» » » Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair

Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair

(515) 250-4363

5356 Merle Hay Rd Bay South 4, Johnston, IA 50131

Overall Score

Message from the Shop

Business done by appointment.

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Audi Buick
Cadillac Chevrolet Chrysler
Dodge Ford GMC
Geo Honda Hyundai
Infiniti Isuzu Jeep
Kia Land Rover Lexus
Lincoln Mazda Mercury
Mitsubishi Nissan Oldsmobile
Plymouth Pontiac Saab
Saturn Scion Subaru
Suzuki Toyota Volkswagen

Specialties

Check Engine Light Muffler & Exhaust Oil Change & Lube Roadside Assistance
Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair Smog/Emissions Testing Timing Belts

Amenities

Car Delivery Car Pickup/Dropoff Early Bird Dropoff Extended/Evening Hours
Open Saturday Open Weekends Service Guarantee Shopping Nearby
Towing

Customer Reviews (5 reviews)

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair
June 09, 2011

I found a card at the local parts store and was referd to them by the cashier. this company is very good at what they and i would reccomend anybody to them. there name says it all they were so honest to me and showed me everything that was not only wrong with my car but also good things about my car. it makes me not cringe everytime i need a car repair because they make sure that you understand everything that is going on with my car. im so glad i finally found a mechanic to do my car repairs right, and right the first time. price was very resonable also! for being such a new business they are doing everything great!

Flag This
Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair
June 29, 2011

Excellent company to work with! I am definately going to be a customer for Honest Wrenches for life. They are such down to earth People and always help me with anything I need. Service was Excellent and Customer Service was just as good! They Showed me what was wrong with my car and why it went wrong. I 100% reccomend Honest Wrenches to anyone!

Flag This
Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair
July 22, 2011

Coming through the city of Johnston, on our way back home, we were referred to Honest Wrenches and thought we would give them a try.
The man was very knowledgeable and just like the name of the company, was honest with us about repairs needed for our vehicle. Another repair shop advised us that we needed hundreds of dollars of repairs to be done, but Honest Wrenches told us that it was not necessary. He saved us hundreds of dollars and repaired ONLY what was necessary to get us on our way and back home! Great job, guys!

Flag This
Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair
bronco11
June 27, 2014

Very nice guys to talk with. However their listening leaves a lot to be desired. Dropped of my car and gave them a history of what had been done on the problem I was leaving it for. They came back with a laundry list of things that needed to be done to the car and a $1,200 price tag to go with it. Very disappointed in their method and attempt at a pay day.

Flag This
Reply from Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair -  honestwrenchesJune 27, 2014 14:35

Hello Rodney, let me start off by saying thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you, but when you asked me to diagnose why fuel was spilling out when you put gas in your car that's what I did. then you asked me to do an oil change ( which comes with an inspection ) on your car as well. it is my job to tell you everything about your car so you are safe and your vehicle lasts a long time. if I did not tell you that your car needed those items and they went bad then it would then be a failure on me. but at no cause am I trying to attempt at a " pay day " but I am trying to make sure that you, your family, and others on the road are safe while you are out traveling. I understand that you do most of the work yourself and that is ok. it is still my job to tell you what your car needs for may sake and your safety. next time you are in a bind, feel free to reach out to us to diagnose your vehicle any time. thank you! - Travis

Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair
Septseven
March 26, 2014

Awful. Went to honest wrenches to have my steering rack replaced, and they did such a terrible job I had to take it to another mechanic. Don't go here unless you have a death wish.

Flag This
Reply from Honest Wrenches Automotive Repair -  honestwrenchesMarch 27, 2014 04:46

I'm very sorry that you feel that way. We perform high quality repair work, and stand behind our work. If you would have called us and notified us or your issue it would have been dealt accordingly. We do carry a 2 year 24,000 mile warranty on parts and labor. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience. I would like to make it right, if you could please send me an email so I know who I am speaking with I would appreciate it. Thank you. Honestwrenches@gmail.com