»

Reviews for Nissan Pathfinder years:

  1. (4)
  2. (2)
  3. (4)
  4. (1)
  5. (2)
  6. (3)
  7. (2)
  8. (9)
  9. (2)
  10. (2)
  11. (1)
  12. (5)
  13. (3)
  14. (2)
  15. (3)
  16. (5)
  17. (4)
  18. (2)
  19. (2)
  20. (1)
  21. (0)
  22. (1)
  23. (0)

Owners' Reviews

Nissan Pathfinder Reviews and Owner Comments

 
60 Reviews
Nissan PathfinderOwner Reviews (60 reviews)
  • 2006 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Garnet Valley, PA, January 14, 2014 11:08
    I Need Help. have a 2006 2,5D and have the engine light comming on every time i put my foot down and go over 4000rpms then the car go in to Save mode and i have to stop and restart to clear.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Nissan Pathfinder
    dwight p, Baltimore, MD, November 15, 2013 12:06
     Enthusiast
    I purchased this vehicle in 1990 not knowing what I was in for. Being in the marines I traveled all over the country in my truck and back. today it has 235,000 miles on it and it'ss still going strong. The body is showing a bit worn but it still holds up well. I just incountered my 1st major issue with accelerating and it's sputtering. What ever it is I will get it fix because it has to be cheaper than buying another one, unless I can find another 1990. This was a great year for the Pathfinder. What ever Nissan did back then they need to do it again.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Kincheloe, MI, October 03, 2013 07:40
    94 nissan partfinder 3.0 v6 wont start plenty of fuel no spark we went mudding and it died in the middle of a puddel and sat for a full day till we could get a bigger truck to tow me home no other truck could get to me but my dads jeep i got it home and no spark ive replaced the plugs, wires, starter, ign moduel, and the coil and still nothin my cap and roter was replaced before we went out does any one know what the problem could be or how to fix it
    Flag This
  • 1992 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Compton, CA, March 13, 2013 18:42
    my right headlight is not working on my 92 path finder the only one that works is the left
    Flag This
  • 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Rochester, NH, February 11, 2013 16:55
    Cheesy latch on storage compartment near shifter broke. Brakes had caliper hang up and damage rotor resulting in need to replace them. Drivers side rear window does not go up/down with driver front button. Exhaust system seems to rust pretty heavily but has not been replaced yet. Water lines for rear heater are leaking costs $500 to replace with a kit. 1200 for all new lines. Other than the unnecessarily expensive cost of parts, it's been a good vehicle. Maybe not for the price though.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Independence, MO, December 14, 2012 22:13
    I have owned my 1990 Nissan Pahtfinder SE v6 5spd 4x4 since I purchased it used in 98. It had 65k when I bought it. This Pathfinder looked and drove as If it had just come off the showroom floor when I purchased it. The lady I purchased it from bought it new and constantly kept it garaged. All maintenance had been done at the dealership she purchased from and on schedule. The only repairs made were brakes, tires, tune up, oil/fluid and filter changes- (recommended maintenance). Since I've had it all I've done is regular maintenance, a muffler, tires, tune-up, battery, 4 wheel alignment, wiper blades and a high beam bulb. The engine, clutch, tansmission, axles, differencials, transfer case, all the power windows, doors, electric mirrors front, rear wipers, A/C, defrosters, cassette/stereo,etc have always worked perfectly. It now has 284,000 miles on it, has been all over this country and deep into Guerro Mexico and back. I drive it 70 miles round trip everday to and from work, and on very rare occasions I've needed to push it above 90 MPH on the freeway to keep from getting run over. It gets around 16 city 18 hwy with 4.88 gears. I try and keep the tachometer below 3500 RPM at all times (unless driving 90 miles an hour, which has only been very few times over the past year. I let it warm up to operating temps on frigid early mornings before placing a load on the engine (driving it). Every three months I do all day maintenance jobs on it-oil, filters, drain all gear cases and refill, flush radiator, whatever is needed. Peole that know the Nissan can't believe how well it runs and handles. It stops on a dime, maneuvers in and out of rush hour trafic quickly with excellent response. This Pathfinder is "tight" in every way, absolutely no rattles, squeaks,or mushy handling in curves, or dips in the roads, even at higher speeds. The only issue on this vehicle is rust on the left rocker panel and right and left 10 inch long panels behind the rear doors towards the rear wheel openings. The wheel wells aren't rusted, only the left rocker panel and the "ell" (L)panels just behind the rear doors. The rust is due to living in the salt belt where the roads are salted a couple months each winter. I was a service manager for Buick-Gmc from 1986-1997 and had heard and read that Japan built their best Hondas, Toyotas and Nissans from 89 to 93 in trying to capture the American SUV and minivan market at least from 89-91. I don't know how true that is, although I did read it in several articles. That was the main reason I bought the 1990 Pathfinder. I puchased a new Pathfinder in 2004. By the time it had 80k on it I had already replaced the automatic transmission and a new shortblock. After replacing the shortblock we sold it.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Oklahoma City, OK, May 09, 2012 16:49
    2005 nissan pathfinder...total electrical system burnout 7 days after replaceing the rely switch module! What would cause this?? Truck has 102,000 miles on it and has had no major issues until now.Nissan is saying anti-freez has gotten into the transmission due to the electrical motor malfunction and it is no longer any good. The car is still in virtually good shape, but with an est.$10,000 repair bill what is a person to do!!
    Flag This
  • 1999 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Tampa, FL, February 12, 2012 06:25
    My 1999 Pathfinder has 315,000. Still runs great. i bought it 2 years ago for a measly $500. it had 279k on it. this truck is still nice looking and runs awesome.no major probs.
    Flag This
  • 2011 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Hershey, PA, February 04, 2012 07:32
    My 02 Pathfinder has been a bundle of mixed emotions since day one. I have the 5 sp manual with almost all of the offered bells and whistles except leather. I purchased it in 06 with 70k on it. It's gone through oil since day one and has gotten progressively worse over the last 6 yrs. It drove and looked great up until about 6 months ago. It rattles and has developed a shudder which I think might be the clutch finally going. I can't complain about that considering I'm near 140k on the first clutch. The various heat shields have been rattling for the last year or two no matter how many sections I bend and cut off. It still looks good, the paint etc has held up well. I haven't done any maintenance on it because I've always expected the oil issue to become a huge problem but 6 years later it still runs well, I just have to remember to add oil every two fill ups. My major gripes and reasons why I probably won't buy another is the engine oil issue. The exhaust is garbage and I've been patching and repairing leaks etc for the last five years, I've been told that the pipes are stainless so they don't rust but they use carbon steel at all the welds and that's where it leaks. They were right b/c I have a leak at almost every location they welded a hanger. Why Nissan bothers spending the money to use stainless pipe only to have the system need to be replaced almost as often as a conventional system is beyond me. I've never wanted to sink the money into a permanent exhaust fix because of the engine oil situation. All and all it's been a weird relationship. I like it more than almost all of the other vehicles I have owned in the past from a driving perspective and I'm struggling to find something I like more to replace it with but the lurking major problems that have raised their ugly heads from day one of ownership has made it impossible for me to truly enjoy the vehicle as I'm always waiting for that catastrophic failure that luckily has not yet come. Oh yeah, I almost left out the way to common disc changer issue, the disc changer has been a problem since day one as well. Other cars I've owned were 98 Honda CRV (never a problem but a very boring car), 94 Isuzu Trooper (no problems but always felt it would tip over) 88 Acura Integra (my favorite up until I got the Pathfinder,had similar feeling as far as having everything I wanted but without any oil or rediculously expensive exhaust issues). 80 VW Vanagon Westfalia ( fun but lots of issues). A couple other vehs that are not note worthy.
    Flag This
  • 1992 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Liberty Hill, TX, February 01, 2012 06:04
    I paid $300 bucks for a 92 SE 4x4 3.0 and have beat it mercilesly as a toy for my property, Everything worked on it before I turned it over in my creek, even then it started and I drove it back to the house. 227K on odometer. I feel like I stole it as it is extreemly rugged and flies off of my homemade ramp like it has wings, I have had it over 3 feet in the air and it just takes it. I am putting bigger tires on it and turning it into a rock crawler.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Young America, MN, October 28, 2011 11:44
    1987 nissan pathfinder 2dr v-6 automatic does not have air cond.. added aftermarket cruise control reliable vehicle..now approaching 200,000kms. regular maintanance travelled western canadian provinces..to eastern seaboard states-side now going thru second child..had suv since 6 months old...NO regrets body showing rust...34 yrs old..still runs like a top had sent letters to nissan about underpower of engine...other options which are on all today...)))
    Flag This
  • 2002 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, San Rafael, CA, September 04, 2011 13:10
    Bought my 02 pathfinder used in Salt Lake City in 2007 with 60k miles. Lucked out that this had 2 owners, both times considered a "fleet vehicle". I LOVE THIS CAR! literally I'm at 137,000 in 2011, I'm about to change a spark plugs for the first time, I just had the brakes replaced, the "original" brakes that were still at 40%. I also just rplaced the struts and shocks (preventive). Had to get a computer software upgrade for the timing and idling once, which nissan didn't charge me for. I've had no problems other than what would fly off the road to hit me somewhere. Has timing chain instead of belt, and have never had to change it. Nissan rocks. Only problems- tires expensive, service to change plugs expensive $300, so I'm doing it myself today, interior arm rest upholstry cracked and broke in sun. Other than those, I am the happiest I've ever been with a car with my pathfinder!
    Flag This
  • 2002 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Kohler, WI, June 14, 2011 11:06
    158,000 bad original weld gave way and Nissan woudl do nothing. Dealer estimate was over $1,000.00 to repair. Passenger front window is difficult to go up and down corrosion starting at top center of windshield wife's 99 Honda Accord - same mileage - is STILL close to perfect lesson learned - BUY A HONDA
    Flag This
  • 1993 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Eastpointe, MI, June 05, 2011 19:57
    I bought a 93 pathfinder as my second car to be more winter capable than the 1st. I bought it a few months ago with 201,4xxx miles on it and it now has 202,100. I was not thrilled or even comfortable with buying a foreign car, but these older Nissans were practically the only cars on the market at the time with the standard option being a V6, stick, and 4x4. And this was the only car in my area in my price range with these options, so I snagged it up. Besides all the electrical issues caused by the previous owner screwing with everything, it is a good car. The body is solid and any small rust spots I sanded and repainted. I did however, a couple weeks into owning the truck find a hole in the driver's floorboard, which I was not happy about.I have seen though that the bumpers on these cars are very good at rusting out, which mine has already started to do. In contrast to the 91 s10 I had before, which was full of body rust but had near new condition bumpers. The engine also seems underpowered and not as strong as I would expect for a SEFI 3.0 v6.(everything on my engine runs as good as it should) This car also has a horribly geared 5th gear. At 70 mph, the engine is running near 3500 rpm. Not much of an overdrive. Overall, it is a reliable car and that is why I bought it because I will most likely be putting over 400k miles on it by the next 6 years. However, I have also experienced that if you have to replace ANYTHING on this truck, don't make other plans for a day or so. For ex. most of the sparkplugs are burried and almost unreachable or grabable. If you have electrical issues to sort out, Nissan did a wonderful job sticking tons of relays all over the car and hidden too. I would recomend buying one. But do an inspection on it like you work for a jail. Check every and any control, feature or button this truck has and make sure they all work. Check the frame and test it, looks can be deceiving as I found out. As I have heard before, Nissans are great, long lasting and running vehicles, but when parts break, have fun!
    Flag This
  • 2006 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Minneapolis, MN, May 26, 2011 07:13
    Great Vehicle... Would recomend to anyone who needs a mid sized SUV with plenty of pulling power...
    Flag This
  • 2006 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Allamuchy, NJ, April 03, 2011 05:40
    We have a 2006 Pathfinder and having been experiencing a rumbling sound when driveing at about 40 to 50 miles per hour. After reading on the internet it looks like we are not alone with this problem and it is going to cost us any where from 4,000 - to 7,000 to fix. Will never buy another nissan!
    Flag This
  • 1998 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Charlotte, NC, March 24, 2011 08:33
    I bought my pathfinder in 2004 with 30,000 miles and now it has 150,000. Best purchase I have made, runs solid and has taken a lot of abuse. It has its issues that you typically read about for this model, the exhaust has broken in 3 places, the rear bushings went out a little prematurely, the braking leaves a little to be desired as well as the engine power and the check engine light almost never turns off despite a lack of problems. I consider all of these minor issues due to age and the fact that no car will be perfect in all areas. I have taken many 1000 mile plus trips in it and never had an issue. It always starts strong and has never stranded me. It is solid off road and in the snow for a small suv and the 4 wheel drive has been solid and trustworthy. Considering the time frame it was designed and built you wont find a more reliable better built vehicle. I love it and look forward to many more miles.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Johnson City, TN, February 18, 2011 08:35
    Bought my 1996 LE used with 39K miles. It now has over 340K miles and just cracked the left exhaust mainfold. $500 one day repair job but still better than a car payment. Replaced the transmission with a used 1997 model ($ 1000.00) at the 260K point. This has been the best car I have ever owned. It has always had Mobil One Synthetic and OEM oil filters. I highly recommend this to others. I am looking for another used 96 - 2000 for a second car. I have literally run this one all over the US. 340K is only 20K short of driving to the moon or 85 times around the equator.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Osseo, MN, February 17, 2011 10:05
    Overall good. Issues I've had: 1) Bad fuel-level sensor means Check Engine Soon light is always on, and I have no idea how much gas is in the car. 500-800 to fix. 2) The climate control system is terrible. You have no way to control the temperature of the breeze coming out of the vents. If you set it at 65 degrees, it could pour out hellish heat, or it could pour out cold air based entirely on what its not-so-brilliant computer thinks it should do. They need to simplify. Let the driver determine how hot/cold they want the air to be. Other than those 2 things, its been good. 112,000 miles (though I've had to replace the serpentine belt twice).
    Flag This
  • 1990 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Travelers Rest, SC, February 15, 2011 16:02
    I bought my 1990 pathfinder XE 4x4 in 08 with 240k miles. it ran like a top then and runs great now with 320k miles. ive yet to spend a dime on it other then regular services, brakes and tires. i'ts a very solid truck and has a good ride. I'll drive it till the wheels fall off and then look for another.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Mount Holly, NJ, January 28, 2011 17:46
    Like Pathfinder models since 2006, the amount of interior cargo space (especially with the rear passenger seats down), is nice. The 3rd row seating is ok for younger kids, since the leg room is pretty tight. The Pathfinder is not a fuel economic vehicle. On average, city driving, stop & go short trips, will probably give you about 12-14 miles per gallon
    Flag This
  • 1991 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Loveland, CO, January 03, 2011 12:01
    My 91 pathfinder has to be the greatest vehicle I have ever owned. It was my first car I got it with 26,000 miles on it and now I'm working on 400,000 and still running strong with only general maintenance and the swap out of the belts and water pump. Yea mines beat up around the edges because of four wheeling. But for being stock it has been amazing. My final say is if u can find one that's been Taken care of buy it.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Ellington, CT, December 28, 2010 15:10
    If your 2005 to 2010 Nissan Pathfinder has less than 65,000 miles on it then please read this review. 1. Transmission cooler is in the radiator. It has a good chance of leaking around 70,000 miles or so. When it does your transmission fluid is now mixing with your radiator fluid. New transmission and radiator 5,000 / 6,000 2. Climate controls for 07 pathfinder just don't make sense. What ever happened to keep it simple. 3. Seats are stiff and not great for long distance. 4. Car is very good in snow and has lots of power for towing.
    Flag This
  • 1991 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Kingston, TN, December 20, 2010 13:17
    i love my 1991 pathfinder although it needs a little work it drives smooth the brakes on the other hand arent so good ill be going around 30 mph and it takes it forever to get down to 5 mph and the heater and air conditioner are also pretty bad although all of that i love it if someone tries to take my car away from me they will have to prie it from my cold dead fingers
    Flag This
  • 2001 Nissan Pathfinder
    matte, Oakland, CA, December 10, 2010 08:11
    Profile_thumbnail
     Master
    Our Nissan Pathfinder has been exemplary. No major problems, minimal repair and maintenance costs for a car with 105,000 miles. We have only done spark plugs and oil changes, and drive belts on schedule. Brake pads are expensive because of the 4 wheel drive.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
    SLF1, Elkhart, IN, December 05, 2010 13:41
     Rookie
    Do not buy one! I am replacing the radiator and transmission at 56,000 miles! It is still under warranty but Nissan is not standing by their word or product.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Bozeman, MT, November 28, 2010 07:24
    Overall my pathfinder has been great. I bought it with 14k and it now has 121k, I did have to put a new exhaust on it at 80k which ive heard is very common with this year. All in all its been great only complaint is gas mileage which i wish was a little better. Id buy another one without a doubt.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Lake Forest, CA, November 28, 2010 07:24
    I've had my 1995 Nissan Pathfinder since it was brand new it now has 250,000 miles on it, that's like to the moon and on the way back, and it still runs like new. I've owned many cars before, during and now, it is hands down the absolute best vehicle I've ever owned.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Nissan Pathfinder
    ryanvcangco, Fremont, CA, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    Overall, I have been happy with my Nissan Pathfinder for the last 12 plus years I've had it. Given it has ~190k miles on it it still runs as well as it did when I first got it. The only parts I have changed have been O2 censors, timing belt, starter, battery, and water pump - due to the parts nearing the end of their life expectancy. The core engine (drive train, A/C, radiator, etc) are still the original and running well. There are only two things that I'd prefer would have been better with my truck. 1) Engine horsepower. This was the first model of the pathfinder with a unibody and they retained the older version of the engine with only 176 hp versus the 200 plus it has now. Though I've rarely needed to pull something heavy the extra hp would have helped going up the steep lake tahoe roads with 5 adults and tons of luggage. 2) Outside noise. At top speeds the wind noise going by the driver side window gets a bit annoying. I've gotten use to it but often times people who drive my truck for the first time comment about it. I think Nissan Pathfinder was one of the better made SUVs in the market at its time.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Nissan Pathfinder
    Mapk, Fullerton, CA, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    An excellent vehicle upgrade with this new body frame. We were looking to get a Pathfinder based off the overwhelming great reviews, and we're glad we did. We love it! The air conditioner controls are a bit whack, but we survive.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Nissan Pathfinder
    starsire79, Nampa, ID, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    I have a 1999 Nissan Pathfinder that I bought used with 70000 miles on it. it has 140000 now and runs great! never left me stranded no major mechanical issues just basic maintenance. I would never buy another brand of suv. Nissan really knows how to build reliable cars
    Flag This
  • 2001 Nissan Pathfinder
    ksdorr, Simsbury, CT, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    Basically and extremely reliable SUV. I have had some problems with the front brakes. Lots of vibration through the steering wheel etc when applied- even after they had been replaced. Must be a much more complex problem than simply replacing the pads.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Nissan Pathfinder
    radermike, Wayland, MI, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    Excellent running SUV. Body has no visible rust at 170K. Way under engined...even for a six cylinder. Starts fine and gets good gas mileage for a 4x4 SUV. Drives and steers very well, comfortable vehicle to take trips in. Overall an 8 out of 10.
    Flag This
  • 2009 Nissan Pathfinder
    turboram33, Hollywood, FL, November 28, 2010 07:24
     Enthusiast
    I bought a 2010 Nissan Pathfinder. It's been great. I bought it in Florida and drove it to Arizona and towed a 6x12 U-haul trailer filled we stuff. It towed it flawlessly. That 4.0l engine has a lot of power and still delivers pretty good gas mileage. It's firm suspension give it good stability on the road and off road. Love it!! The only thing I wish was for a little more second row leg room... That's it!!
    Flag This
  • 2001 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Bonney Lake, WA, November 28, 2010 07:24
    I love my pathfinder, I have crashed it a couple times by going into a ditch or I hit ice and spun out of control went over a curb and was stopped by a rock wall but then drove off like nothing had happenned, this suv likes the abuse and it never stops I just keep up with all the maintinece
    Flag This
  • 2001 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Mesa, AZ, November 28, 2010 07:24
    I have nearly 300,000 miles on my pathfinder and it continues to run without a flaw. I have done very little except regular oil changes. I never even had to change the spark plugs. The rear stablizer bushings needed replacing and I took it to a shop to press in the bushings, rather than buying the whole assembly. The tow package is exceptional too. I had the ball hitch on the tow bar and was rear-ended. It buckled the frame and caused the front and rear doors to get squeezed. My insurance company totalled the vehicle so I bought it back and had a shop with a frame puller give it a pull. Everything pulled right back into place and I have since put another 40,000 miles on the car. I get many wonderful comments on the body and the looks. In a few words, this vehicle is the best vehicle I ever owned bar none. I love it.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Annandale, VA, November 28, 2010 07:24
    leased a new 2008 nissan pathfinder v8 three years ago. its been a wonderful experience.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Milwaukee, WI, November 28, 2010 07:24
    my 1997 Pathfinder is junk. It was in several accidents before being sold to me and I didn't know that. I've had nothing but problems with it and now I can't get it to pass some stupid drive cycle for the emissions test.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Beverly Hills, CA, November 28, 2010 07:24
    excellent car very few problems.....love it ..so reliable...
    Flag This
  • 2000 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Roswell, GA, November 28, 2010 07:24
    good cars, but the 3.5L engine is more more powerful and fun.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Louisville, KY, November 28, 2010 07:23
    I bought my 1997 pathfinder since 2002,it runs real good,the only thing I did ,is put new starter,a battery,timing belt,new spark plugs,I drove it everywhere,it runs like new,never left me on the road,I will never sell it as long as I live.I do change oil on a regular basis,the I just changed the tires and breaks about a year ago.the tires that came with it I put over 60.000 miles,I since I bought it it had like 80.000 miles,now 157.000.it is a good suv..
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Russellville, AL, November 28, 2010 07:23
    i have a problem with tect in the dash, it's going crazy???
    Flag This
  • 1995 Nissan Pathfinder
    azdesertdancer, Phoenix, AZ, November 28, 2010 07:23
     Enthusiast
    I love my truck, but it has some "quirks" that drive me crazy. The a/c never gets quite cool enough, which is an issue when it's 112 outside and you have a 45-minute drive at four in the afternoon. The fact that it's black with charcoal leather probably doesn't help either when it comes to cooling off. I've driven a 25-foot moving van with a better turning radius. Don't know if they were going for stability to compensate for the higher center of gravity or what, but it takes a full cul-de-sac to make a u-turn And the least significant -- and most annoying -- who on earth decided to put the cup holders in the armrest??? You have to flip it up in order to put a drink there, which rubs against the elbow and requires a contortionist to remove. On the plus side, it is very comfortable. The first year I had it, I spent weekends driving 800mi round trip to see an ailing family member, and I never had backaches or discomfort from the trip, unlike my previous vehicle. It doesn't get great gas mileage, but it's not terrible either - I average about 20 - 22 in the city. I can fit my gear, my teen, and my dogs for long trips, and nobody complains about lack of legroom. Overall this has been a great ride for the last 7 years, and I plan to keep her for at least another 100K. '95 XE 4X4 AT with 204K miles.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Newport News, VA, November 28, 2010 07:23
    Both of the cars I owned are Nissan Passfinder. The older one is 1997. It has 215,000 miles on it but it runs like new.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Nissan Pathfinder
    Wally Pop, Greencastle, PA, November 28, 2010 07:22
     Enthusiast
    I purchased this 4-Wheel Drive Pathfinder (LE) new from the dealership in Dec. of 2000 and have since driven it 260,000 miles. Other than routine maintenance with oil changes every 5,000 miles, tires, fan belt, brakes,etc. I have only had to replace an oil cooling device ($150). My only major dissatisfaction with the vehicle has been with the brakes. I have experienced very pronounced vibration on the front-end, whenever I apply the brakes, especially when I'm driving down a steep grade at moderate to high speed, Although I replaced the brake pads and had the rotors turned a couple of different times, that has only ever helped for a very brief period and then it's back to the same old problem. I can't help but wonder if there is not something defective within the brake system itself; such as, different braking pressures on one or more of the wheels. The problem has been there forever. Another issue that has arisen only within the past 50,000 miles is a hesitation in the engine whenever accelerating via passing gear while going up a mountain. This condition is normally not appreciable until the vehicle reaches a speed of 70 mph. Have tried fuel injector cleaner, tune-up,and fuel filter, but to no avail. This brings me to my most disturbing issue of all, which really has nothing to do with the vehicle itself, but rather the dealership's service department, or should I say, "lack" of service department. I have had multiple disappointments in attemping to resolve several other minor issues, which are too numerous and lengthy to elaborate upon here, but suffice it to say that I have virtually no confidence at this point that theses people know what they are doing, even to the extent I have to question whether much of what they said they did to correct the issue ever really got done at all. The two issues I discussed in detail earlier are only two of approimately ten I had asked them to work on but for which I had poor or no results from their efforts.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Binghamton, NY, November 28, 2010 07:17
    Best Vehicle I have ever owned by far. And I have driven many new and used cars and trucks. Looks great and rides great.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Agawam, MA, November 22, 2010 16:50
    I am the second owner, 75,000 miles with only normal wear, exhaust system is rusting prematurely.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    cpio, Quakertown, PA, November 22, 2010 15:04
     Enthusiast
    I have had an excellent experience with my '97 Pathfinder. It was leased 11mos before I bought it in '97 and have been the sole owner. In respose to wwehmeyer...I found a site with older posts that describe the side to side wobble that you and I both have experienced. There is detailed info on how others have repaired this issue, here's the link www.topix.com/forum/autos/T5LSTPR50NPCO9CTL hope it helps :)
    Flag This
  • 2004 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Lincoln, NE, November 15, 2010 10:58
    So far the body is holding up okay but the powder coat on the trailer hitch is rusted off. The drum rear brakes harken back to a time before modern cars. The engine self-destructed at 103000 miles despite never missing a service interval, using premium oil and changing the oil at 3K miles +/- 200 miles. The front strut mounts wore out just past the warrentee. It's the best new SUV you can buy for $15,000. Too bad it costs twice that much. No more Nissans for me, I can't afford to buy junk.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    jdisom, Huntsville, AL, August 24, 2010 09:04
     Rookie
    I bought my 97 Pathfinder in 2000, I have over 250K miles on it and have had a handling problem, like a "wiggle" sensation when i get to around 55 mph but dampens out, I have the vehicle in shop right now, since I havent changed any struts or shocks since I purchased it!! Maybe that will work. Im handing off this vehicle to my daughter (new drive) little did I know that it would be around that long to be a dependable commuting to school vehicle....Im overjoyed with the performance!!
    Flag This
  • 2004 Nissan Pathfinder
    Lluvia, Long Beach, CA, August 16, 2010 12:04
     Enthusiast
    it's consuming too much oil
    Flag This
  • 2007 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Olympia, WA, July 30, 2010 23:38
    Bought a 2007 Pathfinder to replace a Suzuki XL7 that was in an accident. Glad we did. The Pathfinder, so far, has been great. It has many great features/options and the drive is great. It's quiet and smooth going down the road - not something we experienced from our last SUV. Haven't had it long enough yet to test out the 4 wheel drive. Engine has 53k miles on it and we've recently noticed an engine knock, not sure if this is because we use 87 octane instead of the 91 the manufacturer recommends. I am hopeful we will get many happy years out of this vehicle.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Chapel Hill, NC, July 22, 2010 06:34
    My 1997 pathfinder had 35,000 miles on it when I bought it in1999...As of today it has 330,000 miles and still going strong! And have never had to do anything outside of normal servicing. The paint ,body and interior still looks great...
    Flag This
  • 2008 Nissan Pathfinder
    Ivan H. Smith, Sun City West, AZ, July 10, 2010 13:00
     Rookie
    20,000 Miles So Far- Great, Only Small things,That have been taken care of.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    lvrealestate411, Las Vegas, NV, July 08, 2010 18:41
     Enthusiast
    Bought brand new... 208,000 miles and still going strong. Replaced the timing belt at 105,000 miles and about to do it again. Other then that... maintenance has been a breeze. Excellent Car..
    Flag This
  • 1997 Nissan Pathfinder
    Visitor, Beverly Hills, CA, May 18, 2010 14:20
    I am actually Canadian but the site doesn't accept my postal code. I owned my used 97 pathfinder SE since 99. It initially had 27000km when I bought it from a guy who babied it. It now has around 150000km and it's still drives like new. There has been a few but expected repairs done on the vehicle. Three door lock actuators ($300 per), knock sensor (approx. $800 part of it was covered under factory warranty), exhaust (approx. $1000), anti-sway bar links (about $400), starter (about $300), water pump ($300). The upper radiator hose cracked and had to be replaced ($30). There's the usual replacement of brake pads (2x so far), frequent oil changes, tires, etc. Some of these repairs are just simply due to the age of the vehicle and are expected but they are repairs nonetheless. The retractable antenna is also not able to retract completely. The body is still in great shape with no notable rusts except the hood is starting to rust due to some highway driving. I'm looking to repaint it if the price is reasonable. The only complaint I have is the slow acceleration of the vehicle. While I don't expect race car acceleration, like my 90 CRX, it is very sluggish when going off the line. Fortunately, Nissan fixed this issue since the 98 Pathfinder. The 98's and beyond has a bigger engine (240compared to 170) and the acceleration has improved. The engine, in general, has been more than adequate to handle city commute on a daily basis. Don't skimp on the frequency of oil changes as it'll come back and bite you in the end with costly repair bills. I do oil changes on the vehicle semi-annually to avoid any problems. $120 per year for oil changes is better than $1000+ every few years for your engine. Besides, once the damage is done, your engine will never be the same again even after repairs. Treat your Pathfinder like a lady and you'll be rewarded. The height of this vehicle also makes it versatile enough to hop the curb without damaging the suspension or the body to navigate tight turning radius's in the city, and it's also great on dirt roads for those camping trips. This is one of the best cars I've owned. I've owned a Honda (for 16 year) and Toyota (for 6 year) before this vehicle. I love this vehicle for its comfort and cargo capacity. There's room for kids and the dog. Tons of storage for road trips. Handles well for a large vehicle. Decent gas mileage considering my heavy foot. I would definitely get another Nissan and recommend others to do so.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Nissan Pathfinder
    mbenton, Cooperstown, NY, April 15, 2010 18:08
     Enthusiast
    i love this car but its falling apart and the fram has bad rust problems if u have a nissan pathfinder from 2004 trade it in before it falls apart on u
    Flag This
  • 1998 Nissan Pathfinder
    wwehmeyer, Lake Stevens, WA, July 19, 2009 12:39
     Enthusiast
    By far the best car I have ever owned. I bought it new and I plan to drive it until the wheels fall off. I have always done regular maintenance and have had minimal problems with it. The check engine light came on a while back, but my mechanic told me it is because of an exhaust leak that makes the computer think that there is something wrong with the o2 sensor. The only real issue I have ever had with it is the fog lamps. If the bulb burns out they are impossible the change. I have actually had my mechanic do it for me. My plans for the future of my vehicle are to put some aftermarket fog lamps on it and probably a flow master exhaust (which should fix the problem with the check engine light.) I do have one problem that no one can put their finger on. When I am driving at freeway speeds and take my foot off the gas the rear end wobbles. I have replaced tires and shocks/ bushings and nothing seems to fix it. If anyone can tell me what the problem is, I would love to know.
    Flag This
  • 1992 Nissan Pathfinder
    Bret Bodas, Castro Valley, CA, February 19, 2009 09:20
     Master
    This vehicle has had a few problems in the 10 years I have owned it, transmission failure, exhaust manifold leaks, and a few misc. electrical problems. It works great in the snow and off road too. Overall, this has been a great vehicle and I am very happy with it!
    Flag This
  • 1992 Nissan Pathfinder
    nissanlover92pathy, Ames, IA, January 11, 2009 12:10
     Enthusiast
    overall a reliable truck at 217,800 i would never buy anything but a nissan from now on
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car