Close

FreeState Auto & Truck Service

✓ RepairPal Certified
freestate4040@yahoo.com
200 Ritchie Rd
A
Capitol Heights, MD 20743 USA
View map and get directions
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Monday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Tuesday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Wednesday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Thursday
07:00
17:30
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Friday
08:00
13:00
http://purl.org/goodrelations/v1#Saturday
CLOSED NOW
S
8:00am to 1:00pm
CLOSED NOW
T
7:00am to 5:30pm
S
8:00am to 1:00pm
W
7:00am to 5:30pm
Su
Closed
Th
7:00am to 5:30pm
M
7:00am to 5:30pm
F
7:00am to 5:30pm
Call now:
(301) 533-7760
61 Verified Reviews

Auto Repair Experience

  • Charlie Kidwell, Owners
  • Established 1989
  • 5 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 2 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 94 Years of Car Repair Experience
RepairPal Scorecard

Freestate Auto & Truck Service has been serving the Capital Heights community since 1989. Freestate is a large, well equipped automotive repair facility that is capable of handling most of your automotive service and repair needs. The RepairPal Certified shop features a team of experienced professionals with well over 100 years of professional experience amongst them. This experience coupled with the training and great tools makes this crew capable of performing high quality professional repairs. They back their work with a 24-month / 24,000-mile warranty. Local shuttle service, rental cars, and a waiting area with wireless Internet is available for your comfort and convenience.

Details

Auto Repair Experience

  • Charlie Kidwell, Owners
  • Established 1989
  • 5 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 2 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 94 Years of Car Repair Experience

Specialties

  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Collision Repair & Paint
  • Diagnosis
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
  • Windshield/Glass

Amenities

  • AAA Member Discount
  • Car Delivery
  • Car Pickup/Dropoff
  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Military Discount
  • Open Saturday
  • Open Weekends
  • Parts/Accessories
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Towing
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet

Affiliations

  • ACDelco
  • ASA
  • ASE Blue Seal
  • TECH-NET
  • iATN

Message from the Shop

Freestate Auto & Truck is a full service family owned repair shop. We offer a free shuttle , discount towing. We have been in business since 1989 offering full warranty on all repairs.

Freestate Auto & Truck Service is conveniently located in central Prince George's County. From the latest and best in tire technology from Bridgestone and Firestone to the services required to keep your vehicle looking good and running great, like Alignment, Air Conditioning, Diagnostics, Oil Changes and Brakes, Freestate Auto & Truck Service can get you out on the road quickly and affordably. Stop by soon and see why so many people consider Freestate Auto & Truck Service the one-stop shop for all their tire needs.

We want to earn your business Call US today! Thank You

Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
Reviews

Overall Rating

59 Verified Reviews
5 stars
(28)
4 stars
(17)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(5)
by - Verified Customer January 31, 2017

Great service very friendly, respectful and responsive. Freestate is the best! Thanks again.

by - Verified Customer January 26, 2017

It was very pleasant.

by - Verified Customer January 08, 2017

The folks up front are great. They are friendly, helpful, and they know their job. Great job Sandy, Brandi, and Victor!

by - Verified Customer January 22, 2017

My first experience was good. I would have work done there again.

by - Verified Customer January 18, 2017

Great people and service every time I visit.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 22, 2017

Not happy this time.

by - Verified Customer January 12, 2017

Very good.

by - Verified Customer January 19, 2017

Great!

by - Verified Customer January 02, 2017

I enjoy going here.

by - Verified Customer January 11, 2017

Satisfied!

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer January 17, 2017

The service and staff were great but whoever serviced my car put grease marks on the visor and overhead with a small hole.

by - Verified Customer January 11, 2017

Excellent service!

by - Verified Customer January 06, 2017

I'm glad I found this shop.

by - Verified Customer December 21, 2016

The staff was great and the vehicle was returned by the time promised. But the underlying issue is still present, and I am going to have to take it back to them to address it.

by - Verified Customer December 08, 2016

Great!

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 22, 2016

The staff at Freestate is a group of highly trained and effective professionals. They have done some of the best work I have ever had done.

by - Verified Customer December 20, 2016

There was oil residue left on driver side floor mats.

by - Verified Customer December 14, 2016

Work was done in good time and the price was fair.

by - Verified Customer December 12, 2016

I like this shop!

by - Verified Customer December 02, 2016

For the past several years I have been extremely satisfied with Freestate in keeping my over 250,000 mileage Yukon on the road and up to standard in maintenance.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 08, 2016

Sandy took very good care of me and my car. I never felt like I was being given the runaround. To the contrary, I felt that I was treated honestly and forthrightly. Based on the quality of work and the customer service, I will be taking both of my cars back to FreeState. Sandy is terrific!

by - Verified Customer December 04, 2016

One of the employees explained what needed to be done to my car and also broke down the cost estimate. She was very helpful from the first time I got work done to the most recent time. All the staff are very friendly and make you feel like your talking to someone you knew for your whole life.

by - Verified Customer November 27, 2016

The service was great and the customer service was excellent. This is a great staff i would highly recommend them.

by - Verified Customer November 09, 2016

Been coming here for sometime now and always happy with the work! Love the people and service.

by - Verified Customer November 14, 2016

Alright.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 20, 2016

Great.

by - Verified Customer November 08, 2016

Work was done on time and as agreed. Fair price for work done.

by - Verified Customer November 09, 2016

Good job and quick.

by - Verified Customer November 07, 2016

The FreeState folks did a thorough examination of my truck and corrected a lot of problems.

by - Verified Customer November 24, 2016

I was satisfied with my experience at the shop.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 28, 2016

The service was fast and the repair cost was reasonable. Brandy provided outstanding customer service.

by September 27, 2016

I was very satisfied with the service rendered and the calls that was place telling me what need to be done and and how long will it take. I can always depend on Free State do work on my car. No complaint as of yet.

by September 26, 2016

great service, but they could not find a part for my car.

by - Verified Customer September 16, 2016

Customer service was remarkable. They told me that it would take 2 weeks to get the part in for my car. It took less than 2 weeks to get the part in and they fixed it very quickly. I was very satisfied.

by - Verified Customer September 09, 2016

My three hour repair took six hours, but this was an emergency and I was not on the schedule. I'm very satisfied. Thank you

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 09, 2016

Good work, but a bit pricey.

by - Verified Customer September 07, 2016

Not happy with my alignment. Steering wheel is not straight.

by - Verified Customer September 07, 2016

I took my van to Freestate with a vibration at high speed, a problem with my battery being drained after sitting for a few days and a door window that worked intermitently. They said that I had broken belts in both front tires which were only 18 months old. They charged me over $1700 for two new tires and an oil change and a diagnostic charge. The quoted me a $795 charge to dignose the battery problem and
said that I needed a complete brake job which would cost about $1500. When I drove there I had no indication of a brake problem, when I left my brakes mere making a lot of noise. I took the van to another shop and they found that a loose battery cable was causing the drain and they said something
in my brakes was left loose. They charged me $146 for fixing the brakes and no charge for tightening the
the battery cable.
The front end of the van still vibrates at high speed and the window still does not work. I have parked the van until I can find a trustworthy shop to fix these problems.

by - Verified Customer December 16, 2013

The inspector was very knowledgeable and courteous.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Lisa , Thank you for the kind words, our staff tries very hard to keep our customers satisfied and telling others. We appreciate your business.
Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 13, 2013

Well, actually they are supposed to be ordering me a part and they have not called me to tell me if it has come in. I hope they call me in the next day or two.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer December 11, 2013

I think I had pretty good service there, they talked to me about what was wrong with my car, I was treated pretty good.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Thanks Michael, If you have any questions please contact me.We appreciate your support. Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 09, 2013

I have no complaints, they have excellent customer service.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

Just what I like to hear about our customer service.We take our service very seriously and strive to give the best in the area. We need to earn your business and loyalty. Charlie-owner

by December 02, 2013

They are friendly.

Reply from FreeState Auto & Truck Service – by FREESTATE4040 January 29, 2014

We try to treat our customers the way we want to be treated.
Charlie-owner

by - Verified Customer December 02, 2013

The shop had my car for 12 days and was not able to properly diagnose my car. In addition, they replaced a part on my car that wasn't related to the problem my car was having and charged me $600. I had to have my car towed from this shop to a dealership to have my car correctly diagnosed and fixed.

by - Verified Customer November 26, 2013

They are friendly and honest.

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer November 15, 2013

I didn't like their service. Because I felt that they damaged my car and I had to pay for it.

by - Verified Customer October 31, 2013

It was not a good experience with this last situation. There was poor communication. I am not sure if the technician knew how to work with my car. I just was not satisfied with the outcome.

by - Verified Customer October 28, 2013

The folks there know what fair auto repair is.

by - Verified Customer October 18, 2013

The service was fine but it is very unlikely that I would be recommending a towing service.

by October 15, 2013

I took my car in and it would have taken eight hours to repair. It took seven days and it still was not repaired. I would not go to them if I needed something done. When it takes seven days to do a small repair, how long would it take to do a major problem?

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 25, 2013

The owner works with you. He actually takes you in the back and shows you what needs to be done. He will make payment arrangements if you need him to. The whole staff is great. I would not take my car anywhere else.

by September 25, 2013

They were very reliable and fast.

by September 25, 2013

They seemed to be expensive. They had my car for a very long time. They did what was needed but they were back and forth on what was wrong. They had my car for a long time.

by - Verified Customer September 24, 2013

Good prices and fast service.

by - Verified Customer September 19, 2013

I believe it to be highly commendable..

Show more reviews
by - Verified Customer September 17, 2013

Service was good.

by September 16, 2013

My car repair came out good. There was nothing wrong with it.

by - Verified Customer July 26, 2013

Good polite and prompt service.

by May 28, 2013

I was satisfied with what they did with my car.

3 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by 2 verified reviewers
by 1 verified reviewer
Map
Get Directions to FreeState Auto & Truck Service
RepairPal Certified
We certify the best mechanics so everyone can get quality auto repair at fair prices.
  • High quality repair
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Real, verified reviews
  • Current expert training
  • Warranty on repairs
  • Great customer service
For Shop Owners