»

Reviews for Mercury Grand Marquis years:

  1. (2)
  2. (4)
  3. (3)
  4. (0)
  5. (4)
  6. (2)
  7. (3)
  8. (7)
  9. (5)
  10. (5)
  11. (2)
  12. (3)
  13. (2)
  14. (6)
  15. (3)
  16. (7)
  17. (8)
  18. (2)
  19. (5)
  20. (1)
  21. (1)
  22. (2)

Owners' Reviews

Mercury Grand Marquis Reviews and Owner Comments

 
77 Reviews
Mercury Grand MarquisOwner Reviews (77 reviews)
  • 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Henderson, NV, December 17, 2013 15:41
    oldies but goodies run forever just change oil every three months long life
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Plymouth, NH, December 04, 2013 14:36
    I have had this car for only 6 months and already i've had to replace my alternator, my intake manifold, and my bearing. It only has 75k miles and mechanics keep telling me "it's in great condition" but considering I've dropped more money in 6 months on fixing it than I paid I would consider it to not be in great condition. Awful gas mileage, heat takes forever to start, etc. Would not recommend to a friend.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis
    blk rate, Glendale, CA, October 16, 2013 15:34
     Enthusiast
    My 1999GM-LS runs well now 140,000 miles since new. Had AC control unit, fuel pump, Idle air control valve, rotors, cracked intake manifold replaced. Recently a slight vibration developed at idle when engine is hot. Most noticeable at steering wheel. Dealer can't find fault - deemed normal? Cracked intake manifold - is bound to happen when plastic bonded to aluminum. Grade school physics tells us that metal and plastic expands and contracts differently when temperature changes. can't believe any Ford engineer could overlook this?? when the GM was designed. Perhaps the plastic manifold are designed to fail!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Woodland, WA, October 16, 2013 13:10
    Two ton a fun! Almost economy car freeway MPG (idling @ 60mph), quiet, relaxed, upscale, bullet proof engine/ drive train, cheaper parts and insurance! 2003+ GS (base car) is the car to get (03+-latest upgrades), change out lighting control module (weak relay-see ebay/forums) run synth 5-30 only and enjoy your V8/281 powered lux cruiser! Bought an 03 for my daughter with 62k on it, one old lady owner for $4000 and daughter loves it-ease of use and comfort. 25+ mpg on freeway, about 20 mpg overall. Truck frame, engine, drive train. Sleeper used car best buy folks that's safe, reliable, cheap to buy used now with low mileage and typically easy use (thanks, old folks) ! No brainer vs high mileage, beat Japanese rig in high demand! Picky Engineer
    Flag This
  • 2010 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, East Syracuse, NY, September 13, 2013 07:46
    a great car, have owned 4 previous year same car. one problem...trunk open light comes on when trunk is shut. have to reshut lid 2 or 3 times to stop it.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Bronx, NY, August 27, 2013 20:34
    Very Comfortable car, especially on long trips. This vehicle was made to Excel on the highway where the gas mileage using cruise control is compatible with smaller vehicles that feel and look like tin boxes. Poor gas mileage in the City due to stop and go traffic. Best mileage on the highway was 28.6 mile average from NYC to Hershey Pennsylvania using cruise control most of the way. Had two Crown Victorias prior to this Grand Marquee and can notice a big difference in the ride. I will enjoy this car to the end. Approaching 90k on the odometer.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Rootstown, OH, August 05, 2013 18:58
    Bought used with 80,000. Now has 158,000. 28-29 MPG hiway,20 everyday.Has never failed to start or broken down on road. Some electrical issues,hazard switch,power window switch,door ajar sensor. Love this car.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Hagan, GA, June 23, 2013 20:29
    I BOUGHT A USED 2003 GRAND MARQUEE LS IN JULY 2012. I WAS TOLD THAT THEY (DEALER SHIP) HAD SENT IT TO THE SHOP AND EVERYTHING WORKED FINE .I BOUGHT IT AT ABOUT 7 PM CAUSE I WAS RUNNING LATE AND THEY WERE BOUT TO CLOSE AND MY OTHER CAR WAS NOT RUNNING . I DID NOT TAKE TIME TO DO A ROAD TEST ON IT AND TOOK THEIR WORD FOR IT .WHICH WAS A MISTAKE .NOW TO THE PROBLEM. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME I HEARD A FAINT NOISE AND THOUGHT IT WAS THE TIRES MAKING A NOISE BUT FOUND OUT ABOUT A MONTH IT WAS A BEARING AND AXLE ON THE REAR .I HAD THAT FIXED. WE TRIED TO SET THE MIRROWS AND THEY WOULD NOT WORK. THE FM RADIO WOUL COME ON AND GO OFF IN ABOUT TWO MINUTES AND MIGHT COME BACK ON FOR A FEW MIN. AND SOMETIME IT WOULD NOT COME ON. THE AM WORKED SOME OF THE TIME AND THE CD PLAYER WORKS GOOD .I HAVE A 1998 MARQUEE . WITH 198,000 AND NEVER HAD ANY TROUBLE WITH IT .I THINK THE 2003'S ARE LIMONS SO IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT GETTIN ONE I WOULDN'T .THE 2003 I HAVE ONLY HAD 85,000 ON IT GUES I WILL HAVE TO FIX ALL OF THIS STUFF AND I'M NOT HAPPY .
    Flag This
  • 2001 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Fort Worth, TX, April 12, 2013 06:04
    Can an oil leak stop my starter from working?
    Flag This
  • 2011 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Greensboro, NC, March 25, 2013 07:26
    I have 33,xxx on my car. It has an extremely strong exhaust smell. I have also had problems with the door locks on the driver's door making funny noises, as if the actuator continues to pop 5 or 6 times after the door actually locks. But this problem has seemed to stop on it's own *fingers crossed*. Since there is warranty left, I am going to get her checked out. Also, she is a real gas hog. Going from an SUV I thought I would be getting a LITTLE better mpg. But I am getting 4-6 mpg less than the SUV, consistently. Around 15 mpg to be precise, all city driving. Over all I like my car. 2011 was the last year it was offered, so I will drive it until the wheels fall off. Let's just hope that isn't too soon.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, North Fort Myers, FL, March 03, 2013 21:05
    Had problems with the lighting modual at about 45,000. (BIG $$$$) Now experiencing problems with the ac-heater fan speed control. Replaced the a/c fan motor at about 35,000 miles. Car otherwise OK. Electrical system sucks.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Compton, IL, March 02, 2013 14:05
    I had gotten this car from a older gentalmen and it was pretty well kept up and drivin only in town. worked great when i got it at 80K. Heres the thing i think the old man was smarter than i thought cause almost a week into owning this car i turned into a gas station and the right joint broke completly. car slamed on tire and puff theres the tires and the joint. not to mention the other damages this probably caused that i dont know about. shortly after that intake cracks. now with 110k the im almost 100% sure that the trany is messing up too. and its a complete gas hog.
    Flag This
  • 1992 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, North Fort Myers, FL, March 01, 2013 08:50
    i have had this car for years and years...i have barely taken good care of it, yet it keeps on driving good for me...its 2013 now and i need ac work and a couple windows fixed..otherwise ill drive it another 20 years,,,,,yay ford!
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Suffolk, VA, February 25, 2013 06:23
    A nice, comfortable car, with decent mileage. I have 50,000 miles on it, with the original brakes and tires.... only expense other than maintenance is the climate control unit had to be replaced at around $1,000, soon after it ran out of warranty. Since they don't make them anymore, I think I'll have this one till it quits.
    Flag This
  • 2011 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Albion, NY, February 19, 2013 07:27
    I have a 2011 Black Mercury Grand Marquis and has 46K miles and no maintenance has been put on it except for oil changes and tire rotation. I can achieve up to 25 MPG and 451 Miles to Empty in the Spring and Summer. This fits me perfectly and it's very comfortable. The only problems I have is the washer fluid sensor is bad and the right rear door has a broken door actuator which means it won't lock or unlock the door. But, I have to say that this Grand Marquis is the last real Car I'll ever have when I trade it in for a F-Series Truck 15 years from now.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Jackson Center, OH, February 12, 2013 09:55
    light control modules for my beautiful mgm failed no headlights almost ticket. ford should recall or pay me fix it. thanks for almost giving me a stroke drivin rain snow and NIGHT gwen
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Thomasville, GA, October 25, 2012 14:25
    My 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis headlights only turn on when they want to.I think it should be on recall cause in my opinion this is a safety hazard.I can be going down the road at night and they just cut off.This is dangerous.However after spending about $500.00 I have finally found the problem it was the light module.I feel that Ford/Mercury should put this on recall and pay me my money I spent getting it fixed.Irritated in Georgia :\
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Lake Worth, FL, October 01, 2012 12:56
    I FINALLY UNDERSTAND WHAT FORD STANDS FOR FOUND ON ROAD DEAD. IT IS TRUE. SINCE I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR HERE IN SOUTH FLORIDA AND WAS GARAGE KEPT THE HEATER CORE LEAKED ALL OVER THE PASSENGER SIDE CARPET,REPLACED LANDAEU TOP, ALL INTERIOR LEATHER ROTTED WITH OIL,FOUR RADIOS,ROOF FABRIC SAGS,OIL GAUGE FLUCUATES AND BRAKE LIGHT GOES ON AND OFF. INTAKE MANIFOLD CRACK AND NEEDED REPLACED,IGNITION COIL ON CYLINDER WENT,FRONT SUSPENTION NEEDED REPLACED ONLY 90K MILES,TRANSMISSION SHUDDERS AT 97K NEEDS REBUILD,EMERGENCY HAZARD SWITCH WORKS SOMETIMES. ALSO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROOF IT RUSTED.TAIL PIPE RATTLES AND HAD TO CUSTOM MOUNT MADE. DOES THE ABOVE REPAIR HISTORY SOUND LIKE QUALITY IS NUMBER ONE. THIS CAR IS THE WORST PIECE OF S__T IN THE WORLD.FORD WILL NEVER CHANGE ITS THE CULTURE IN DETROIT. BUY JAP-GERMAN- P.S. FORGOT TO MENTION I WENT THRU A POND OF WATER AFTER A RAIN AND THE FUEL PUMP SHORTED AND DIED. $640.00 GOD I LUV AMERICAN CARS SIGNED SUICIDEL TENDICIES.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    bearmug, Perrysburg, OH, September 29, 2012 08:14
     Enthusiast
    Love my Grand Marquis. There is a problem with the Light Control Module which is an expensive part (around $500 to $600 + labor). Apparently this is a common problem for this car around this mileage and age (6 yrs old). Ford denies there is any problem. Found 26 complaints about this on another website. Headlights tend to turn off on their own while driving down the road. People owning this car should be aware of the problem and be prepared for it. Headlights do come back on if you turn the headlight switch back and forth, or stop and let it cool down for a few moments.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    zelda 1, Warren, MI, July 11, 2012 05:24
     Rookie
    When I put mt brakes on the car seems to speed up
    Flag This
  • 2007 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Havelock, NC, July 05, 2012 15:05
    Mine is a piece of CRAP!
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Smithsburg, MD, June 24, 2012 13:15
    Have had my 1997 Grand Marquis for over 6 years....now has 220,000 miles on it..does not use oil, run great and averages 25-27 mpg on a trip with exception of mountains....then it will average about 23 mpg..does not like 87 octane and yes, the plastic manifold cracked and set me back $1100...and of course, Ford, would not repair it...seems it should have cracked 6 months earlier...after that, I have loved the car...one of the best I have ever had...and I own two Toyotas....they are great, but watch out under that pretty exterior, because they are rust buckets....plan on grabbing another Marquis when this down for good....I think the 2006 isn't so hot, but the 97 definitely is...........
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Temple, TX, June 16, 2012 19:59
    I have a 2002 mecury grand marquis, have had a lot of repair, wiper pivot arm ass,replace idle air control valve twice, replaced #1 coil, #2 coil,just a couple of mos. ago replaced #5coil, had bearings go out of ac compresser, replaced. All this time in the last year my car has had a low roar when excelerating my gas milage is in the pits gone from 18 in city to 13.5 had 3 different shops one a ford dealer last time and they can not figure it out. My brake and gas peddle are adjustable but not wanting to go down. Can any one out there have any Ideas greatly appreciatted. rae e-mail frostytop45@hotmail.com
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Orlando, FL, May 18, 2012 06:20
    Over all it's been a god car, I've had two issues that I believe shouldn't have been & that is in the older cars if the upper ball joints went bad in either side you removed & installed what ever side needed to be repaired, not on my 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis, yo have to replace the whole upper assembly on account that the ball joint it comes welded to the upper arm, not only is it very expensive but a pain to do it your salve. The other issue is that the door locks acts crazy, you lock the doors & it's start to make a clicking sound & the driver side lock goes in the open position & stays in the open position, so you think that your locking your car @ night, not its not, you wake up next morning & yes you guest it its in the open position not only is this a safety issue, persons that want to get into your car & take your property & you have a losses of personal property. If any one can tell me were to look in the car for the possibility for me to be able to at least try & repair it myself, maybe a sensor & the position were such part or sensor might be, thank a million if you can help. Herbert Arenas My e-mail address is Harenas747@aol.com
    Flag This
  • 1990 Mercury Grand Marquis
    j-man 1, Beulah, MI, April 25, 2012 09:27
     Rookie
    Hi i am 15 and this is my first car i paid $500.00 for it. it has a major gas and oil leak and had its tail pipe ripped off but, overall its a nice car. its got a 5.0 liter V8 in it. its extremly quiet for a V8 and with no tail pipe its still quiet. its also got ajustable air shocks. a mini air compresser kicks on when it runs. i think its for the shocks but it could also be for the vacume system which runs the fuel injecters. any advice?
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, New York, NY, March 11, 2012 23:44
    The 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis has been the most problematic one my family has ever had, and we've had them constantly since the late '70s. This one had electrical issues from the get-go. The door locks and windows and wipers all got funky at least once, and one door lock has never fully functioned. The AC has gone out a few times, the brakes need replacing more often than a NY cabbie's, we've had to replace engine coils at least 4 times, the seatbelts lock in place so you're pinned to the seat---all-around fun. My mother touts its heft as a safety feature, while I feel its safety is diminished if you have to sit in front of the shoulder strap to breathe, or find your brakes wearing down to nubs every other year. It also sheds its grille pieces everywhere so it looks like a toothless creature. It's a comfortable car to ride in for long trips, but it doesn't feel reliable. Thinking back, we did have a fair amount of issues with these cars over the years. Next time I buy, I want another Subaru Legacy, which in 10 years gave me zero problems, not even with the sunroof. Last note: I got to this site looking for a solution when the rest of my family was stranded in the car and it wouldn't shift gears for them to drive. I found a solution here suggested for a '96 Marquis: pump the brake and wiggle the wheel while you try to shift to Neutral. My story then mistakenly ended up with the '92 Marquis heading, but I want to make sure 2003 Grand Marquis owners know the fix will work for them if their gearshift is stuck in Park. Then, as someone elsewhere suggested, if you can't go to the shop right away, "park" in neutral with the emergency brake so you don't get stuck in Park again.
    Flag This
  • 1992 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, New York, NY, March 11, 2012 23:19
    Just wanted to say thank you to 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis Visitor, Astoria, NY, October 21, 2011 08:16. My family was stuck with a 2003 Grand Marquis stuck gearshift that wouldn't shift out of park, 2 hours from home at 2am, and your solution was the only one that worked! Pumping the brake and wiggling the wheel while the engine was on as if everything was regular did the job to shift to Neutral, which freed them up to shift to Drive normally. Thank you! Pretty reprehensible that they even had a suggested solution in the manual---shouldn't they have taken care so the problem never occurred? My family has long gotten Mercury Grand Marquis but never had them longer than 3-5 years and no major issues. But from the start, this one is the worst ever. Constant problems with everything from sticking choke-you seatbelts to dying engine coils to brake wear to AC failures to just weird electrical issues. Even the way the cheap plastic grillwork falls out---pathetic. I never had any problems like this with my Subaru Legacy, so if I'm doing the picking next time, that's my choice. P.S. Sorry, I don't know how this showed up under 1992 Mercury Marquis. I was clearly in another section, since I was quoting someone with a '96. Don't know what happened, but I wanted the helpful advice amplified for other future internet searchers.
    Flag This
  • 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Saint Louis, MO, March 10, 2012 21:03
    Bought this used with just under 100,000 miles on it. Not running right when I purchased it but did some work to it and it's been a very good car. I beefed up the rear suspension with coil over shocks and Moog cargo coil springs plus the addition of a police rear sway bar (badly needed for these large cars). I would like to stiffen up the front suspension and it would be a pretty nice handling vehicle for it's size. Nice to see Ford made the steering box a quicker ratio over the old 4 turn lock to lock boxes.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis
    JAYMALO, Blackstone, MA, February 02, 2012 11:04
     Rookie
    1999 GRMARQUI Have TEPID HEAT.. Have changed thermastat flushed out heater core Still very LOW heat
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    onefabcook, Medford, NJ, January 12, 2012 16:18
     Enthusiast
    The lights go on without turning them on and when I shut off the car they pop on or stay on for 1/2 hour or more. They have come on and gone off while driving. I had it back to the dealership and it happend to them and they finally siad they fixed it after about a week there. They had a specialist check it out. After I had it home about 6 months it started again when I returned it to Holman they said it was due to an after market remote being installed. NOT SO because it happend before I had the remote start installed and I had it done by a certified company who do most of the large dealerships work. They refused to repair it and then Holman wouldn't repair it. Now I am on my 4th battery in as many years and I AM DISGUSTED. Out of Warranty and out of PATIENCE> My car has 36,000 original miles and it is babied so I know we take great care of it but I HATE IT NOW AND CAN'T WAIT TO GET RID OF IT>>>
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Damarkas, Pascagoula, MS, November 02, 2011 14:48
     Rookie
    I have a 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis well first my oil gauge was going up n down i just thought when i crank it up it does that. It kept downing that since September the day i took it to go see whats wrong was October 10 on my way there I was at a red light it made a really loud horrible sound and it quit on me. I just don't know what to do. The dealer ship said it expire because I went over my miles. I really need to find where I can get it fix I have kids to take to school everyday.
    Flag This
  • 1992 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Seguin, TX, October 31, 2011 12:42
    I have a 92 Marquis had it for several years and only problem I have is that the gear shift if put in to park wont come out so I normally keep it in neutral and put EB on .. it works but it is not a fix.. I need to get it fixed. I cant take my keys out because it is not in part so I keep the doors locked on the electronic key on outside or door.. Anyone else have this probleme. I am about to put it inthe shop.. But would like to fix it myself if its easy ennough. I normally do all repairs on the car myself.. it cheaper than a shop..
    Flag This
  • 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis
    gasdorf, Fort Wayne, IN, October 29, 2011 21:23
     Rookie
    ball joint problems , put $1,500 in getting them fixed ,car wears them out in less than 10 years getting the proper brake pads is also a issue, sence thier made in four versions police and non police version with power brakes , angled tapered pads and flat one can make the differance in wear and squeaky noise in less than 3 months. when to 4 auto stores and they all gave me conflecting data on the proper pad based on what they stock, giving me the wrong part to make a sale also poor knowledge on the versions of pads
    Flag This
  • 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Astoria, NY, October 21, 2011 08:16
    96 Mercury -locked in 'P' parking, when i want to change gears from park into drive i need to bump the brake and wiggle the steering wheel for the car to go into drive. this is a new problem... help if you know how to fix this problem thanks
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, South Bend, IN, October 12, 2011 15:01
    my wife and I bought our Jade Green/tan leather Grand Marquis LS with 54,000 miles on it in about 2002. We now have close to 210,00 miles on it. Just about everything works on it and the trunk is clean as new. The only thing that has worn out is the driver's armrest. If I get time I can take the pin out that holds it in place and flip it over and you would not know there is a problem. The engine and transmission are great and I have had only one problem that could have cost over a thousand dollars but a friend and I spent almost a whole week dropping the entire dash board to get to the air plenum and change the switch that opens and closes the heating and cooling vents. I would highly recommend this car and if I can find a nice one with under 100,000 miles, I would buy it. There is a nice one at the Gurley Leep Southside Ford store in South Bend, IN White with blue leather. Under 100K for about $6500. It seems like the only thing I have done many times on the car is brake jobs. The only thing that has been a pain is the windshield wipers. I cannot get them to adhere to the glass and big areas are missed. I even tried the ANCO with guranteed glass contact and there was no improvement.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Chicago, IL, September 23, 2011 06:14
    1997 GS 327,500 miles avg 16city/25 highway. Engine still runs strong. Just a little bit of smoke, still original engine. all the common problems which have been identified I have repaired in the past two years. I consider it part of maintenance especially with the mileage. All repairs I do myself. with the exception of control arm bushing along with new coil springs. what a difference. The cars still looks like new for factory (light gold). FYI considering from day 1 (0 miles to 270,000+ miles it was a taxi on Chicago city streets). My father took exceptional care of his car during its service years every month routine maintenance (oil, etc). Upon retirment form taxi service the car was stripped, repainted to original color and buffed. The Interior was also stripped and cleaned along with new factory carpet. Experience well mechanically maintained vehicle will last.
    Flag This
  • 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Kings Mountain, NC, September 18, 2011 11:07
    My marquis is a mean machine, I once had her at 125mph still with a couple thousand rpms left. I change her oil every 3000 miles but still smokes when in reverse. Still, with 197000 miles on her she still can do it. She had police equipment in it, but i never seen a police interceptor grand marquis. I love my car, bottom line. Now installing a supercharge stage 2. 5.0 1994 mustang engine. Get flowmasters 40 series
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Coffeyville, KS, September 16, 2011 00:02
    i bought mine new in 08 and love the car,the only problem i have had was the sunvisor mirror covers broke off not long after getting the car and had a pant problem,peeled off of the header panel,but other than that i love it.i drive this car form kansas to florida every christmas and average 25 to 26.5 miles per gallon.ive had v6 cars that didnt get that on the highway.i would buy another one for sure.and for what i payed for it i couldnt have bought a striper camery.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Mercury Grand Marquis
    char1970, Canon, GA, September 11, 2011 15:17
     Rookie
    car wont shift out but will go in reverse
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Isanti, MN, September 01, 2011 20:50
    2006 Mercury Grand Marquis. 45k miles on the car and I kept getting the high beams from oncoming drivers at night. It could not handle any additional load without significant rear end squat. I installed Made in the U.S.A. replacement coil springs in the rear and what a difference. Car now has a nice rake and vast improvement in road manners. No need to fiddle with headlight adjusters now. I also had a stuck front strut at 40k miles. I replaced both struts only..Wish now that I replaced the springs as well. Been happy with the car otherwise...These items are pretty cheap if you are doing it yourself.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Mount Washington, KY, August 08, 2011 18:13
    This car has been reliable. 4.6L is a great engine. power windows very slow up and down. side electric mirrors stopped working.Other than that good car.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Edgewater, FL, July 02, 2011 14:34
    I'm in my 50s and have owned 4 other vehicles over the past 35 years - all Dodge/Chrysler products - some of which were ordered factory new, some of which were used. I now drive 70 - 80 miles per day for work and have always liked the feel and comfort of full size sedans. When you've got kids, having 4 doors and lots of room is a must. I purchased my 2000 M GM LS in 2003 with 32,000 miles, it now has over 210,000. Yes, at 180,000 I had to replace the plastic intake manifold, and at 200 when one of the coils finally failed, I bit the bullet and had all the coils replaced. That was my decision, that way I only had to pay for the labor once. While those two repairs seemed like a lot at a time, I always asked myself "could I replace this car and get as good a vehicle for the cost of the repair and what I could then sell it for?" and "how many months of a new car payment does this repair represent, would it justify buying new car and making a monthly payment for the next 60 months?" The answer has always been "no". Outside of these two repairs, I've paid for routine maintenance and tires - period. It is BY FAR THE BEST car I've ever owned (we also purchased a Lincoln LS at the same time and THAT CAR had nothing but problems). It still rides as good today as the day I brought it and still averages 22-25 mpg w/8 cyclinders. I'll be driving it until the day it dies.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Garland, TX, June 08, 2011 01:35
    Hey all..My 1997 Grand Marquis is in perfect condition since i got the intake manifold fixed.it set me back $800 to get it fixed but it was well worth it.At first i thought it was just running hot intill i saw smoke coming from the hood.Now its my Ac i think i need some Freon since its blowing hard hot air..Yea i dont think i would be feeling anything if my hose had a hole in it.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Dearborn Heights, MI, May 07, 2011 09:46
    put in new battery .wants to turn over but wont.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Kirkland, WA, May 06, 2011 19:01
    Best car I ever had (and I had over 30 so far). Bought it used with 163,000 miles, and it drives way better than anything else I know.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    fishing boat, West Islip, NY, April 19, 2011 08:36
     Rookie
    Many problems with the heating control system I changed it twice the first time was the heat was coming out of the ac the second time was there were no lights on the buttons. It looks like I will have to change this again for the third time there are several buttons that do not light up. again.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Warrior, AL, April 11, 2011 13:27
    Got my car 2nd hand at 120,000 miles. Just got 270,000 miles on it last week, avg 550 miles a week to work and back home. THe problems i have had are cracked intake manfold (plastic), air compressor, ac/hvac control mod ($500 new, $50 savage), and need to replace rotors (still first set). One coil pack to the spark plugs went bad, still drove on 7 cylinders (till i mad to to the shop). Still avg 23 mpg. The cat is starting to go that will be expensive. I love this car wish i could get another to replace this one when it finally dies.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    91e, Hialeah, FL, February 28, 2011 22:24
     Rookie
    have a problem with airconditioner .there is a 3 minute delay for the cooling to start. it used to come on instantly also there is a high heat oder coming from the engine but cant locate the origen .fecnik@gmail.com
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis
    WMSKI1440, Stillman Valley, IL, February 22, 2011 09:36
    Profile_thumbnail
     Enthusiast
    GOT 2ND HAND WIFE LOVES IT
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Amityville, NY, January 11, 2011 09:57
    The car runs great but in the 2006 model there is a glitch the automanic temp control head. This had to be changed twice. The fist time was becuase the heat was coming from the vents and the unit was not on. The second time is the lights for each button was not working, so at night time you can not see your selection.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis
    dethomas21, Kenedy, TX, December 09, 2010 21:51
     Rookie
    I have had several ball joint issues with this car but other than that its a good soild vehicle.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Valley, AL, December 08, 2010 02:40
    A smooth ride in all types of conditions. A lovely ride for distance.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Rev G, Lakewood, OH, November 30, 2010 10:51
     Enthusiast
    MY 2004 GRAND MARQUIS MERCURY I BOUGHT NEW WITH NO MILEAGE. NOW IN 2010, IT HAS 45,000 MILES ON IT . MY COMPLAINT: IT DRIVES LIKE IT HAS NOOOOOO POWER STEERING AT ALL AND CAUSES ME PAIN IN BOTH ROTATOR CUFFS ( REQUIRING TWO NERVE BLOCK CORTISONE SHOTS SO FAR). FINALLY, MY MECH.MGR HAS RETURNED ,SO I AM HAVING HIM CHECK OUT THE STEERING PUMP, BALL AND BEARINGS, CABLES THIS WK. THE GEARS ON THE STEERING WHEEL ARE WAY TOOO HARD TO SHIFT ! I AM SLIGHT AND THIS RACK AND PINION ASSISTED STEERING IS NO GOOD, TOO STIFF, TOO PAINFUL TO DRIVE !! IF ONLY I HAD MY OLD CLASSIC CAPRICE CHEVY REAR WHEEL FULL POWER STEERING (NOT ASSISTED) BACK !( MY CAPRICE WAS STOLEN IN 2008,ALAS!) QUESTION: WHAT CARS HAVE FULL ( NOT ASSISTED RACK AND PINION ) POWER STEERING AND EASY TO SHIFT GEARS ? I WILL HAVE TO GET RID OF THIS 2004 GRAND MARQ UNLESS MY SUPER MECHANIC MGR CAN FIX IT UP MUCH BETTER THAN IT IS NOW !@ ANY IDEAS TO MECHANICS AND CAR OWNERS OF THE 2004 MODEL ??? SIGNED: REV. VIGRASS ON NOV. 30, 2010 gvigrass@yahoo.com
    Flag This
  • 1998 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Virginia Beach, VA, November 26, 2010 16:51
    Absolutly the best car I have ever owned. I bought it used with 22,000 miles and have owned it for 11 years. Highway milage usually exceeds 27 mpg with cruise control. Local milage averages 17 mpg. This is the LS model and has automatic temperature control that still works perfectly - and the AC system has never been recharged. I am about to decide on whether to buy another car, or just spend the money to take care of some overdue maintenance. I am leaning toward doing the maintenance. At 140,000 miles, this car has a lot of life left.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Westerville, OH, October 13, 2010 18:50
    For all of you that think that you have a lot of life left in your 97-98 Mercury Grand Marquis just wait till the plastic intake manifold cracks. Very common problem. Makes an excellant car into a piece of junk.
    Flag This
  • 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Tarpon Springs, FL, October 09, 2010 07:09
    ilove this car
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Monroe Township, NJ, July 30, 2010 10:13
    Replaced transmission at 80,000. miles and problems with the automatic temp controls failing. Bad blower motors. Car rides nice,good pep but has been expensive.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Wheaton, MN, July 16, 2010 08:32
    Love the car..too bad they will no longer be making it. The EATC Module is a real stinker...$960.00 to replace it and all that is wrong is the "O" rings were cheap crap. There should be a recall on this Cheap piece of junk part.
    Flag This
  • 2009 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Gause, TX, July 13, 2010 07:06
    this is our 2nd mercury grand marquis and just love it. A very smooth and efficient motor and transmission. Luxury touring car at its best. A great car for the right price. Yes we'd buy another car , mercury.
    Flag This
  • 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis
    91 merc, Barrington, NJ, July 12, 2010 13:38
     Enthusiast
    my tranny has reverse but no forward gear does it need to be rebuilt or just an overhaul? Other than that i love it only has 34,500 miles.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Ocala, FL, July 10, 2010 06:27
    This the most outstang I've ever driven.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Dundalk, MD, June 25, 2010 19:42
    Car has been an electrical nightmare since day 1
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Lexington, NC, June 17, 2010 18:28
    Have had a lot of expensive trouble with the Automatic temp controls.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Jacksonville, FL, June 13, 2010 19:31
    Bought 2003 new..Always had "slippage" type noise when automatic transmission shifted at 42 mph. Dealer said it was normal, did nothing. Now have over 95,000 and makes worse noise at Every Shift! Developed crack in leather seat when 3 months old & Dealer wouldn't take care of it. They didn't deserve to be a Mercury Dealer!! NOW they won't be, as of Jan. 1st, 2011 Jacksonville,Fl.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Mercury Grand Marquis
    missboss, Louisville, KY, June 13, 2010 16:25
     Enthusiast
    I love the the car, the interior, the seats (back supports on long trips) and the amount of trunk room in 2007 Mercury Grand Marquis. Love the rear wheel drive and the braking system lets you feel secure. The lighting, both interior and exterior is more than sufficient. Nice quiet V8 engine with plenty of passing power if needed. When we travel, we use the cruise control, average about 21-25 miles per gallon for a 500-700 trip. Would I buy another? Yes
    Flag This
  • 2006 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Morriston, FL, June 09, 2010 20:31
    EATC climatic control is no good! Other wise a good car.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Reston, VA, April 22, 2010 16:19
    trans replaced @ 131k and rack and pinion a few months later. There is a major issue with the automatic temperature control system for the air conditioning. Other than that, it is a great car. Current mileage (as of April 2010) is 222k BTW It is in service as TAXI.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, Sarasota, FL, April 07, 2010 15:45
    great car ,great hwy gas milage.ive been very happy with car
    Flag This
  • 2004 Mercury Grand Marquis
    Visitor, New Albany, IN, April 02, 2010 20:38
    turn signal return broke heater adjustment bad I.E. electronic control. drink holder front broke
    Flag This
  • 1997 Mercury Grand Marquis
    robox489, Goodlettsville, TN, March 29, 2010 18:16
     Enthusiast
    lower ball joint broke soon after exiting the freeway,almost a wipout.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Mercury Grand Marquis
    repair head, Milton, FL, March 05, 2010 08:56
     Rookie
    over all car is a smooth riding luxury sedan,,, add a few more toys and it would be a lincoln at about a3rd of the price,,, but a lot of problems with the automatic temp control system
    Flag This
  • 1991 Mercury Grand Marquis
    MJS, North Chelmsford, MA, February 21, 2010 19:09
     Enthusiast
    A great Ride anywhere, Highway or across town. They dont make them like this anymore. A great family car with plenty of room.
    Flag This
  • 1990 Mercury Grand Marquis
    tykie1733, Pittsburgh, PA, September 24, 2009 18:58
     Enthusiast
    I REALLY DIDNT LIKE FORD OR MERCURY BUT THIS IS MY SECOND FORD PRODUCT AND IT RIDES SO SMOOTH IT LOOKS LIKE A LINCOLN RIDES LIKE A LINCOLN HAS ALL THE BELLS AND WHISLES.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Mercury Grand Marquis
    sy44, Miami, FL, August 22, 2009 13:13
     Enthusiast
    This car is equal to driving as the Lincoln Towncars that I use to drive.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis
    cammers2, Calabash, NC, April 13, 2009 04:21
     Enthusiast
    My wife and I love the the body style, the plush interior and the amount of trunk room in our 2008 Mercury Grand Marquis. Love the rear wheel drive and the braking system lets you feel secure. The lighting, both interior and exterior is more than sufficient. Nice quiet V8 engine with plenty of passing power if needed. Toasty warm in winter when we go north and more than sufficient air conditioning when it really starts to crank out the heat and humidity where we live. The ride is as a big car ride should be and the steering seems to be a little quick. When we travel, we use the cruise control and lock it in and we average about 25-26 miles per gallon for a 500-700 mile trip. Would we buy another? Yes
    Flag This
  • 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis
    sinaloco, Las Vegas, NV, February 07, 2009 12:36
     Enthusiast
    these is my favorite car
    Flag This
  • 1994 Mercury Grand Marquis
    4wheeler, Emeryville, CA, December 19, 2008 14:45
     Technician
    My Grandma owns a 1994 Grand Marquis and I help her with it on occasion. She bought it new and it has great features considering when it was made. It has Ford's great burn me/freeze me settings on the AC/heater and the interior is quite comfortable. It's not a hot rod but the engine makes good power and has been reliable. The only problem in recent memory was an issue with the alternator bearing (replaced alternator). As a driver you feel a little disconnected from the road but that's really how the American luxury cars were in the 90s. Otherwise it handles pretty well.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car