»

Reviews for Mercury Mountaineer years:

  1. (8)
  2. (5)
  3. (2)
  4. (5)
  5. (0)
  6. (6)
  7. (17)
  8. (7)
  9. (2)
  10. (2)
  11. (0)
  12. (1)
  13. (0)
  14. (0)

Owners' Reviews

Mercury Mountaineer Reviews and Owner Comments

 
55 Reviews
Mercury MountaineerOwner Reviews (55 reviews)
  • 2006 Mercury Mountaineer
    Tony ran 61, Dunnellon, FL, June 04, 2014 05:26
     Enthusiast
    well it was good when we brought it new but now we had to replace rotors cracked cooling system now the drive train is acting up and the dealer wants 500 dollars to drop the pan and another $500 to change the transmission fluid,they wanted $498 to change the brakes and roters and so I did it my self for $160 with a friend and utube This SUV sucks when it hits over 100,000 miles it starts making the dealer money.dont buy one!!
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Mckinney, TX, May 18, 2014 08:09
    I have had issues of the car not starting when the starter relay gets hot. Relays in the fuse box under the hood should never get hot, or so hot it burns blisters on your fingers when trying to pull them out. Once I pull the starter relay and let it cool down I reinsert it and the car will start. I have taken it to 2 dealerships, called 2 others and have even written and called Ford and no help with a fix. In fact, when I wrote an email to Ford the representative assigned to handle my issue was of no help nor did he even try to figure out the issue. This is so frustrating!!!
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, San Diego, CA, February 22, 2014 10:55
    For no reason my 2005 mountaineer started spraying oil everytime I stop gas...just got an oil change two weeks ago
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Oakland, TN, February 10, 2014 07:12
    some are right 04 being junk the big issue is money.tranny is week engine is good tranny took 3 months to replace finding the correct one.yes loveing wife loves this car lord blessing wont fix it a prayer to bury it would be better..
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Oxford, NJ, January 25, 2014 15:55
    Junk. Cost me a fortune to keep this vehicle . Worse vehicle I ever owned.Repeatedly replaced brakes, tires, bearings and the transfer case.Eats gas! Sending this vehicle to the junkyard where it belongs.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Islip, NY, December 23, 2013 08:15
    Bought pre-owned at dealer in 2007- had 30K miles on it. Love the look and power (Have the premier v8 version). No major issues- replaced shocks and struts around 85k miles. At 115k miles, have a few minor issues- mostly electrical (wiring to rear wiper and defogger frayed at line between roof and gate). One of the window hinges on the rear gate failed as well (replaced both for about $50- bought them new on ebay) it was a simple repair. Check engine light just came on, likely 02 sensor. Still runs great- very reliable and parts are easy to get and not too expensive. I love my truck and would look at the 2010 version next (If I ever need to replace it!)
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Richmond, VA, October 30, 2013 02:10
    I bought my 1999 Mercury Mountaineer with 52000 miles in 2003. I currently have 245,700 miles on the vehicle. It has the original water pump and alternator. I've replaced the brakes on it, the A/C Compressor clutch and oh yeah the A/C has never had to be recharged! Almost unheard of these days! I've pulled a 28 foot travel trailer with this vehicle coming from Georgia up through the mountains and difficult countryside in New Hampshire. The vehicle runs and drives as good as ever. I recently put new lower ball joints on it as one of them was a little loose. Not bad for a quarter of a million miles.This vehicle is without a doubt the best vehicle I've ever owned and I've owned over 20 different cars and trucks! LOVE MY MERCURY!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Kingwood, TX, August 05, 2013 10:58
    I bought a brand new 2003 mercury mountaineer and have had to replace the transmission 3 times!!!! COSTING THOUSANDS OF $$$$!!! The first time, it only had approximatly 50,000 miles on it and was just out of warranty. The second time, it had approximately 100,000 miles on it and just out of the 2 year warranty. The 3rd time, it had approximately 130,000 miles on it. I will NEVER purchase a mercury mountaineer again. In fact, the manufacturer should give me my money back!
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, West, TX, July 08, 2013 13:37
    I have a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer which I purchased new in 2002. This is the 2nd Mountaineer I have owned and would buy another if they were still in production. It has been exceedingly dependable - as have all my Ford vehicles - and it has served me well in business as a Realtor and personally as well. It has just under 260,000 miles on it and it is still going strong. It is getting a little old and yes, it does groan when it turns sometimes, but so do I! Of course it has had some maintenance and repairs needed over its life and as I look at the total expenses they seem pretty high until I look at the details. The total I have spent on this vehicle since new has been just under $92,000; but that is TOTAL expenses including gas, loan interest, insurance and license plates as well as total maintenance and repairs. That is a whopping $0.35/mile. Now try to convince me that this has been anything but a great vehicle!
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Mountlake Terrace, WA, April 03, 2013 18:34
    We have had this vehicle for many years. Inherited it at 70k miles. we had 40 acres and it was the only vehicle that never got stuck. We used it to pull out the other rigs when the ground was to mushy, like a tractor and a big box truck and a f250 high boy. I dont know what they did to make the traction work so well but its absolutely amazing. has 197k miles now and still run great. It has always started, charged, heated, cooled, I would definately buy another one as I am impressed with every mile it works, oh towed our 23' cobalt regularly best thing to have at the boat launch!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Norcross, GA, January 07, 2013 14:00
    Have 2003 Mercury Mountaineer, bought it new, now has 111,450 miles on it, has not had any repair problems,just oil, brakes and Tires. Not used for towing though.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, San Diego, CA, December 18, 2012 08:36
    Hello Every One I Have Owned My Mercury For Almost 10 Years I Bought it In 2003 Did My Routine Maint Just Know i Am Having To Do Major Work My Water Housing Went Out 280.00 parts And Labor My Fuel Pump went out 2 days after fixing my housing 550.00 parts and labor .. all in all this suv has been good to us ....
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Harrisburg, OR, December 07, 2012 19:14
    2003 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Its been a great car for 107,000 miles.Have replaced one hub bearing and routine maintainence.Excellent in the snow.We have towed two different boats with it,a 17 foot bayliner and a 20 foot bluewater cuddy the car survived and so did the wife.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Plymouth, MA, November 26, 2012 16:31
    I have a 2004 Mercury Mountaineer. 137,000 miles. I love it however This past year everything is going. I have replaced the Radiator, both sides Ti-rods my windows don't go down unless the driver side door is wide open. It shifts really hard into gear like my tranny is going to drop. MOSTLY DISTURBING...it only starts without trouble when the weather is 60 degrees or higher. If damp or cold it does not start. This has been going on for 2 years. I sometimes have to crank it 40x before it starts! it failed emissions this year! I have always owned a mercury cougar and loved them all. That is why I bought this mountaineer when I did. I do love it and would I buy another....YES
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Toledo, OH, August 01, 2012 14:25
    I purchased a 2002 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER last year for 7800 as is from FORD DEALERSHIP IN TOLEDO OHIO (as is sale),salesman promised me this vehicle would be reliable for the next 5 yrs,at the time it only had 92,000 miles on it,the day I took it off the lot. I spent 200 to replace brakes and rotors on the front end,6 months later it started to shift hard into 2nd,now 1 year later I had to spend anther 400 to do the rear brakes,rotors and emergency brakes. only to find out that I also need to replace my spring on the shocks because it is broke,also I'm looking at replacing the trans for $1500,hoping it don't go out before tax season all in all the first year owning a 2002 mercury mountaineer that is 10 years old is not worth the $11,000 in the first year owning the truck,the only thing i would suggest is to RUN WITH YOUR MONEY UNLESS YOU ARE BUYING IT FOR $1500 ITS A LEMON AND GOOD LOOKING ONE TOO.....ALSO SEEM TO BE LEAKING FLUID FROM THE LEFT FRONT TIRE SPITTING IT ON THE SIDE OF THE TRUCK (BLACK FLUID)HAVE NO CLUE WHAT IT IS....
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Stanhope, NJ, June 12, 2012 17:38
    I have a 2003 mercury mountaineer with 189,xxx miles on it and it has been a great truck. Just had to have the transmission rebuilt for the first time. Other than the transmission which was my fault for running mismatched tires with an all wheel drive system it has needed just regular maintainence and 1 hub bearing.Truck is great in the snow and big enough for family i would recomend it to anybody.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, North Canton, OH, March 19, 2012 18:51
    Just bought this with 112,000 miles. Took it to mechanic for evaluation, invested $1,200 in suspension and rear axle bearings. The vehicle is very comfortable and plenty of power in the 4.0 V6. My son on his way to Navy in Florida reported the transmission 1 & 2 gear went out in Alabama. It would move in 3rd, drive and reverse. Oh it needs a rebuild of the transmission $ 3,000.00. The transmission SHOPS report this is common problem with the transmission. Hmmm Ford why not stand behind your vehicles, recall them so we get what we pay for. When you know you have a part defect, correct it in a timely manner before more fall victim.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Brooklyn, NY, March 07, 2012 18:10
    Great truck! In two foot plus snowstorm it drove like on black top. I have the 2003 premier great space great features and drives and handles like a dream Would recomend to anyone....only set back is mileage but for the v8 i can't complain has tons of power
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Delran, NJ, February 02, 2012 09:01
    I have a 2004 Mountaineer, O'boy with 127,000 miles this thing is like a puzzle. Something is wrong every week. Shuts down when on cruise control, idle goes up and down, transmission hits hard when shifting and one window does'nt work. Never again will i buy a ford product. The bad this is that ford will not do anything about it.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Cleveland, TN, January 18, 2012 23:21
    97 Mercury mountaineer, where do i began, worked great since purchased New until it hit around 1000k miles now at 200k, can't open rear doors from inside, door lock switch doesn't work, air conditioning only works on MaxAc, popping in front driver side when i turn hit a bump or stop too quickly, have replace thermostat twice in two years, has had alternaor rebuilt, changed harmonic balancer, serpentine belt every year, all three catalyst converters bad which causes terrible idling like dying down at a red light and plunging forward after releasing the brake, lights in dash are almost black now, no prop for hood, ball joint bad in both front wheels, and the list goes on.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, San Antonio, TX, December 26, 2011 10:55
    i have a 19199 merc mountaineer right after i payed it off the revers went out its a 2 wheel drive automatic and im not shur what is wrong with it if any one has a idea on what the problem is please e-mail me @ lowfrqncy@ymail.com thanks .
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Alliance, NE, November 18, 2011 00:13
    bought a used 2003 mountaineer. has a interior light "bug". it won't go out. we have to shut it off manually. trans won't come out off park and many times won't go into park with out excessive force. has 177000 miles with no prior issues. so this particular vehicle is a good one.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Walden, NY, November 11, 2011 20:13
    are you kidding me??? can someone please tell me how to find and replace my heater core ?? everything is in place,the water is hot and flowing to both lines..but i have no heat....please help me..i dont see the need to replace the heater core..the fluid is moveing fine...what the hell ???
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Jacksonville, FL, November 05, 2011 19:53
    I have the Lenendary 2000 mercury mountaineer.I have 125000 on this thing. It just dont quit.This is my old truck , i have a new one .But i just love this thing going to keep it.only thing that goes out on them is the light in the radio, and it did.Its a all wheel dr. with a 302 v8 . ill fix the raido and it will be like new again.always kept in the garage and oil changed ever 3000 miles.My Mech told me he has a new car with more miles than mine.Ive had a lot of trucks and cars in my lifetime , but this has been one of the best. LH
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Pinellas Park, FL, September 01, 2011 12:04
    bought my used it has 148,000 miles everything works great i cant complain.put custom exhaust and supercharger in it .I have about 400 hp now.Had to put upper and lower control arm in it bt thats all i have had to do.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Hot Springs National Park, AR, August 13, 2011 14:55
    What a piece of junk. Need new transmission with only 51000 miles on it. There was a recall on this problem but the dealer, Riser Ford, just blows us off and wants 4000.00 to repair.Have been a Ford man for years, but no more after this.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Lexington, VA, August 01, 2011 13:53
    I have a 1998 Mercury Mountaineer that my family bought new. It has low mileage for a 1998 at 99,000 miles. No issues with it whatsoever -- just routine maitenance. I hope to drive it for many miles to come.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Grimesland, NC, July 15, 2011 18:23
    I own a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer that I purchased in 2004. At first it was a good vehicle I thought until I had to start paying high cost for repairs. The window got stuck, the heat switch stop working, the head gaskets needed replacing and the transmission went out. Now to top that of the rear-end needed replacing and the overdrive light refuses to go off and if won't allow the vehicle to shift gears. Now it sits in my driveway because I can't drive it and one of the worst things is there's no dip stick to check the transmission oil level. What ever you do in the future do not buy another car like this
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Yonkers, NY, May 08, 2011 16:28
    I bought my Mountaineer in 2008 with only 54,000 miles. It now has 107,000. I have replaced the fuel pump,the power window,door switch, and head gasket, in addition to needing brakes.Today I discovered that the a/c compressor wasn't coming on. I now have to check if there is a leak. I have not had any front end,transmission, cooling, or exhaust problems.Half the mileage that I have put on this car have been highway miles. City or Highway, I average about 12-15 miles per gallon.Overall, I have been pleased with the performance of this car. Wanna buy it?
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Fries, VA, May 07, 2011 17:08
    I AM IN THE PROCESS OF CONTACTING MERCURY ABOUT MY REAR HATCH WHICH ALSO HAD THE PROBLEMS WITH THE STRUT CAUSING MY REAR HATCH TO SLIDE DOWN AND SHATTER THE GLASS (ALL OVER MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER). MY TRANSMISSION IS ALSO JERKING WHEN IT SHIFTS. MINE IS A 2003 AWD AND IT HAS 115,000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS BULL AND I AGREE THAT FORD NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    bellakids, Youngstown, OH, March 29, 2011 12:07
     Rookie
    my mountaineer is making a clicking noise from rear end
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Fife Lake, MI, February 03, 2011 17:00
    Only a few things to say about this car it has 266,00 miles on it and i have only had it in the shop once in the last year the engine this runs great and the all wheel drive as well all around best car i have had in some time.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    patiflannery, Oak Park, IL, December 06, 2010 09:56
     Rookie
    This is an excellent SUV. It's very comfortable, warm in winter; cool in the summer; handles extremely well in the Chicago winter and a great vehicle for transporting kids, soccer gear, groceries and has a solid safe ride. I bought his car used at CARMAX; and had a great experience with the local dealer on the recall. Very pleased with this truck.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    BKH62, Phoenix, AZ, December 03, 2010 05:31
     Rookie
    This vehicle has nice features and it is comfortable to drive. That's where the positive stops. In the five years that I have owned it, the air conditioner has stopped working 4 times, over 4 consecutive years (not a good thing in Arizona). The CD player has quit working 3 times. The rear hatch window became disengaged and shattered. Months later the rear hatch cracked down the middle. The gas mileage mysteriously decreased from a ridiculous 14 mpg to a disgusting 10.5 (This couldn't be "replicated" over several trips to the dealer, but was miraculously fixed on the 4th trip.). I had significant concerns about shuddering and erractic shifting. The brakes were replaced at 28,000 miles to supposedly fix the shuddering. That seemed to help for a few months, but then appeared again. The shuddering and erratic shifting, in addition to a weird droning continued, but just couldn't be replicated by the dealership. After researching it myself, I discovered numerous Technical Service Bulletins and many others have had similar issues, requiring replacement of transmission and problems with rear axle and differential. Even though I presented this information to the dealership numerous times, they were never able to replicate the symptoms... until my vehicle warranty had expired by one month. Then all of a sudden, the symptoms could be replicated and, after charging me to dig deeper into the transmission, they discovered that the transmission was in need of replacement. The vehicle only had 43,000 miles at time of diagnosis (symptoms were initially noted at 34,000 miles). Not only that, but I followed every maintenance requirement - including having the tranmission fluid flushed and "granitized." Unfortunately, without a warranty, the dealership reported that I would need to pay $4500 to replace the transmission. Additional effort to have the dealership (Camelback Ford Lincoln Mercury in Phoenix, AZ) take responsibility for ignoring the issue until the vehicle was out of warranty only resulted in them discounting the price of the transmission to $3600.00. Did I mention that they also indicated that there was also a perceived problem with the rear axle and/or front differential. They didn't even get into checking this out or quoting repair costs. DO NOT BUY THIS VEHICLE unless you are willing to take the risk of being one of many who have been forced to pay for extensive repairs. This vehicle actually had many additional issues (three windows required repair/motor replacement, paint peels, ABS issues, etc.)
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Cranston, RI, December 01, 2010 18:38
    Seems Ford just started cranking out junk because things were selling well back then. Amazing the hood is rusting out already, the hood release cable jams the hood catch open most of the time you open the hood plus there is rusting under the body too. The front ball joints and hubs were shot at 48000 miles! There is no reason they should be worn out by then other than they are junk. The vehicle has never been off-road or in any accidents. The suspension has been making horrible squeaks and groans for a longtime and there isn't any left we can lube. The AC compressor makes a loud chirp all the time and the dealer never got it fixed right. We have an electrical issue were the vehicle will not start, most times you can let it sit then try again in a minute or two but sometimes you need to disconnect the battery wait a few minutes then reconnect it to be able to start up. There are plenty of other quality issues right down to the brakes and wheels which also need to be replaced already due to them corroding (tire dealer has seen many coming in for replacement in the last couple of years). Fit and finish was also bad with doors and windows leaking and wind noise. We've got a 2001 sale with twice as many miles on it and it is only now just showing a few spots of rust so this shows a great difference in material quality in those few years. We've always been Ford owners for the most part, over 95% of our vehicles have been Fords but I've been pushed by poor dealer attitude and poor product quality to say too bad Ford survived recent events. I wouldn't have shed a tear or cared if they were gone at this point.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Philadelphia, PA, November 29, 2010 08:54
    I had purchased a 2006 Merc Mount. Premeir v-8 in 2008 as a off lease veh. still under factory warranty from an authorized Linc. Merc.dealership. I also purchased the Premeir warranty to 60,000 mi. This month I had to bring the truck into the dealership for MISFIRE ISSUES.. Engine warning light flashing at high speed 70 mph. The dealership advised me that the coils were good but at 45,000 mi. all 8 plugs were non serviceable due to severe and wide gaps from burn out. As suspected FORD which stands for FIX OR REPAIR DAILY would not honor THIER BEST WARRANTY nor did after discussing the problem with FORD customer service decided that the 495.00 repair bill is your bad...Thats a real shame, just when I was starting to give FORD a new srart.. Well GM might have taken the bail out money but I NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH MY CADILLAC WHEN IT CAME TO REAL BACK PROTECTION... FORD IS THE SAME OLD USELESS COMPANY IT WAS ..BACK TO GM NEXT TIME....
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Waco, TX, November 13, 2010 10:12
    I've had my 02 mercury mountaineer for about 3 years now and all I can say to anyone else who might now own or is thinking about buying one is RUN AWAY!!!!! It's a lemon! I've droped so much money into it it's unreal. It's sitting in my driveway now not running and I'm sure it's the timing chain! No warning ether just wouldn't start when I got in it. Ford should be ashamed of making such an unreliable suv. I'll never buy another Ford automobile ever again!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Monroe, MI, September 14, 2010 17:44
    I've noticed common problems with owners of this vehicle. Ball joints, expensive wheel bearing/hub replacement (2 so far) and rear wheel axle leaks.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Mountaineer
    jheidmann1550, Gilbert, AZ, September 13, 2010 09:55
     Rookie
    Great reliability. Have had car since new. Am now only starting to have a few problems. Have a small rear main seal oil leak (will be a $700 repair). and have an AC freon leak ($ 500 to $1000 repair range). However, I have had car for 12 + years (180000 mles) and have only had one radiator replacement $500, one minor tranny repair ($450) Two minor items I did not fix - radio lite only works intermittantly and lever for drivers seat back has broken off - both are common problems and I have chosen not to get them repaired.LOVE THIS TRUCK - all wheel d(rive is great in snow country, car runs GREAT and burns no oil. Hope to drive it to 250000 miles. I was able todoa temporary fix AC leak with an additive and the oil leak is just a drip each day in my garage.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Jordanx512, Chesapeake, VA, August 27, 2010 09:10
     Rookie
    I have a 2003 Mountaineer Premier and I have nothing but praise for it. I now have 120,000 miles on it. The only things done to it were routine maintenance. I just got home from a three week trip. I drove from Va. Beach VA. to Tuson AZ and all around AZ without any problem. When my work picks up I'm keeping my old one and planning to get the 2010 model.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Mountaineer
    DrewBoston, Malden, MA, July 14, 2010 13:03
     Enthusiast
    I have the 5.0 V8, and it has been a complete dream for a car of its age. It only has about 102K miles, which is low for its year, but I have had NO serious problems whatsoever. The problems I have had: -Broken Radio Display -Both the driver and passenger front doors unlock by remote, but do not lock -The sunroof gets stuck when I close it, so I only pop it up now. It also leaks a TINY bit when it pours -Bushings make noise, but dealership says its safe to drive, and doesn't need replacement yet Other than these relatively small things (which could be fixed if i were so inclined) the car has had no issues. I just change the oil, do basic maintenance, and she's good to go. After talking with many people about these vehicles, and doing lots of research, i recommend being careful of the used V6 models. The V6 is better on gas, but tends to have more mechanical issues (4x4, timing belt, transmission). Also beware of the 1995-1997 and the 2002-2005 models. These are the ones they tend to not have all the kinks worked out of yet when they were new, and subsequently tend to have more problems.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Trussville, AL, July 13, 2010 13:46
    Bought new and driven as a company vehicle - overall have had no major problems until now (7 years/68,000 miles). A/C compressor "blew up" and had to replace compressor and condensor. Also, rear windows intermittently will not go down. But I would buy another given the opportunity!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    jle, Wethersfield, CT, July 11, 2010 05:41
     Enthusiast
    Very comfortable,stable,great to haul 19ft fiberglass boat 1200 mi.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Santa Fe, TX, June 14, 2010 11:21
    We bought this 2000 Mercury Mountaineer V6 brand new. It has 73000 original miles. We had some trouble with the radio over the years and it has been replaced twice free of charge. Had to replace radiator at 64000 miles. Overall we have been extremely satisfied.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Raleigh, NC, June 08, 2010 07:01
    I have 202 mountaneer and it has worked perfct ive been to miami and back 6 times and it still runs brand new just done some maintenance like tune ups oil changes and tire rotations and brand new tires , it just started a new problem when i crank it it stalls after like three turns it starts up has ahybody had that yet
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    morningsun, Memphis, TN, June 05, 2010 10:21
     Rookie
    I bought my Mercury Mountaineer new in 1997. After 5 years, the antenna stopped working. The emergency brake never has worked. The only response from the dealership was, "It works, you have a V-8. Stop putting so much pressure on the accelerator". I do not pass inspection each year. I show the paperwork that the company tried to repair problem. I can't afford another car. Presently, it is in the shop, the sway bar appears to be the cause of the grinding, popping sound when I turn the steering wheel and / or apply the brakes. The bushing is broken. Also, the electrical system on the passenger side of the door doesn't work. I received a quote for $600.00 to repair the system. I manually lock the door. The cd system stopped working after six years. The check engine light repeatedly comes on after a repair. It has been on now 2 years. Oh well. How could I forget about the Lumbar feature. It stopped working during the 4th year. I rent a car for long distance driving. I do not plan to purchase another Mercury Mountaineer.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Alton, IL, May 27, 2010 23:41
    Bought the car in 2000 as a lease car that was returned to the dealer to be put on the market to be sold. So I got the car almost new, with only 5000 miles on it. Have had no trouble with it--only maintenance. I would buy another one tomorrow if I could. After 85,000 miles, I am only now having to have repairs on it-mostly maintenance type issues. So, I consider myself blessed. I love my SUV.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Chicago, IL, May 25, 2010 15:24
    I bought this car as a used car only to find out I wa buying a transmission problem that had to be fix every 38000 miles
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, Hialeah, FL, April 24, 2010 12:20
    Very reliable and nice to look at. Comfortable and quiet. The only problem I had with it was one of the back windows stopped going down. Quickly repaired by the dealer. Hasn't had a problem yet I've had it for a year and a half. I recommend it to anyone. Just if ur going to buy it used completely check and test it out before signing anything.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    Visitor, North Las Vegas, NV, April 03, 2010 12:14
    I bought my 97 used with 97,000 miles.. ran great for the first 4 months then the engine light came on and with constant repairs stays on. EGR tube and or compoant seems to always be the problem. My cd player has stoped working, my back doors will not open from the inside, my inside cover around the skylight is falling, the ac only works good if going on the highway and the electric side mirrors are now manual. I just spent $1000 fixing things to pass smog 6 months ago and my engine light came back on. Now with more problems. Ideling to high, lunging forward from a stop to almost die out if I dont hurry up and press the gas. My front ball joints have been replaced only to crack again. I am tired of putting money in this vehical but since I am out of work its the only thing I have.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Mountaineer
    GLASSEYE, Roselle, NJ, March 28, 2010 12:50
     Rookie
    THESE MOUNTAINEERS ARE GARBAGE CAR I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM WITH MY MOUNTAINEER. MERCURY AND FORD NEEDS TO TAKE CARE OF THESE PROBLEMS ON THESE VEHICLES THEY SHOULD ISSUE A RECALL ON THESE MOUNTAINEES AND SCRAP THEM ALL.I HAD TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION ON MY MOUNTAINEER REBUILT ABOUT ONE YEAR AGO AND ITS STARTING TO ACT UP AGAIN IT COST ME $1,500 TO HAVE IT REBUILT I TOLD MERCURY ABOUT THE PROBLEM THEY JUST BLEW IT OFF.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    mtittle, Brookwood, AL, March 03, 2010 10:31
     Enthusiast
    Just purchased February 22, 2010 with 148k miles on chassis and supposedly less than 20k on rebuilt engine. Just had all spark plugs and wires replaced, and fuel system cleaned. Next will be brakes all around. Supposedly two O2 sensors need replacing. Supposed transfer case leaks. Power door lock on driver's side does not work. Seatbelt latch on front passenger side gets stuck, so I have new replacement part to have put on. Roof lining around sunroof in poor shape, going to add decor for temporary satisfaction. Hood has no prop up stick -where do I find that.. and hood latch needs adjustment to be able to fully latch down tight.. still a good car.. just in the works to be better.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Mountaineer
    blev, Silver Spring, MD, October 30, 2009 14:02
     Rookie
    I bought a 2000 V8 AWD from a reputable dealer, and in general it's fun to drive, gives me a great view of surrounding traffic, and has good power. However... First off, I'm in MD but the beast has a CA emissions system... so my mileage in normal driving hovers around 14.5MPG or less. In the first 2 years I owned it, the repair bills totaled just shy of $5K, and I never know which part of the electrical system will mysteriously stop working (or mysteriously restart) under which circumstances. The front end's been rebuilt twice (the mechanic's comment was "Oh, yeah, I do a few of these each month"), and I have to always make sure I'm actually going in a straight line. Also, on those occasions when it chooses to work, the rear window wiper often jams up under the window glass when it first starts so I have to get out & pull it loose (and no one has ever been able to get it to clear the full sweep of the window). The only reason I've kept the beast is the cost of a new vehicle vs. the idea that "okay, maybe THIS time we cleared up the problems..." I'm willing to check out the newest Mountaineer with a jaundiced eye, but I wouldn't touch an older one with a 10-foot pole, sorry...
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Mountaineer
    02 RL, Austin, TX, April 18, 2009 10:02
     Enthusiast
    Original owner of 2000 Mercury Mountaineer with Monterey trim (clone to Ford Explorer Eddie Buaer model. Overall, we've been pleased with SUV - however it goes through front brakes about every 2 years and AC performance has been spotty of late. We have the 5.0 L V-8 engine and average 16 mpg around town and 22+ mpg on long trips. The Mountaineer is built on truck platform so ride is a bit stiff, but has great towing capacity. Maintenece and repair costs average about $1,000/year - not bad for a 10-year old SUV and way better than new SUV payment.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Mountaineer
    CastAway, Winston Salem, NC, April 17, 2009 19:29
     Enthusiast
    Bought the truck used with 57,000 on it. It looks just like the one in the picture! Had the transmission rebuilt at 60,000 due to problems (used car dealer did under his warranty). Had to replace a cracked exhaust manifold. Battery acid dripped onto a vacuum line and caused major leak. Radiator sprang a leak and had to be replaced. Had to replace the front end suspension links at 190,000. Recently, the electric door lock on the driver's side stopped working. I use this vehicle to tow a boat and it is a real workhorse. My wife loves to drive it because of the higher view she gets of traffic. I would buy another one in a heartbeat!
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car