» » » Reliable Auto Mechanics

Reliable Auto Mechanics

9356 S. State St, Sandy, UT 84070 Map & directions

Call Now: (801) 758-5568

See more real customer reviews

About Reliable Auto Mechanics

RepairPal’s Comprehensive Evaluation

RepairPal Quality Index (?)
Customer Satisfaction (Net Promoter Score®) (?)
Based on interviews with 25+ recent customers
Avg Repair Shop
American Express
Lowe's
JetBlue
Apple
92
Technical Ability (?)
97
Tools & Equipment (?)
91
Customer Service (?)
97
Customer Conveniences (?)
12 months / 12,000 miles
Parts & Labor Warranty (?)

Assessment Summary

Reliable Auto Mechanics is the new kid on the block with the right ideas. Phil Tomassian, the owner, is committed to building his business based on accurate diagnosis and reliable repairs. This RepairPal Certified team is committed to staying current and up to date on the latest in automotive technologies. This commitment to training, and the right tools to complete professional repairs on late model vehicles, make Reliable a great place for you and your vehicle. Their work is backed by a 12-month / 12,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, Saturday hours, early bird drop off, and a clean comfortable waiting area are all available for your convenience.

Message from the Shop

When a good mechanic isn't enough, you need someone Reliable!

Our philosophy is different. Here, the customer comes first. We mean it when we say our customer service is our top priority. We have some of the highest customer satisfaction ratings in the city or even the state when it comes to auto repair. Come experience the Reliable difference.

We are your Complete Auto Repair destination. Mufflers, brakes, tires, emissions, or even a basic oil change. Our professional, courteous staff will tend to your vehicle's every need. Come relax in our lobby, have a fresh cup of coffee or a complimentary beverage and some snacks while you wait. We also have WiFi access and local shuttle service to get you where you need to go. Need a rental car? Don't worry, we can arrange that for you too!

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Audi BMW
Buick Cadillac Chevrolet
Chrysler Dodge FIAT
Ford GMC Geo
Honda Hummer Hyundai
Infiniti Isuzu Jaguar
Jeep Kia Land Rover
Lexus Lincoln Mazda
Mercedes-Benz Mercury Mini
Mitsubishi Nissan Oldsmobile
Plymouth Pontiac Porsche
Ram Saab Saturn
Scion Smart Subaru
Suzuki Toyota Volkswagen
Volvo

Quality Affiliations

Specialties

AC/Heating Alignment Check Engine Light Diagnosis
Hybrid/Electric Oil Change & Lube Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair
Smog/Emissions Testing Timing Belts Tire Sales/Repair Transmission Repair

Amenities

AAA Member Discount Car Delivery Car Pickup/Dropoff Child Friendly
Coffee Early Bird Dropoff Financing Free Estimates
Free Inspection Gas/Diesel Heated Waiting Room Military Discount
Open Saturday Open Weekends Rental Car Senior Discount
Service Guarantee Shopping Nearby Shuttle Towing
Warranty Accepted Wireless Internet

Customer Reviews 23 verified reviews

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 18, 2014

Good, honest and friendly.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 18, 2014

Really good service and quality work, also affordable.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 17, 2014

Clear information. Doing extra little things like changing 3 bulbs instead of the one included in my coupon. Great waiting area, with movies and even drinks!

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 14, 2014

I was in the shop for 5 hours waiting to get brakes and rotors. They were very courteous, but due to some unforeseen issues my waiting time doubled and my bill tripled.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 06, 2014

The customer service was outstanding.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
January 02, 2014

Very friendly. Very knowledgeable, did what they said they would do. Stayed in touch all the way through.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 30, 2013

They quoted a price, completed the work when they said they would, and the charge was what they quoted. Friendly service and no issues/surprises.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 28, 2013

They were fast friendly and had excellent service.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 19, 2013

Great customer service, reasonable price, and did a good job.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 19, 2013

An employee there, Ken, was more focused on making sure it was known that he was right rather than providing high-class customer service. I went in there to get my timing belt replaced. After opening up the engine, they said it was fine and sold me on the three other belts instead. They put the engine back together and did the belts and gave us an estimated finish time of 2pm. We didn't get our car back until 5pm, and when we took it out on a ride, the engine light was on and the speedometer didn't work. We brought it back immediately, and all Ken did was reset the light and said it was fine. Turns out the speed sensor was wiped out and had to get replaced, which was an additional $300, including parts and labor, which we decided to spend at a more reliable auto mechanic (how ironic). Most normal mechanics, when replacing the belts, would take out the belts and give them to us in order to use as spares when the other ones break. Upon requesting for the belts, we noticed that the mechanic had cut the belts, instead of slipping them off. I've never seen such terrible protocol.

Flag This
Reply from Reliable Auto Mechanics -  ReliableAutoMechanicsFebruary 05, 2014 09:22

Hi Nathan,

I’m very sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here at Reliable Auto Mechanics. I’d like to take a moment to address your concerns and possibly clear up any miscommunications we may have had. First, we had approval from you for a repair that cost around $900 for the timing belt, water pump, and tensioners. When we got into the timing cover, which required nearly as many hours as actually changing the belt, we saw what looked like a brand new belt and water pump already installed. We called you upon noticing this, saved you all of the money on this repair and didn’t even charge any diagnostic hours. We then suggested other repairs that would give you more value for your dollar. You declined all of those repairs except for the drive belts on the vehicle, which we told you were on the verge of snapping. There is no point in us or anyone cutting a belt off, it doesn’t expedite a repair. When you cut a belt, you still need to move the tensioner to put a new belt on, and if you’re going to move a tensioner, the belt will loosen anyway. Your belts broke as we were working on them. I believe I was the one who explained to you in the first place that we would be giving your belts back to you, and I thought I already explained when you picked up the car that the belts were beyond hope, if I didn’t, I apologize for my oversight. No one took a knife to your belts, it’s pointless.

When you returned with your speed sensor code, we took our computer to the vehicle, reset the code, and sent you on your way. The reason we did this is that when we took apart the vehicle and got down to the timing belt, we had to move many electrical components out of the way and unplug them. Often, this causes the vehicle to throw codes that are not real. We did not want to recommend a repair to you based on a possible ghost in the computer system. So we reset your codes and asked you to bring it back if the code came back and we would work with it then. The diagnostic steps are there to save you money, just like we promised to diagnose your timing belt situation before changing it which saved you around $900. Again Nathan, I’m sorry you feel negatively about your experience with us here, but I hope this clarifies to you what happened and that we wanted to serve you as we do all of our customers, to the very best and fairest of our ability.

Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 18, 2013

Service writer was very accommodating and polite. Drinks were offered. Service was fast. All went well.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 18, 2013

Comfortable waiting room, nice staff, good price.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 16, 2013

They were very helpful. They went above and beyond what was required. Very friendly. The only reason for not giving a 10 is that I got the package on a groupon and don't know what their full prices are.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 16, 2013

They took great care of my car.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 11, 2013

Quick and professional.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 09, 2013

Service was good.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 06, 2013

I was very impressed by the customer service of Reliable Auto Mechanics. They were great at explaining everything.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 04, 2013

Fast service. Didn't try to BS me on what was wrong with my truck or try to sale me extra stuff. Friendly honest people.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
December 03, 2013

It was quick and at a good price.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
November 27, 2013

The people was cheerful and treated me great!!! Was very honest to what the problem with my car was and gave me options on how to proceed.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
November 07, 2013

They were very friendly and very efficient with the service. They gave me advice on some things about my car rather than try to tell me I need this and that done. Overall I was very happy with my visit to Reliable Auto Mechanics.

Flag This
Reliable Auto Mechanics
Verified Customer
November 02, 2013

Personable - Great People - Good Service.

Flag This

1 verified customer did not leave comments but provided this rating:

(1) by 1 verified reviewer
Get Directions to Reliable Auto Mechanics
Get Directions
RepairPal Certified Shops
An exclusive network of auto repair and maintenance shops that delivers:
  • Quality work, backed by a minimum 12-month/12,000-mile warranty
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Happy customers
Hours of Operation
Mon - Fri:8:00am to 6:00pm
Sat:8:00am to 4:00pm
Sun:CLOSED
Call Now:

(801) 758-5568

Auto Repair Experience

  1. Philip Tomassian , Owner
  2. Established 2013
  3. 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  4. 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  5. 21 Years of Car Repair Experience