Close

FreeState Auto & Truck Service

(301) 533-7760
66 Verified Reviews
freestate4040@yahoo.com

HOURS
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Monday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Tuesday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Wednesday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Thursday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Friday
08:00
13:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Saturday
Su
Closed
M
7:00am to 5:30pm
T
7:00am to 5:30pm
W
7:00am to 5:30pm
Th
7:00am to 5:30pm
F
7:00am to 5:30pm
S
8:00am to 1:00pm

ADDRESS

200 Ritchie Rd
A
Capitol Heights, MD 20743 USA

AUTO REPAIR EXPERIENCE

  • Charlie Kidwell, Owners
  • Established 1989
  • 5 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 2 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 94 Years of Car Repair Experience

FreeState Auto & Truck Service Reviews

OVERALL RATING

66 Verified Reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(6)
by - Verified Customer March 07, 2017

If I could give this place zero stars I would. Last year in 2016 my truck was towed to this place because a rusted brake line burst. I was told that they replace all of my brake lines and they charged me almost $1000. March 8th 2017, I took my truck in for an issue with a vibrating pedal and grumbling sound when I applied the brakes; they diagnosed the issue and quoted me the price. A day later Vick called me stating that a vibrating pedal and grumbling sound 'different from my original complaint exist and they needed to change the ABS sensor and that would cost me additional money. I went to Freestate Mar 10th to test drive the vehicle to see if the problem I bought the car in for still existed and it did. They tried to charge me additional money for misdiagnosing and fixing the wrong problem. March 18th I picked my truck up from Freestate and took it home. A few hours later I noticed puddles of fluid on the ground, under my vehicle, on the driver rear side (it was break fluid). I took my truck back to Freestate today (May 20th) and they quoted me over $325 for a job that should have been included in my brake line replacements last year. As of now they still have my vehicle and it's not fixed.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

This issue has been taken care of. We did do brake lines last year ( we repaired what needed to be done). Vehicle was driven for 1 year. It would have been a lot more expense to replace all brake lines that were not an issue at that time. The fuel tank and other components would have had to be removed. We installed brake lines according to manufacture procedures. Brake lining replacement were declined at that time (under safety specs). We did extra repairs at NO CHARGE per our customer satisfaction policy. Note- her 1999 GNC pick (18 yrs old) up has lots of rust on the under carriage ( we did show customer future issues) I am sorry she has had issues and feel that it was our fault. We have accommodated her as best as possible. Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer February 27, 2017

I appreciated the service received. While I waited for my vehicle I observed other customers response to be satisfied return customers as well.

by - Verified Customer February 09, 2017

My car was checked from bumper to bumper.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Thanks Minnie. Hope we were of help. I can not tell from your review. Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer February 09, 2017

Shop is super great.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Thanks Anthony, we try to keep all our clients satisfied. Please tell others about our shop. Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 31, 2017

Great service very friendly, respectful and responsive. Freestate is the best! Thanks again.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

WOW! We appreciate the kind words, I will tell my staff. Thank you Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 26, 2017

It was very pleasant.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 22, 2017

Not happy this time.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Dedrick, Please contact me and give more information. I want to review and see what we fell short on. Even though I don't like negative reviews (of course), We use them to get better and train our ASE staff. Thank you for input. Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 22, 2017

My first experience was good. I would have work done there again.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Thank you, Please tell your friends, this is the biggest way our company has grown over the last 28 years. We do strive to earn your business. Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 19, 2017

Great!

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Short and sweet! Love it Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 18, 2017

Great people and service every time I visit.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Thanks Timothy for being a return satisfied client. We would not exist without great customers like you. We do appreciate your support. Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 17, 2017

The service and staff were great but whoever serviced my car put grease marks on the visor and overhead with a small hole.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Sorry we fell short, We have contacted you and have arrange to have your car cleaned. Thanks for telling us so we have an opportunity to correct it. Will discuss with my staff. Thank you Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 12, 2017

Very good.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Thank you William. Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 11, 2017

Excellent service!

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

That's what I like seeing! Thank you Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 11, 2017

Satisfied!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 08, 2017

The folks up front are great. They are friendly, helpful, and they know their job. Great job Sandy, Brandi, and Victor!

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

I get a lot of compliments on my service writer staff. They do a great job and they care about Freestate's clients. You can not teach them that. Thanks Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer January 06, 2017

I'm glad I found this shop.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 May 02, 2017

Gary I am probably more glad than you, LOL. Great customers are hard to find. Please tell your friends. Thank you Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 02, 2017

I enjoy going here.

by - Verified Customer December 22, 2016

The staff at Freestate is a group of highly trained and effective professionals. They have done some of the best work I have ever had done.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 21, 2016

The staff was great and the vehicle was returned by the time promised. But the underlying issue is still present, and I am going to have to take it back to them to address it.

by - Verified Customer December 20, 2016

There was oil residue left on driver side floor mats.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 14, 2016

Work was done in good time and the price was fair.

by - Verified Customer December 12, 2016

I like this shop!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 08, 2016

Great!

by - Verified Customer December 08, 2016

Sandy took very good care of me and my car. I never felt like I was being given the runaround. To the contrary, I felt that I was treated honestly and forthrightly. Based on the quality of work and the customer service, I will be taking both of my cars back to FreeState. Sandy is terrific!

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 04, 2016

One of the employees explained what needed to be done to my car and also broke down the cost estimate. She was very helpful from the first time I got work done to the most recent time. All the staff are very friendly and make you feel like your talking to someone you knew for your whole life.

by - Verified Customer December 02, 2016

For the past several years I have been extremely satisfied with Freestate in keeping my over 250,000 mileage Yukon on the road and up to standard in maintenance.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 27, 2016

The service was great and the customer service was excellent. This is a great staff i would highly recommend them.

by - Verified Customer November 24, 2016

I was satisfied with my experience at the shop.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 20, 2016

Great.

by - Verified Customer November 14, 2016

Alright.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 09, 2016

Been coming here for sometime now and always happy with the work! Love the people and service.

by - Verified Customer November 09, 2016

Good job and quick.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 08, 2016

Work was done on time and as agreed. Fair price for work done.

by - Verified Customer November 07, 2016

The FreeState folks did a thorough examination of my truck and corrected a lot of problems.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 28, 2016

The service was fast and the repair cost was reasonable. Brandy provided outstanding customer service.

by September 27, 2016

I was very satisfied with the service rendered and the calls that was place telling me what need to be done and and how long will it take. I can always depend on Free State do work on my car. No complaint as of yet.

+ Show more reviews
by September 26, 2016

great service, but they could not find a part for my car.

by - Verified Customer September 16, 2016

Customer service was remarkable. They told me that it would take 2 weeks to get the part in for my car. It took less than 2 weeks to get the part in and they fixed it very quickly. I was very satisfied.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 09, 2016

Good work, but a bit pricey.

by - Verified Customer September 09, 2016

My three hour repair took six hours, but this was an emergency and I was not on the schedule. I'm very satisfied. Thank you

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 07, 2016

Not happy with my alignment. Steering wheel is not straight.

by - Verified Customer September 07, 2016

I took my van to Freestate with a vibration at high speed, a problem with my battery being drained after sitting for a few days and a door window that worked intermitently. They said that I had broken belts in both front tires which were only 18 months old. They charged me over $1700 for two new tires and an oil change and a diagnostic charge. The quoted me a $795 charge to dignose the battery problem and
said that I needed a complete brake job which would cost about $1500. When I drove there I had no indication of a brake problem, when I left my brakes mere making a lot of noise. I took the van to another shop and they found that a loose battery cable was causing the drain and they said something
in my brakes was left loose. They charged me $146 for fixing the brakes and no charge for tightening the
the battery cable.
The front end of the van still vibrates at high speed and the window still does not work. I have parked the van until I can find a trustworthy shop to fix these problems.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 16, 2013

The inspector was very knowledgeable and courteous.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Lisa , Thank you for the kind words, our staff tries very hard to keep our customers satisfied and telling others. We appreciate your business.
Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 13, 2013

Well, actually they are supposed to be ordering me a part and they have not called me to tell me if it has come in. I hope they call me in the next day or two.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 11, 2013

I think I had pretty good service there, they talked to me about what was wrong with my car, I was treated pretty good.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Thanks Michael, If you have any questions please contact me.We appreciate your support. Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 09, 2013

I have no complaints, they have excellent customer service.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Just what I like to hear about our customer service.We take our service very seriously and strive to give the best in the area. We need to earn your business and loyalty. Charlie-owner

+ Show more reviews
by December 02, 2013

They are friendly.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

We try to treat our customers the way we want to be treated.
Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 02, 2013

The shop had my car for 12 days and was not able to properly diagnose my car. In addition, they replaced a part on my car that wasn't related to the problem my car was having and charged me $600. I had to have my car towed from this shop to a dealership to have my car correctly diagnosed and fixed.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 26, 2013

They are friendly and honest.

by - Verified Customer November 15, 2013

I didn't like their service. Because I felt that they damaged my car and I had to pay for it.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 31, 2013

It was not a good experience with this last situation. There was poor communication. I am not sure if the technician knew how to work with my car. I just was not satisfied with the outcome.

by - Verified Customer October 28, 2013

The folks there know what fair auto repair is.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer October 18, 2013

The service was fine but it is very unlikely that I would be recommending a towing service.

by October 15, 2013

I took my car in and it would have taken eight hours to repair. It took seven days and it still was not repaired. I would not go to them if I needed something done. When it takes seven days to do a small repair, how long would it take to do a major problem?

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 25, 2013

The owner works with you. He actually takes you in the back and shows you what needs to be done. He will make payment arrangements if you need him to. The whole staff is great. I would not take my car anywhere else.

by September 25, 2013

They seemed to be expensive. They had my car for a very long time. They did what was needed but they were back and forth on what was wrong. They had my car for a long time.

+ Show more reviews
by September 25, 2013

They were very reliable and fast.

by - Verified Customer September 24, 2013

Good prices and fast service.

+ Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 19, 2013

I believe it to be highly commendable..

by - Verified Customer September 17, 2013

Service was good.

+ Show more reviews
by September 16, 2013

My car repair came out good. There was nothing wrong with it.

by - Verified Customer July 26, 2013

Good polite and prompt service.

+ Show more reviews
by May 28, 2013

I was satisfied with what they did with my car.

3 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by 2 verified reviewers
by 1 verified reviewer

RepairPal Scorecard
91
OVERALL QUALITY SCORE

24
month
Nationwide
warranty
24
month
Local
warranty
TECHNICAL ABILITY
89
TOOLS & EQUIPMENT
100
CUSTOMER SERVICE
87
CUSTOMER AMENITIES
93

Freestate Auto & Truck Service has been serving the Capital Heights community since 1989. Freestate is a large, well equipped automotive repair facility that is capable of handling most of your automotive service and repair needs. The RepairPal Certified shop features a team of experienced professionals with well over 100 years of professional experience amongst them. This experience coupled with the training and great tools makes this crew capable of performing high quality professional repairs. They back their work with a 24-month / 24,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, rental cars, and a waiting area with wireless Internet is available for your comfort and convenience.


Details

SPECIALTIES

  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Collision Repair & Paint
  • Diagnosis
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
  • Windshield/Glass
+ More

AMENITIES

  • AAA Member Discount
  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Military Discount
  • Open Saturday
  • Open Weekends
  • Parts/Accessories
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Towing
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet
+ More

AFFILIATIONS

  • ACDelco
  • ASA
  • ASE Blue Seal
  • TECH-NET
  • iATN

MESSAGE FROM THE SHOP

Freestate Auto & Truck is a full service family owned repair shop. We offer a free shuttle , discount towing. We have been in business since 1989 offering full warranty on all repairs.

Freestate Auto & Truck Service is conveniently located in central Prince George's County. From the latest and best in tire technology from Bridgestone and Firestone to the services required to keep your vehicle looking good and running great, like Alignment, Air Conditioning, Diagnostics, Oil Changes and Brakes, Freestate Auto & Truck Service can get you out on the road quickly and affordably. Stop by soon and see why so many people consider Freestate Auto & Truck Service the one-stop shop for all their tire needs.

We want to earn your business Call US today! Thank You

MAKES WE SERVE

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
+ More
Questions Answered by FreeState Auto & Truck Service
Front seats torn at seams. Thermostat brok...
Hi Volvo, For your info, the average age for a car in the U.S. is about 11.4 years and going up. Its not uncommon to see a cars mileage approaching 300, 000 now a days. You are fortunate that you are stilling driving your car and may have time to make a intelligent decision. It does sound like you are going to be doing repairs on a regular basis ( this is taking place of a car note). I would have the car inspected by a certified shop to determine condition of car. If you have been thinking about replacing and can afford it, now would be a good time to do this.
Okay so my brake lights aren't coming ...
Check to make sure correct bulbs have been installed. If they were working properly before putting new bulbs in, retrace your steps. If problem is still occurring, you should have it inspected by a shop. Make sure you tell them what has been going on, it may help them find the issue sooner and save you some money.
Will I cause damage by driving until its f...
A couple of questions, Is it leaking any fluids? How is it running? Is it burning a lot of fuel? It can cause more damage if you continue to drive, it could overheat, or burn a lot richer causing internal engine issues. If this has been a good mode of transportation and you count of it as your everyday car, you should not put the repair off. It could cost you a lot more to have repaired.
And it say reduce engine power what does t...
The lights are telling you something is going on and it needs to be inspected. It doesn't mean that it is a major issue. Have it checked out by a certified shop,(not a parts store) to have issue diagnose. It is impossible to tell what needs to be done without guessing and costing money for unneeded repairs.
my gears is shifting.
I would suggest calling the Dealer with your vin number (serial number). It is found on your registration card, on drivers door jam or at bottom of front windshield. They can tell you without going to the dealer if any recalls have been issued. The vin number is 17 digits and letters long. A recall is usually repair at the dealer under warranty at no cost. Good Luck!
Also the driver side blows cold and the pa...
Could be a couple of issues, A/C system could be low on Freon and need recharging. Also with one side not working properly it could be Blend door related ( this is the door in the dash that opens and closes the air flow) . May not be a simple repair, Have it checked out by a qualified Technician.
What does P0172 means. The check engine l...
The code on your Volvo Shows your fuel system running too rich ( bank 1). This is usually caused by a vacuum leak. Not usually a expensive repair. Needs to be tested for leaks. You are probably using more Fuel than Normal. Have It repaired more it causes any damage.

Map
Get Directions to FreeState Auto & Truck Service

Asset 71
HIGH QUALITY REPAIRS
Your auto repair done right, only the work you need with no add ons.
Asset 72
TRANSPARENT PRICING
Our free estimator calculates a custom price for your vehicle repair.
Asset 73
GUARANTEED REPAIRS
Rest easy knowing you're covered by our RepairPal Nationwide Warranty.