience


Jacki Skillender founded Skillender's Service Center in 1994 with the mission to provide good quality automotive repair at a fair price. Jacki's focus over the years has been on educating her customers on the needs of their vehicles. She is known in the community for her honesty and integrity. This commitment was apparent in our unbiased review of her most recent customers who describe Jacki and her team as honest, efficient, trustworthy, funny, and fair. This commitment also carries over to the workshop where she employes a team of professionals and provides them with the training they need to successfully repair today's modern vehicles. This training, coupled with the necessary automotive tools and computer diagnostic equipment make this RepairPal Certified shop a great place for a wide range of repairs. For your peace of mind they offer a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, rental cars, early bird drop off, and a very clean comfortable waiting area with wireless Internet are available.


Auto Repair Experience

  • Jacki Skillender, Owner
  • Established 1994
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 39 Years of Car Repair Experience


  • AC/Heating
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Hybrid/Electric
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts


  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Rental Car
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shuttle
  • Wireless Internet


Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercury
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Ram
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota

Message from the Shop

Find us behind the Mark-O-Lite Sign Company!

We moved….. Our transition is completed. We were sad to leave our home at Kmart, but our new shop is cozy and bright. Come visit us. We are proudly located in the warehouse behind Mark-O-Lite Sign Company.



Skillender's Service Center
1422 Route 9 South
Howell, NJ 07731


Free safety inspection of your vehicle with every service. Your safety is our number one priority !

All Cars valid with this coupon

RepairPal Certified

Expiration Date:


Coupon data is provided by merchants. RepairPal does not guarantee and shall not be responsible for validity or accuracy of any information of the coupon. Coupon ID #1163

Get Directions to Skillender's Service Center

Overall Rating

25 Verified Reviews

Customer Reviews

Verified CustomerJune 25, 2014

Good service, good pricing and no nonsense. It is the kind of place that will only do the work that needs to be done.

June 23, 2014

She is very thorough, honest and everyone is very happy with he since she doesn't overcharge or do work that she isn't asked to do.

Verified CustomerJune 20, 2014

Jackie is extremely knowledgeable, honest and they don't overcharge or take you for a ride in any way.

June 20, 2014

The service was really good and everything was fine.

Verified CustomerJune 16, 2014

They have stellar service, they inform and educate you instead of just taking your money, and I am very happy with the way she conducts her business.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJune 16, 2014

Every time I have been there, they are honest, they give me a fair deal, a good price, tell me what is wrong with my car, and fix it with no troubles, it is a professional repair. They are really great, good prices.

June 11, 2014

They are very prompt and very knowledgeable.

Verified CustomerJune 09, 2014

They are really honest people, I feel that they are always telling the truth.

Verified CustomerJune 06, 2014

The service was excellent the follow up is amazing. She found things that other car dealers couldn't find at a reasonable price. My whole family goes to her because we are all satisfied with her services.

Verified CustomerJune 03, 2014

I like them. Honest and trustworthy. Funny.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJune 03, 2014

I get honest work from them.

May 30, 2014

They were very polite, efficient and they had my car ready when promised.

Verified CustomerMay 29, 2014

Really good service, the truck was in and out, done quick. It was friendly, I know everyone that works there.

May 27, 2014

They are very good and do quality work, are very efficient. I would recommend them to anybody.

Verified CustomerMay 19, 2014

They did a great job, they were very friendly and helpful.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerMay 10, 2014

They are very courteous, I have taken my car there several and they do really good work. I feel that they tell me the truth.

Verified CustomerMay 05, 2014

They did the work on time they explained everything perfectly.

Verified CustomerApril 19, 2014

I was recommended to them, I called them and they were able to fit me in the next day, they are very personable people.

April 17, 2014

They do an honest job, they are very fair and I am very happy with them.

Verified CustomerApril 16, 2014

Good service and fair prices, the prices are reasonable for the services they do.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerApril 10, 2014

They are excellent, very personable and I have no problems with the place.

Verified CustomerApril 02, 2014

Good service, they took care of what I needed, and they told me what I needed. It is also convenient.

March 29, 2014

They had the parts and they finished it and I was on my way. They are much cheaper compared to the auto dealership.

Verified CustomerMarch 28, 2014

They do a good job, they are thorough and I have never had a problem with the service at their facility.

Verified CustomerFebruary 01, 2014

They are very honest and I really like the work they do.

Show more reviews
November 05, 2015

They were GREAT called me back right away with a amount . They did a wonderful job and there honesty is refreshing. Will bring all of our cars there!

Reply from Skillender's Service Center – SKILLENDERNovember 05, 2015

Thank you for your kind words. Our promise to our customers is one hundred percent satisfaction no matter what. If I can assist in any way please give me a call. Thank you !

December 24, 2014

acey Filo Joe — 1 starSorry I had a bad experience and if it was eBay I would have given a Negative Feedback. Like I always say the Owner Knows the Business and Gives Good Customer Service, I cannot knock Jackie as she was honest and to the point, however whosoever touched my Jeep did a VERY BAD JOB. I do not profess to be a qualified mechanic, however I can save myself a few buck as I can hold my own. My vehicle had a Cylinder 1 Misfire and when I go it back it had multiple cylinder misfire with flashing check engine light, after trying to diagnosed the vehicle, inconclusively, the coil and hose was just slap dash together and vehicle towed back to me. When I started it an it sounded like crap, worst than it left my premises. Called and the Mechanic could not admit his error, because I am a nice guy I should be nice about it. Please if you do not realize today the world is an oyster, nothing is hidden if you care to find out, so do not talk to me as if I am a fool, I was very disappointed as indeed their are not to be found QUALIFIED Mechanics with integrity anymore. They go by the computer and cannot use their common sense to rationalize a fault in a car. Jackie you are ok, however your mechanic is a follower and not a leader., that is why he is on salary and not the owner of the business and as this is what reviews are all about, I have to give my honest opinion for $69.55 that I was charge and given my vehicle back as if I am an idiot. Thanks to modern technology, one can vent you experience. As usually I am my own best mechanic and thanks to Google (Free Tech Support() I am about to at least cure my misfire problem, that a so called mechanic could not do. Nothing to do with Jackie, but her employee and no offence meant, just my honest opinion.

Reply from Skillender's Service Center – SKILLENDERDecember 29, 2014

We are sorry that you feel the way you do and I am taking a moment to clarify a few statements which you may not of understood. I have also reached out to our representative.
The reason your vehicle had a flashing check engine lamp is from a worn cylinder in your engine which is cylinder #1, The data history is from the compression test performed which you were charged 65.00 plus NJ sales tax for. Also in this price was testing the coil, injector pulse and fuel pressure. The lack of compression will cause the warning lamp to flash. Your engine has over 249,000 miles on it and naturally with age comes wear. There is no "quick" fix for this issue. Replacement of the engine or relining the cylinder would be necessary to have a proper running engine. Second, when you do a compression test the vehicle coil must be removed to access the spark plugs that need to be removed from the engine. Compression tests are done with the spark plugs removed from the engine block. The coil is not present in the vehicle during testing and the control module will hold multiple misfire data failures. The engine computer was not reset after testing so that if you decided to have the engine rebuilt or replaced the mechanic will have a history as to the malfunction and the failure, I had advised you of this during our phone conversation. The coil and the spark plugs were reinstalled back into the vehicle and torqued to proper specification. If you over tighten the bolts that hold the coil into place, damage to the coil housing will occur. Lastly, testing is not solely done by the vehicles on board computer but done with testing equipment. If only the on board computer was referenced and the engine was not tested the misfire history would not be present.
Due to the misfire in your engine, it was not run for more than a few seconds. Your vehicle was pushed in and out of our shop and not driven to ensure no further engine damage would occur.
If my tech was responsible for knocking off a vacuum line and created a vacuum leak and did not see it during reassembly, that I apologize for and he is responsible for.
As you can clearly see by the previous reviews we take our profession very serious. We are highly regarded within our community for our skills, honesty and integrity. We are not "google, shade tree nor back-yard" mechanics. We do not sell our services on ebay nor craigslist. I in fact told you a "repair" on that engine was not cost effective and in my opinion would be waste of your money. My mechanics are professionals and the mere fact alone of the above reviews reflect that.
Jacki Skillender

July 07, 2014

I have always received the best service from Jackie and her employees from the second I walked through the door until the time I exited with my repaired vehicle. I have taken my vehicles in with unknown problems and drove away with a repaired vehicle at a lot less cost of other shops and/or dealerships who could not resolve the problem. Jackie is very straight forward and uses new parts so you don't have to pay again to replace failed refurbished parts....saving you the customer money and a headache down the road.

RepairPal Certified

RepairPal Certified shops pass a rigorous 42-point annual inspection by our master mechanics for quality work and fair prices.

  • High quality repair
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Real, verified reviews
  • Current expert training
  • Warranty on repairs
  • Great customer service