»

Reviews for Land Rover Discovery years:

  1. (0)
  2. (0)
  3. (1)
  4. (0)
  5. (1)
  6. (2)
  7. (0)
  8. (1)
  9. (1)
  10. (2)
  11. (3)

Owners' Reviews

Land Rover Discovery Reviews and Owner Comments

 
11 Reviews
Land Rover DiscoveryOwner Reviews (11 reviews)
  • 2004 Land Rover Discovery
    Visitor, Cape Coral, FL, August 12, 2011 15:08
    Have owned a 2004 SE7 since '05 - purchased used from LR Dealer with 20k miles, now has 76k. In the 6 yrs of ownership, it has been very, very good - although not perfect: loves to drink premium gas, window motors in both front doors needed replaced, moonroof seals are leak prone, and CD 6-pk got stuck & needed repaired. Mechanically, it has been flawless UP UNTIL NOW - coolant has been disappearing (resovoir almost empty after only a month after filling) with no obvious signs of leaks. Little bit of research online yielded Head Gasket Issues as source - which will not be fun to replace. Still, as it's the only Real powertrain issue in 6 yrs of ownership, overall the truck is a tank and has been dependable. My family is safe in it and, of course, it's offroad capabilities are absolutely incredible. Although head gasket repair is not a cheap by any means, we remain very pleased overall with our Disco and look forward to several more years of ownership.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Land Rover Discovery
    Visitor, Camby, IN, September 18, 2010 11:41
    I had to put a head gasket on my 2002. Did it myself. Dealer wanted $6k to to the head gasket. This thing runs like a horse and is fun to drive while looking classy.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Land Rover Discovery
    Visitor, East Providence, RI, July 20, 2010 16:38
    The vehicle is great. HOWEVER...DON"T deal with the dealer if you can avoid it...it will be a nightmare. ALSO, the electrical systems suck..always a problem. Every door lock does not work..all 5doors and NO RECALL. It drive sgreat and handles well in the snow..
    Flag This
  • 2003 Land Rover Discovery
    kiwisurfer, Lafayette, CA, June 08, 2010 07:39
     Enthusiast
    If you bought one of these to drive around town and road-trip to LA....you got the wrong rig. Go buy some floaty American SUV. If you're an outdoor enthusiast that likes to take the road less traveled, have a passion for surfing spots in Baja that can't be accessed without a mule or airplane...here is your mule. Truck ALWAYS starts...never a hiccup. It's still running a good old fashioned "buick" engine that have been rolling in Rovers since the 60's. Yep they have issues but nothing unusual. Oil leaks will develop, not much more than torquing or replacing aged gaskets. Change the fluid in the difs and tranny which is what the vehicle is all about and you'll get many years of service from it. electronics are not sophisticated, the sensors can get expensive but there are several good LR parts houses on the net. DO NOT go to the dealer after warranty.....it will be almost triple the cost of an independent. Rugged and ready to assault the ribbons of unpaved roads....and throw in some snow now and then. Those that complain about LRs, bought one for all the wrong reasons..they wanted some "status" symbol from a truck used by farmers the world over...come on. These are a good DIY repair vehicle on most aspects too.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Land Rover Discovery
    Visitor, Houston, TX, May 19, 2010 11:05
    Wow what a truck! Simply the best factory 4x4 available on the planet. You have to know what you are gettting into with one of these rigs though. Its is not a car you can simply change the oil in and expect to run for ever. They require an attentive owner, and a good service shop...but if well maintained this could be your rig for life! once you get past your warrantees, there is a plethora of aftermarket gear to take this truck from basic to Bad Ass If you really want to respect and enjoy the Disco, take it off road and see what it can really do in the environment it was intended for. Dont forget to smile and wave as you cruise past all your friends who got stuck in their lifted pickups and jeeps...if your feeling nice, throw it low and drag them out with no hesitation or trouble.(this thing will pull a house even with the 4.0L) Bottom line, do your research on both the model and the specific truck...expect to have some maintenance costs.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Land Rover Discovery
    Visitor, Austin, TX, April 28, 2010 08:06
    Great Truck
    Flag This
  • 1999 Land Rover Discovery
    LRGIRL, Austin, TX, January 29, 2010 20:43
     Enthusiast
    I own 2 Disc ll and I would have it no other way....01 and 99....if you are willing to research you can cut your cost on repairs if you do the work yourself. It is the saftest car I would put my kids in. Tehy have thier issues but it is the only SUV that can go the distance....the world is it's play ground....
    Flag This
  • 2003 Land Rover Discovery
    JohnMc, Acton, MA, January 18, 2010 15:48
     Enthusiast
    Off-road - no problem. Snow storms - handles extremely well. Principle mode of transportation - NO WAY. Dealers are vampires and service reps are minions of the dealer. I cannot believe how badly serviced this vehicle is. Oil pump has a serious design flaw, ABS system sucks, legacy electrical problems that have haunted this vehicle for more than 10 years. LR has known about these faults for years but does nothing. Better to say nothing than recall all those lemons - right? Looks great but no substance. Take a lesson from GMC or Ford trucks and give us LR owners a break. TATA owns this now and I wonder if they'll do any better.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Land Rover Discovery
    bdub, Redmond, OR, October 06, 2009 10:09
     Enthusiast
    this thing is a piece of JUNK!! i have had nothing but problems with it! the brits cannot build a good car! i dont have time in the day to list everything that is wrong with it! i would be here all day! the list of things that work. we have put more money into the stupid thing then we paid for it. i hate the POS with a passion! i would have done cash for clunker but i didnt feel like having a new car payment. overall everthing about this is bad. it is good off road and thats it! overall anyone who buys this need their head checked! DO NOT GET ONE!!! TRUST ME!!!!!!
    Flag This
  • 1998 Land Rover Discovery
    MayrieL, Covington, GA, July 26, 2009 11:07
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car used, and the problems that I mention were already a part of the car. However, it does drives good and for the age of the car it is in good shape physically. However, the cost to repair it is extremely high.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Land Rover Discovery
    LandyII, Arcadia, CA, February 12, 2009 22:02
     Enthusiast
    This car is above average
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car