»

Reviews for Dodge Stratus years:

  1. (0)
  2. (1)
  3. (3)
  4. (8)
  5. (5)
  6. (7)
  7. (4)
  8. (2)
  9. (1)
  10. (2)
  11. (0)
  12. (4)

Owners' Reviews

Dodge Stratus Reviews and Owner Comments

 
37 Reviews
Dodge StratusOwner Reviews (37 reviews)
  • 2006 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Mcpherson, KS, December 20, 2013 07:17
    Play has developed in the crankshaft/harmonic balancer area and in turn the front seal is bad and leaks oil. 140,000 miles on car and being told by mechanic that seal replacement by itself is no good. would need to drop pan and replace at least front main bearing along with seal and with the miles probably the timing belt and water pump as well but cost may be prohibitive and may or may not be worth repairing. Anyone else experienced something like this?
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Holtwood, PA, March 05, 2012 15:44
    We have a 99 Stratus we bought new with a v 6 & we love it. I change the oil every 3,000 miles, & rotate the tires every other oil change. It has 150,000 miles on it & still gets 29 MPG on the highway.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    sickcom, Kunkletown, PA, February 25, 2012 20:22
     Rookie
    2000 Dodge Stratus 199,432 miles ,as far as the the body is concerned ,my rocker panels are decaying like cancer. the brakes i take care of , front pads and rotors about 25-30 thousand miles . rear 75000 or so. drive train , had to replace the shift solenoid at 65,000 miles, been good since.the timing belt went at 161,000 yeah i was dumb enough not to replace it earlier. electrical and lights, the only door switch that works for my dome light is my drivers door,the light for the shifter comes on and off sporatically.engine knocks a little when i start it up , i change the oil. as far as emissions, had to replace the gas tank filler neck , and as of 02/25/2012 sounds like i have an exhaust leak. i put many dollars into the suspension , seems like a weak part of this car. getting back to the hvac i let the the a/c go i dont use it,the heat is still very good although. any questions contact me. i have 199,432 on it ,i cant complain since i bought it new ,its still my baby.it still gives me 25 mpg.seriously!
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    Ronnzo, Viola, AR, November 12, 2011 12:47
     Rookie
    217000 miles.This car has been a jewell!!! It had 60,000 when I bought it. The A/C pump went at 15000. Timing belt had never been replaced till 216000. Brakes, oil, lube, just regular maintainance. 32mpg on the hiway. The fan control switch only works on hi but for the miles, it's always been on. 2 years old when I bought it. You couldn't give me my money back for it now. I'll have it resprayed and completelly gone thru in the spring. Hoping for another quarter million miles. I add Dura Lube every 20,000 miles. No oil use between changes. I bought it 9-11-01, the day the towers went down. Ronnzo
    Flag This
  • 2006 Dodge Stratus
    juanjulio, Nags Head, NC, October 18, 2011 16:18
     Rookie
    We bought our dodge new in Kitty Hawk NC from a dealer. The brakes squeak and always have however, the dealer and his repair shop always say that nothing is wrong. Why then; do the brakes squeak? We told them about the problem from the beginning. We were told a couple of time that it was only a moisture build-up.....but, why???? just on this car??? And why does it continue to squeak????????????
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Akron, OH, September 19, 2011 19:03
    My 1999 Stratus has over 218,000 miles on it and it is still running strong, needs new tie rod ends and shocks though...very reliable car
    Flag This
  • 2002 Dodge Stratus
    dodgefever, Hutchinson, KS, September 04, 2011 17:46
     Rookie
    I love my 02 Dodge Stratus. It has alot of miles but it keeps on going. At least, it did until today. The left front steering knuckle and lower tie rod completely separated. I have looked on the internet and have found recalls for just this problem. How can I verify the recall notices and if I can't get verification of recall notices, how much will it cost me for repairs?
    Flag This
  • 1997 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Fremont, CA, July 28, 2011 20:34
    My grandmother gave this to me as soon as I got my license! This thing has been sitting in front of a barn for about a year and a half to two years. Ever since I had it, it's been running like a TANK!!! The only things that needed to be replaced were the catalytic converter (much more expensive in California because we're all hippies), the brakes, and now the oil pan so I'm loving this thing more and more! Definitely a gem of a normal, casual 4-door.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Wake Forest, NC, April 26, 2011 16:12
    2001 Dodge Stratus 2.4L DOHC. 176K. Car has been relatively trouble-free. The suspension is getting soft but it still rides well. Nothing major has gone wrong except the PCM. Had to replace tie-rod ends, valve cover seal (that was a bitch getting to the bolts in the back), PCM went out, door window motor. Paint has held up and the interior looks great still. I'm getting a whistling from the dash though that occurs around 70 mph.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Mission, SD, March 19, 2011 20:42
    Since I purchased this vehicle we have had to replace so much it should have been left where it was. I will never buy another Dodge Stratus. The purchase price is very reasonable but you more than make up for it in repair costs. If it isn't one thing it is another. I liked the cars ride, size, and gas mileage. In order to make it worth the cost it needs to be able to stay on the road and running. I baby my vehicles so it isn't becaue it gets treated rough.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    manton4321, Northville, MI, February 22, 2011 06:54
     Rookie
    Knew original owner since they bought it new, I bought from them at 10 years old with low miles. Generally do not like Chrysler products, quality not that good but this car is ok for the $. Car is peppy, good gas mileage, cheap transportation. Body, rocker panels, rust pretty bad, keep clean and in garage to help reduce. Trans is a problem, rebuilding it is likely (this one done at 30,000out of warranty, if I had to pay the $2000 for the rebuild I would have been furious). Likely to leak engine oil when older from gaskets/seals/etc. Again, if you can buy one with lower miles, they are cheap used, get good mileage, and if you get the larger 4cyl engine it is fairly peppy.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Dodge Stratus
    Cloudy1, Cape Girardeau, MO, January 23, 2011 20:16
     Rookie
    overall my car is GREAT! I have had no major problems other than an a/c compressor going out! Powerful V6 with autostick is fun to drive, suspension is tight like a sports car! Great stereo system, great gas mileage, an all around smooth handling car! Has 156,000 on it now, last stratus made it to 225,000 before handing key to my son, hope this one goes as long and seems that it may! Only complaints would be dim headlights and the problems with the heat/ac switch going out all the time! Just upgrade to HID lighting and really improved the visibility of headlights alot! Very good car, but I guess I'm lucky to have had three and all of them have been great cars! Don't know what others have done with their stratus' but apparently they don't know how to properly maintain a car( fixing things before they break!)
    Flag This
  • 2002 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Fresno, CA, December 30, 2010 15:57
    My 2002 stratus is great, but lately as I'm driving it loses power, my RPM needle goes down and then the engine shuts off, it's not the fuel pump, so sometimes this happens not very often.
    Flag This
  • 1997 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Claremont, NC, November 23, 2010 00:34
    MY SON-IN-LAW FIRST HAD THIS CAR AND I TOOK IT OVER. THEY HAD TO PUT HEAD GASKETS IN IT WHEN THEY HAD IT AND IT ALREADY NEEDS MORE HEAD GASKETS. IT ALSO PROBABLY NEED A WATER PUMP. OVER ALL IT RUNS GREAT, GETS GOOD GAS MILEAGE BUT OTHER THAN THAT THE HEAD GASKETS COST AGOUT 800 DOLLARS TO REPLACE AND THAT IS ESTIMATES FROM THREE PLACES. THE ENGINE SETS SIDEWAYS AND NOBODY REALLY WANTS TO WORK ON IT. I DOUBT THAT I WOULD HAVE ANOTHER ONE.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Dodge Stratus
    goldcar, Grandview, MO, September 17, 2010 09:08
     Enthusiast
    I have a 2004, the transmission is slipping, needs a new timing belt, the brakes are squeaking.Other than these problems everything is minor.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Brockway, PA, September 13, 2010 09:19
    havent had any problem with this vehicle except for the normal wear and tear
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Philomath, OR, July 16, 2010 09:42
    great car very dependable. Ive put 50k miles on mine and has had minimal problems and complaints. Blower moter seems to only work on high setting, fixed it but quit working again about 1 month later. Brakes sqweek but are in good shape. Head lights are small and not real bright.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Limestone, PA, July 14, 2010 09:13
    I have a 2000 Dodge Stratus. It's a nice looking car and very comfortable. I've had it for years now and the only major fixes were to replace a water pump, rotters, and the gas hose neck. At over 265, 000 miles my car is still a great running, dependable car!
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, North Kingstown, RI, July 13, 2010 09:25
    bought my 2000 dodge stratus in 2004 with 86000 miles. Made some initial investments I knew I would need at the 100000 mile mark. Change oil religiously. The car is at the 201000 mile mark and I think I'll reinvest. It handles great, looks great (little rust at corner of hood in front) Am very happy with it. Hope it could last forever.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Belen, NM, July 06, 2010 15:48
    4-Door, 2.5 V6, Autostick. Best car we've ever owned (better and more comfortable than the 03 Buick Rendezvous we had). Originally bought it in 2000 with about 25k miles on it (it had been a Budget Rental Car). Earlier this year at 170k miles, we replaced timing belt, plugs, wires, distributor, crankshaft position sensor, and brakes. Still has original shocks and other suspension components. Now has 185k and still runs perfectly.
    Flag This
  • 1996 Dodge Stratus
    bigboy9604, Chicago, IL, June 07, 2010 12:22
     Rookie
    i love my car i just cant fix it
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Mount Vernon, OH, May 31, 2010 17:25
    i have a 2000 dodge stratus and while driving i felt the car shifting funny and noticed my speedometer jumping then the speedometer stopped working completely and transmission would not shift out of low gear.i have an automatic transmission and i believe its something to do with the transmission control module but not sure how to find out for sure which part it is,the fuse,relay or the tcm.any help would be appreciated.thanks,andy
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, San Juan, PR, May 08, 2010 04:09
    I got my car in 2005 it had about 90,ooo miles on it .Its been preetty realiable,besides the fact the brakes skweek even thou the pads are fine.I also have a problem with the tranny shifting roughly at 35 to 40 , during eccleration.Does anyone have any advice . Thank you
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Stratus
    Visitor, Kirkland, WA, April 28, 2010 20:02
    i have had my 1999 stratus for 3 years.have 121000 mile an still going strong.no complaints just had to replace water pump an belts,other than that its been a good car.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    rayray0850, Beverly Hills, CA, April 03, 2010 18:31
     Enthusiast
    my car has 252000 and still runs strong
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    Candy79, Santa Clara, CA, March 13, 2010 14:39
     Rookie
    In May 2001 I bought my dodge used with no more than 20Kmiles, really good shape the exterior color was not to good to say. I have over 180K miles on it now and the only major problem i have with it now is that i need to replace the AC compressor. I love it and would buy another one if i got the chance. Spacious smooth riding not to expensive to fix. Overall Good Car for ME =)
    Flag This
  • 2006 Dodge Stratus
    thutchings, Whitney, TX, February 11, 2010 08:18
     Enthusiast
    Bought this car 4 months ago from a dealership..Car had 60000 miles on it..Spent $700 in repairs for oil leak from crank seal..It did same thing again just to find out that the crank has play in it and is knocking seal out..Told I need to replace engine to fix..Dodge only gave 36000 mile warranty for this car for good reason it seems..They do not stand behind what they sell or it would have the 100000 mile warranty the love to advertise on TV..Now I have a car that I owe $5000 and is worth $0 unless I spend another $3000 or more to fix it!! Never buy another Chrysler product..I should have known better..
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    tipple_1999, Apple Creek, OH, January 29, 2010 04:19
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car from a friend and it was great for the first month. it had 105,xxx miles when i purchased and within a month the fule pump went out and left me stranded. Then a few months later I had to replace all the bearings and tie rod ends. A week after that the piston rod started knocking and then a massive transmission leak! It always shifted bad and felt like it was always in second gear. Horrible turning radius for a small car and very little power. The body is completely shot due to rust and the suspention is rough. These cars are money pits and I have always kept up on regular oil changes/tune ups. They are known to throw a rod or the trani's go before they hit 150,000. I guess Im just used to my hondas, but this car is a nightmare!
    Flag This
  • 2006 Dodge Stratus
    dzimmer82, Phoenix, AZ, December 29, 2009 15:03
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car a 2006 it has been a good car but now at 75000 mil. thing are going wrong the Fuel Pump is going out now with the brakes,a/c ,heater, and now the 0-2 is bad. one more thing this car should be getting 22mpg city 33mpg highway. but i get 21mpg all the time.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Dodge Stratus
    kwibidi, Appleton, WI, November 09, 2009 13:54
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car at 20K mileage in 2004. I am now at 93.5K five years later. I have always had any required maintanence done and in a timely manner, including all the oil changes. According to the records from my dealer, who has done all of my repairs and maintenance since purchase, some sort of tranny work was done prior to my purchase. The tranny went again just prior to my extended warranty end mileage of 75K (whew). The gas gauge stopped working properly and had to be replaced. Other than that I think I've pretty much just had to have brake work, front end alignment and those types of things as normal repair/maintenance over the life of my car. City mpg 20 - 22 and Highway mpg 27 - 29. It has on the high end of decent pickup power when passing. Overall I'm pleased with the performance of this vehicle. I like being able to put one or both of the back seats forward to put longer items in the trunk/back seat so I don't have to find someone with a truck to bring home something tall that I can lift myself. It's a decent car and my dealer does a good job of taking care of it so I expect it to last several years yet.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    the_shnook, Fort Worth, TX, October 21, 2009 21:03
     Enthusiast
    I have had this car for awhile now. Purchased used, 89K, and it seems to be a decent car for what its worth. It sometimes has a slightly rough gear shifting, and I need to replace 2 motor mounts, which could definitely contribute to this. But, other than that, I like it. Would consider re-buying.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Stratus
    SEXYCK, Lakewood, WA, June 07, 2009 22:43
     Rookie
    I bought this car 3 years ago. It ran pretty good up until the past year. I always do tune ups and my oil changes. It has only 70,000 miles on it and its had a major oil leak from head gasket, steering arm, tiers, ball joints have all had to be replaced. The brakes suck I've had them done 4 times. The car is as loud as a truck, the heater makes a whistling sound when on, loses power, and when it rains I get big puddles of water on the passenger floors front and back and my windshield sealing is perfect, and the list goes on. What the hell I swear everyday its something else. I would not recommend this vehicle to nobody.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Stratus
    Just Me, Denver, CO, May 14, 2009 15:51
     Enthusiast
    Bought the SE 4 cyl. automatic as a B'day present to myself, after driving several Stratus rental cars used for road trips. The only problem I had while it was still under warranty was the speedometer needle started bobbing back and forth. That was a little scarey, but no problems after that. This car gets terrific gas mileage and I just love the great power (for a 4-banger), as well as the solid steering!
    Flag This
  • 2004 Dodge Stratus
    sanarbor, Heflin, AL, April 19, 2009 14:24
     Enthusiast
    leased this car new in March of 2004 I have 67000 miles on it and love it. After the lease i bought it.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Stratus
    RL4406, Severn, MD, January 02, 2009 18:34
     Enthusiast
    Bought new in 2000, the only time it's left us stranded is just recently, fuel pump went out, but for 130,000 miles I'm not complaining, it's been a great car, parts for are dirt cheep, I put some after market drilled and slotted rotors on the front, my Wife is hard on brakes and warped the stock one's. Replaced all the plugs myself, this looks harder than it really is on the 6cyl. The leading edge of the hood tends to rust out on 80% of these cars, 2000 and 99 I think, I noticed this by looking for one at the junk yard. Put some after market wheels and tires on it, went up from 15s to 16s and man, it handles so much better with a little bit more rubber on the road, not to mention looks great with the new wheels, I think I'll just keep it forever, even though we have a newer car now.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Stratus
    LJDiamante, Bronx, NY, November 11, 2008 18:22
     Enthusiast
    This car is a bunch of trouble to begin with. If you go to www.autobeef.com and select it, you will see why I rated this car so poorly.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Stratus
    ETsStratus, Hutto, TX, August 27, 2008 16:26
     Enthusiast
    I bought this Stratus ES 2Door, 5 speed new in @3pt. 2001. Aside froma couple of engine sensors that have failed, there have been no problems. I still am averaging 25.1 MPG (2007), and have no other problems.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car