✓ RepairPal Certified
9356 S. State St
Sandy, UT 84070
View map and get directions
8:00am to 4:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 4:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
Call now:
(801) 528-7740

Auto Repair Experience

  • Philip Tomassian , Owner
  • Established 2013
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 21 Years of Car Repair Experience


Reliable Auto Mechanics is the new kid on the block with the right ideas. Phil Tomassian, the owner, is committed to building his business based on accurate diagnosis and reliable repairs. This RepairPal Certified team is committed to staying current and up to date on the latest in automotive technologies. This commitment to training, and the right tools to complete professional repairs on late model vehicles, make Reliable a great place for you and your vehicle. Their work is backed by a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, Saturday hours, early bird drop off, and a clean comfortable waiting area are all available for your convenience.


Auto Repair Experience

  • Philip Tomassian , Owner
  • Established 2013
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 21 Years of Car Repair Experience


  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Hybrid/Electric
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair


  • AAA Member Discount
  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Gas/Diesel
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Loaner Car
  • Military Discount
  • Open Saturday
  • Open Weekends
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Towing
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet


Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo

Message from the Shop

When a good mechanic isn't enough, you need someone Reliable!

Our philosophy is different. Here, the customer comes first. We mean it when we say our customer service is our top priority. We have some of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the city or even the state when it comes to auto repair. Come experience the Reliable difference.

We are your Complete Auto Repair destination. Mufflers, brakes, tires, emissions, or even a basic oil change. Our professional, courteous staff will tend to your vehicle's every need. Come relax in our lobby, have a fresh cup of coffee or a complimentary beverage and some snacks while you wait. We also have WiFi access and local shuttle service to get you where you need to go. Need a rental car? Don't worry, we can arrange that for you too!


Overall Rating

23 Verified Reviews

Customer Reviews

Verified CustomerJanuary 18, 2014

Really good service and quality work, also affordable.

Verified CustomerJanuary 18, 2014

Good, honest and friendly.

Verified CustomerJanuary 17, 2014

Clear information. Doing extra little things like changing 3 bulbs instead of the one included in my coupon. Great waiting area, with movies and even drinks!

Verified CustomerJanuary 14, 2014

I was in the shop for 5 hours waiting to get brakes and rotors. They were very courteous, but due to some unforeseen issues my waiting time doubled and my bill tripled.

Verified CustomerJanuary 06, 2014

The customer service was outstanding.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJanuary 02, 2014

Very friendly. Very knowledgeable, did what they said they would do. Stayed in touch all the way through.

Verified CustomerDecember 30, 2013

They quoted a price, completed the work when they said they would, and the charge was what they quoted. Friendly service and no issues/surprises.

Verified CustomerDecember 28, 2013

They were fast friendly and had excellent service.

Verified CustomerDecember 19, 2013

Great customer service, reasonable price, and did a good job.

Verified CustomerDecember 19, 2013

An employee there, Ken, was more focused on making sure it was known that he was right rather than providing high-class customer service. I went in there to get my timing belt replaced. After opening up the engine, they said it was fine and sold me on the three other belts instead. They put the engine back together and did the belts and gave us an estimated finish time of 2pm. We didn't get our car back until 5pm, and when we took it out on a ride, the engine light was on and the speedometer didn't work. We brought it back immediately, and all Ken did was reset the light and said it was fine. Turns out the speed sensor was wiped out and had to get replaced, which was an additional $300, including parts and labor, which we decided to spend at a more reliable auto mechanic (how ironic). Most normal mechanics, when replacing the belts, would take out the belts and give them to us in order to use as spares when the other ones break. Upon requesting for the belts, we noticed that the mechanic had cut the belts, instead of slipping them off. I've never seen such terrible protocol.

Reply from Reliable Auto Mechanics – ReliableAutoMechanicsFebruary 05, 2014

Hi Nathan,

I’m very sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here at Reliable Auto Mechanics. I’d like to take a moment to address your concerns and possibly clear up any miscommunications we may have had. First, we had approval from you for a repair that cost around $900 for the timing belt, water pump, and tensioners. When we got into the timing cover, which required nearly as many hours as actually changing the belt, we saw what looked like a brand new belt and water pump already installed. We called you upon noticing this, saved you all of the money on this repair and didn’t even charge any diagnostic hours. We then suggested other repairs that would give you more value for your dollar. You declined all of those repairs except for the drive belts on the vehicle, which we told you were on the verge of snapping. There is no point in us or anyone cutting a belt off, it doesn’t expedite a repair. When you cut a belt, you still need to move the tensioner to put a new belt on, and if you’re going to move a tensioner, the belt will loosen anyway. Your belts broke as we were working on them. I believe I was the one who explained to you in the first place that we would be giving your belts back to you, and I thought I already explained when you picked up the car that the belts were beyond hope, if I didn’t, I apologize for my oversight. No one took a knife to your belts, it’s pointless.

When you returned with your speed sensor code, we took our computer to the vehicle, reset the code, and sent you on your way. The reason we did this is that when we took apart the vehicle and got down to the timing belt, we had to move many electrical components out of the way and unplug them. Often, this causes the vehicle to throw codes that are not real. We did not want to recommend a repair to you based on a possible ghost in the computer system. So we reset your codes and asked you to bring it back if the code came back and we would work with it then. The diagnostic steps are there to save you money, just like we promised to diagnose your timing belt situation before changing it which saved you around $900. Again Nathan, I’m sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here, but I hope this clarifies to you what happened and that we wanted to serve you as we do all of our customers, to the very best and fairest of our ability.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerDecember 18, 2013

Service writer was very accommodating and polite. Drinks were offered. Service was fast. All went well.

Verified CustomerDecember 18, 2013

Comfortable waiting room, nice staff, good price.

Verified CustomerDecember 16, 2013

They took great care of my car.

Verified CustomerDecember 16, 2013

They were very helpful. They went above and beyond what was required. Very friendly. The only reason for not giving a 10 is that I got the package on a groupon and don't know what their full prices are.

Verified CustomerDecember 11, 2013

Quick and professional.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerDecember 09, 2013

Service was good.

Verified CustomerDecember 06, 2013

I was very impressed by the customer service of Reliable Auto Mechanics. They were great at explaining everything.

Verified CustomerDecember 04, 2013

Fast service. Didn't try to BS me on what was wrong with my truck or try to sale me extra stuff. Friendly honest people.

Verified CustomerDecember 03, 2013

It was quick and at a good price.

Verified CustomerNovember 27, 2013

The people was cheerful and treated me great!!! Was very honest to what the problem with my car was and gave me options on how to proceed.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerNovember 07, 2013

They were very friendly and very efficient with the service. They gave me advice on some things about my car rather than try to tell me I need this and that done. Overall I was very happy with my visit to Reliable Auto Mechanics.

Verified CustomerNovember 02, 2013

Personable - Great People - Good Service.

September 03, 2015

I took my 2002 Pontiac Grand Am in to a facility in Draper to get the safety and emissions completed. Emissions passed, safety passed everything but the parking brake. I took it home and looked at the cable adjustments and the little lever that causes the parking brake to engage when the cable pulls tension. Couldn't figure out a solution. I gave up and searched the web for a reliable shop that was close. I found Reliable Auto Mechanics and their great reviews on Google. I call them up and spoke with Chris. They got me in quick, took it apart and inspected it and said they would do a clean and adjust service for $90. An hour later, he informs me that it will need a new hardware kit (missing one of the metal dowel rods that sits on the end of the lever) for a total of $228 installed (he kindly removed the $90 clean and adjust). It is a $22 kit (tinyurl.com/o93djsh) and they sold it to me for $56 (nothing like 150% markup!!). They get everything installed the next day. When I go to pick it up Troy tells me everything is installed and ready to go but still not holding - it will need a new parking brake cable (the old one was very rusty). He said it was a $45 (it's actually only $19.99) for the part and more for the extra labor. I told him I was comfortable installing the cable myself. Get home and install in 10 minutes. Pull the parking brake, still the car doesn't hold. I proceed to take everything apart, pull the caliper, remove the rotor and come to find out the hardware kit was installed incorrectly - the metal dowel rods (entire reason it wasn't working in the first place!) were not installed so when you pull tension on the cable, it still doesn't engage the shoes to the inside of the rotor. I looked a little closer and realized there wasn't even any tension on the shoes mating to the new hardware pieces that they actually installed. The shoes were LITERALLY BOUNCING AROUND... I've posted a video on YouTube to show you what I mean. Here is the link: youtube.com/watch?v=qwMy…. Thank God this was just my parking brake assembly and not my actual brakes or I could've been in a serious accident. At this point I was furious. I bring it back it and show Chris the video and he says they are going to make it right (granted I already paid $228 for this service). He then tries to tell me that there really isn't anything that holds tension on the shoe - he is wrong - you need to adjust the sprocket until the shoes touch enough to stay in place - even one of the mechanics (to remain un-named) looked at me square in the eye and said you are 100% correct. Chris orders a new kit and says they are picking up the tab on this one (after they already marked up the first one 150% - I essentially already paid for 2.5 kits). An hour later, the kit shows up and it takes them 1 hour to install it (although I was billed for 2 hours of labor - funny math there). I go outside to get in my car and leave and the check engine light is on - I had just passed emission 4 days prior and there was no light on when I came in. They cleared the code and sent me home. I asked for a portion of my money back for the labor. Chris explained this request was above his pay grade and he would need to talk to Phil. I demanded to speak to Phil and Chris tried to call him and no answer. Today, 9/3 is 4 days later and I still have not received a phone call from Phil. I get a call from Chris today and they offer me a free oil change - what a joke. Likely costs them $10-12 total for an oil change and at this point, I don't think I could even trust them to do that right. Worst shop I've ever been to in my life - I am 29 years old and have owned a car since 15-1/2 and have worked on multiple friend's cars. If you want to leave a shop not fearing for your life, I would not recommend this shop.

Chris - you left Ken Garff because you said you cared about the customers. If this is the case, it is seriously time for you to leave Reliable Auto Mechanics (especially Phil) behind and pursue another opportunity elsewhere.

Reply from Reliable Auto Mechanics – ReliableAutoMechanicsSeptember 03, 2015

Hi Andrew,
First, I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience you've been through at Reliable Auto Mechanics (this is Phil, btw, the owner). I have been apprised of the situation with your Grand Am, and everything that has been communicated to you through Chris has been with my approval. I didn't want to further confuse the situation by adding another face and thought you would feel more comfortable dealing with the people you already knew. If you're interested in meeting with me personally, I'm more than happy to arrange that as well.

I'd like to try to explain what we found in your parking brake assembly. When we looked into the brake assembly, we found that while things were moving fairly smoothly, there was a lack of engagement due to problems with the hardware kit inside the rotor. When we pulled apart the rotor, the brake shoe did more or less what you've described in your complaint. Although I can't be completely sure until I can get the video working. The tension holds it all together with the rotor in place, and once that is gone, it comes apart pretty easily, this is just how the assembly is designed. Inside the assembly, there was definitely a pin missing that happened to not come with the kit itself. This was a fault of the part that we had delivered and has since been rectified with our parts house. When we were made aware of that issue, we immediately, and at no cost to you, corrected the mistake. As of now, your parking brake is engaging and we did fix the problem. Although, I admit it was at a great inconvenience to you.

To address your other problems, all businesses mark their sales up, it's how we stay in business. There is a part price that you will pay at a wholesaler, and an installed price that you pay when someone installs the part for you. You don't expect to pay grocery store prices when you go to a steakhouse, and the same can be said about a mechanic's shop. We need to pay our rent and expenses, after all. I'm not trying to be flippant with you, but this *is* a business, and while I certainly can't (and won't) tell you that you will never find a better price than what we can offer, I can tell you that I believe we put out quality work and you won't find a better value. In fact, your parking brake system now carries with it our 24 month/24,000 mile parts and labor warranty that is good nationwide. If anything happens within that time to our repair of your vehicle, we will cover the cost of the repair, and towing to the nearest facility where our warranty is honored. Those values are certainly not something you get if you pay the wholesale price and install it yourself.

The check engine light was checked by Chris, and the code came back with a fault in your evap system. I'm not sure if that's totally clear to you or anyone else reading this, but that has to do with the evaporative controls in your fuel system. It indicates there is some kind of leak, even a tiny pinhole, in what is supposed to be a completely airtight system. To have a check engine light come on regarding an evap system fault when we worked on your brakes, I'm sure you can agree, has nothing to do with us or anything we did.

In the end, I realize that you have been inconvenienced by the lengthy repair and having to come back more than one time to get the repair right. While it wasn't necessarily a fault of ours, though I'm sure it could be argued that the technician could have avoided this problem if they had realized that the small part was missing, I am definitely trying to make this right for you. My understanding is that we did take care of the brake system, again at an inconvenience to you, but in the end, the problem was resolved. That said, I feel that we did earn the money paid on the repair. My solution to this was that I authorized Chris to give you a free oil change, our cost on an oil change is about $26, not $10-$12, we really don't make any money on just fast lube oil changes. Additionally, I authorized him to offer you a free diagnosis on your check engine light (a $99 value). Again, not because we are at fault, but because I understand you have been inconvenienced and I want to make that right for you.

In the end, it is inevitable that from time to time a customer will be inconvenienced by things that come up, whether through our fault or the fault of a part house. I can't tell you that these things will never happen again, because I assure you that they will. We work on thousands of vehicles, and sometimes things like this happen. All I can do to maintain our reputation of excellent customer service is to reasonably make it right for you, the customer. I hope you understand where we're coming from, and I certainly hope to serve you in the future so that you can add your voice to the multitude of happy customers that we have built over the years at Reliable Auto Mechanics.

1 verified customer did not leave comments but provided this rating:
by 1 verified reviewer
Get Directions to Reliable Auto Mechanics
RepairPal Certified

RepairPal Certified shops pass a rigorous 42-point annual inspection by our master mechanics for quality work and fair prices.

  • High quality repair
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Real, verified reviews
  • Current expert training
  • Warranty on repairs
  • Great customer service