» » » Skillender's Service Center

Skillender's Service Center

1422 Route 9 South, Howell, NJ 07731 Map & directions

Call Now: (732) 391-4124

See more real customer reviews

About Skillender's Service Center

RepairPal’s Comprehensive Evaluation

RepairPal Quality Index
Customer Satisfaction (Net Promoter Score®)
Based on interviews with 25+ recent customers
Avg Repair Shop
American Express
Lowe's
JetBlue
Apple
97
Technical Ability
95
Tools & Equipment
98
Customer Service
95
Customer Conveniences
12 months / 12,000 miles
Parts & Labor Warranty

Assessment Summary

Jacki Skillender founded Skillender's Service Center in 1994 with the mission to provide good quality automotive repair at a fair price. Jacki's focus over the years has been on educating her customers on the needs of their vehicles. She is known in the community for her honesty and integrity. This commitment was apparent in our unbiased review of her most recent customers who describe Jacki and her team as honest, efficient, trustworthy, funny, and fair. This commitment also carries over to the workshop where she employes a team of professionals and provides them with the training they need to successfully repair today's modern vehicles. This training, coupled with the necessary automotive tools and computer diagnostic equipment make this RepairPal Certified shop a great place for a wide range of repairs. For your peace of mind they offer a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, rental cars, early bird drop off, and a very clean comfortable waiting area with wireless Internet are available.

Message from the Shop

Find us behind the Mark-O-Lite Sign Company!

We moved….. Our transition is completed. We were sad to leave our home at Kmart, but our new shop is cozy and bright. Come visit us. We are proudly located in the warehouse behind Mark-O-Lite Sign Company.

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Buick Cadillac
Chevrolet Chrysler Dodge
Ford GMC Geo
Honda Hummer Hyundai
Infiniti Isuzu Jeep
Kia Lexus Lincoln
Mazda Mercury Mitsubishi
Nissan Oldsmobile Plymouth
Pontiac Ram Saturn
Scion Subaru Suzuki
Toyota

Quality Affiliations

Specialties

AC/Heating Check Engine Light Diagnosis Hybrid/Electric
Muffler & Exhaust Oil Change & Lube Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair
Smog/Emissions Testing Timing Belts

Amenities

Child Friendly Coffee Early Bird Dropoff Heated Waiting Room
Rental Car Service Guarantee Shuttle Wireless Internet

Customer Reviews 25 verified reviews (27 total)

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 25, 2014

Good service, good pricing and no nonsense. It is the kind of place that will only do the work that needs to be done.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 23, 2014

She is very thorough, honest and everyone is very happy with he since she doesn't overcharge or do work that she isn't asked to do.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 20, 2014

Jackie is extremely knowledgeable, honest and they don't overcharge or take you for a ride in any way.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 20, 2014

The service was really good and everything was fine.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 16, 2014

Every time I have been there, they are honest, they give me a fair deal, a good price, tell me what is wrong with my car, and fix it with no troubles, it is a professional repair. They are really great, good prices.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 16, 2014

They have stellar service, they inform and educate you instead of just taking your money, and I am very happy with the way she conducts her business.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 11, 2014

They are very prompt and very knowledgeable.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 09, 2014

They are really honest people, I feel that they are always telling the truth.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 06, 2014

The service was excellent the follow up is amazing. She found things that other car dealers couldn't find at a reasonable price. My whole family goes to her because we are all satisfied with her services.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 03, 2014

I get honest work from them.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
June 03, 2014

I like them. Honest and trustworthy. Funny.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 30, 2014

They were very polite, efficient and they had my car ready when promised.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 29, 2014

Really good service, the truck was in and out, done quick. It was friendly, I know everyone that works there.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 27, 2014

They are very good and do quality work, are very efficient. I would recommend them to anybody.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 19, 2014

They did a great job, they were very friendly and helpful.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 10, 2014

They are very courteous, I have taken my car there several and they do really good work. I feel that they tell me the truth.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
May 05, 2014

They did the work on time they explained everything perfectly.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
April 19, 2014

I was recommended to them, I called them and they were able to fit me in the next day, they are very personable people.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
April 17, 2014

They do an honest job, they are very fair and I am very happy with them.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
April 16, 2014

Good service and fair prices, the prices are reasonable for the services they do.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
April 10, 2014

They are excellent, very personable and I have no problems with the place.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
April 02, 2014

Good service, they took care of what I needed, and they told me what I needed. It is also convenient.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
March 29, 2014

They had the parts and they finished it and I was on my way. They are much cheaper compared to the auto dealership.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
March 28, 2014

They do a good job, they are thorough and I have never had a problem with the service at their facility.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
Verified Customer
February 01, 2014

They are very honest and I really like the work they do.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
July 07, 2014

I have always received the best service from Jackie and her employees from the second I walked through the door until the time I exited with my repaired vehicle. I have taken my vehicles in with unknown problems and drove away with a repaired vehicle at a lot less cost of other shops and/or dealerships who could not resolve the problem. Jackie is very straight forward and uses new parts so you don't have to pay again to replace failed refurbished parts....saving you the customer money and a headache down the road.

Flag This
Skillender's Service Center
December 24, 2014

acey Filo Joe — 1 starSorry I had a bad experience and if it was eBay I would have given a Negative Feedback. Like I always say the Owner Knows the Business and Gives Good Customer Service, I cannot knock Jackie as she was honest and to the point, however whosoever touched my Jeep did a VERY BAD JOB. I do not profess to be a qualified mechanic, however I can save myself a few buck as I can hold my own. My vehicle had a Cylinder 1 Misfire and when I go it back it had multiple cylinder misfire with flashing check engine light, after trying to diagnosed the vehicle, inconclusively, the coil and hose was just slap dash together and vehicle towed back to me. When I started it an it sounded like crap, worst than it left my premises. Called and the Mechanic could not admit his error, because I am a nice guy I should be nice about it. Please if you do not realize today the world is an oyster, nothing is hidden if you care to find out, so do not talk to me as if I am a fool, I was very disappointed as indeed their are not to be found QUALIFIED Mechanics with integrity anymore. They go by the computer and cannot use their common sense to rationalize a fault in a car. Jackie you are ok, however your mechanic is a follower and not a leader., that is why he is on salary and not the owner of the business and as this is what reviews are all about, I have to give my honest opinion for $69.55 that I was charge and given my vehicle back as if I am an idiot. Thanks to modern technology, one can vent you experience. As usually I am my own best mechanic and thanks to Google (Free Tech Support() I am about to at least cure my misfire problem, that a so called mechanic could not do. Nothing to do with Jackie, but her employee and no offence meant, just my honest opinion.

Flag This
Reply from Skillender's Service Center -  SKILLENDERDecember 29, 2014 11:43

We are sorry that you feel the way you do and I am taking a moment to clarify a few statements which you may not of understood. I have also reached out to our Repairpal.com representative.
The reason your vehicle had a flashing check engine lamp is from a worn cylinder in your engine which is cylinder #1, The data history is from the compression test performed which you were charged 65.00 plus NJ sales tax for. Also in this price was testing the coil, injector pulse and fuel pressure. The lack of compression will cause the warning lamp to flash. Your engine has over 249,000 miles on it and naturally with age comes wear. There is no "quick" fix for this issue. Replacement of the engine or relining the cylinder would be necessary to have a proper running engine. Second, when you do a compression test the vehicle coil must be removed to access the spark plugs that need to be removed from the engine. Compression tests are done with the spark plugs removed from the engine block. The coil is not present in the vehicle during testing and the control module will hold multiple misfire data failures. The engine computer was not reset after testing so that if you decided to have the engine rebuilt or replaced the mechanic will have a history as to the malfunction and the failure, I had advised you of this during our phone conversation. The coil and the spark plugs were reinstalled back into the vehicle and torqued to proper specification. If you over tighten the bolts that hold the coil into place, damage to the coil housing will occur. Lastly, testing is not solely done by the vehicles on board computer but done with testing equipment. If only the on board computer was referenced and the engine was not tested the misfire history would not be present.
Due to the misfire in your engine, it was not run for more than a few seconds. Your vehicle was pushed in and out of our shop and not driven to ensure no further engine damage would occur.
If my tech was responsible for knocking off a vacuum line and created a vacuum leak and did not see it during reassembly, that I apologize for and he is responsible for.
As you can clearly see by the previous reviews we take our profession very serious. We are highly regarded within our community for our skills, honesty and integrity. We are not "google, shade tree nor back-yard" mechanics. We do not sell our services on ebay nor craigslist. I in fact told you a "repair" on that engine was not cost effective and in my opinion would be waste of your money. My mechanics are professionals and the mere fact alone of the above reviews reflect that.
Respectfully,
Jacki Skillender

Get Directions to Skillender's Service Center
Get Directions
RepairPal Certified Shops
An exclusive network of auto repair and maintenance shops that delivers:
  • Quality work, backed by a minimum 12-month/12,000-mile warranty
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Happy customers
Hours of Operation
Mon - Fri:8:00am to 5:30pm
Call Now:

(732) 391-4124

Auto Repair Experience

  1. Jacki Skillender, Owner
  2. Established 1994
  3. 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  4. 39 Years of Car Repair Experience