»

Reviews for Dodge Neon years:

  1. (3)
  2. (1)
  3. (1)
  4. (5)
  5. (3)
  6. (7)
  7. (5)
  8. (2)
  9. (3)
  10. (0)
  11. (4)

Owners' Reviews

Dodge Neon Reviews and Owner Comments

 
34 Reviews
Dodge NeonOwner Reviews (34 reviews)
  • 2005 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Naples, FL, October 07, 2014 12:33
    I bought my neon in 2006 with 1200 miles on it. It currently has 144000 miles and it has up until this point really not given me any major problems.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Missouri City, TX, February 20, 2013 06:13
    the car steering wheel is hard to turn right or left it seems to be locked everything else is good there is 10300,miles can someone help me understand why its hard to turn what maybe a solution to fix this problem my friends said the car still looks new wow
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Jamestown, CA, December 21, 2012 18:42
     Rookie
    2001 neon 11 yrs old 79721 miles been good car up to about 2 months, started loosing power on the way to work ping noise from engine running very rough check engine light used code reader 2 codes bad fuel mixture misfire number 3 found broken spark plug changed problem still there took to shop. number 3 cylinder piston has hole in it shop took picture through spark plug hole I've worked on cars 40 years and never seen this
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Alliance, OH, September 18, 2012 06:13
    My car has always been reliable...up to the now 88,000 miles. Only two major issues have been...since a wreck in front end many years back...(not my fault; repaired)...the A/C was NEVER fixed right..by THREE different garages. So now I have NO A/C...and the SUMMERS KEEP GETTING HOTTER..MAKES ME REALLY ANGRY. Also...since 2009...the bottom side boards keep re-rusting; I had them redone twice; now there is a HOLE. I think I may be ready to trade it in...only due to no A/C & the rust. ALWAYS BEEN A GOOD CAR THOUGH. Loved the light metallic green.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Loudon, TN, July 21, 2012 12:01
    I bought my 2000 Neon ES used in 2006 and they will have to pry it my cold dead fingers off the wheel to get it away from me! The car has been very good to me even tho I did a lot of work to it, by choice. I replaced the head due to worn cam saddles,and just replaced the rear brakes @131,xxx miles. Unknown if they were original. While I was in there the rear brake cylinders were leaking so I replaced them @ 25.00 for the set. 2years ago the factory radiator started to leak and I intsalled a new one for 100.0. the car has always started up no matter the weather. This is my second Neon, the first being a 1999 Neon HP Sport coupe with the 2.0 DOHC. I sold it and the kid trashed it, so sadly it is no more. I would recommend a Neon to anyone.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Hawk Point, MO, March 09, 2012 06:22
    so my girl hit awal mart bag a week ago,and the neon has been overhating since,where is the air intake under the front of my car so i can check for debris.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Rochester, NY, February 24, 2012 21:14
    my car his doing a front noise in the passeger side i put both balljoint can some one tell me what can be i will give u thanks
    Flag This
  • 2002 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Elk Mound, WI, November 22, 2011 09:30
    We just hit 325,000 miles, care gets 34 mpg on the highway (86 miles each way to work). At 200,000 we replaced the struts, at 275,000 or so the timing belt went out; 3 days before the appointment to replace it. Next week we are taking it in and having the rear main seal and the clutch replaced. I paid $10,700 for it brand-new-no complaints at all!
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Pensacola, FL, October 13, 2011 12:27
    i have a 2001 dodge neon and it keeps on overheating and i caint figure out the problem i looked behind the back of the motor and seen water spuing every where and i dont no cause i caint see wat the problem is
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Amherst, OH, October 01, 2011 07:47
    Have a 1998 neon with double overhead cam engine, the fans don't want to work, have done everyting that we can think to do, also engine check lite, won't go out no fault found
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Louisville, KY, August 13, 2011 06:48
    it is over heating and the fans do not work please help
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Mopar Mamaw, Weirton, WV, December 19, 2010 09:55
     Enthusiast
    Bought my Neon new in 2000 off the showroom floor and absolutely love it!!! I get about 34 mpg. in town and nearly 40 on the highway. I consider this one of the best cars ever made, so of course, that's why they quit making them. This is my second Neon, my first is a 1997 that is still on the road with over 200,000 miles on it. My 2000 has 77,000 miles on it. My daughter-in-law just got her first car and it is a Neon as well. These cars go forever with proper maintenance. Chrysler needs to bring these cars back so that folks can have a safe, economical and affordable vehicle in these troubled times. I've driven Mopar all my life and intend to continue to do so.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Huntington Station, NY, November 18, 2010 05:18
    Have a 98 neon w/ 55,000 miles on it. Recently ive been getting lousy gas mileage and the engine is backfiring but it seems to backfire from front of engine.Chkd plugs and are fine. Put diagnostic on it and code 150 ? came up. Does anyone have any advice as to what is problem? Thank you. Cresh.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Dodge Neon
    peteyb, Suttons Bay, MI, September 24, 2010 14:31
     Enthusiast
    I got my neon a year and a half ago now with 55000 miles for 3500$. very pleased with the deal i went a year and a half trouble free with just regular oil changes, this summer the transmission failed at about 76000 miles because the trans cooler was integrated into the radiator and it cracked and began cycling coolant through my transmission. ball joints and control arm bushings, probably partially my fault as i do enjoy the excellent handling for an economy orientated car. gas mileage could be better, but cant complain at mid to high 20's for MPG. interior is plenty spacious but the cd player can be temperamental. the body has held up excellently after 7 years of michigan winters and heavily salted roads, just 2 or 3 spots of rust along a few scrapes on the rocker panels. just had overhaul the rear drums because of a failed wheel cylinder that leaked all the brake fluid out all over the brake assembly every couple of days, front discs need work, the rotors are badly warped but pads seem ok for now. problems like any other car but i am still very pleased with my neon.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Arlington, VA, August 20, 2010 03:54
    5-speed RT - love it with one exception. It goes through wiper motors (three in 10 years and not used extensively). Bought second hand in 2000, has less than 80,000 miles on it. Terrific condition inside and out
    Flag This
  • 1996 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, New York, NY, August 01, 2010 14:14
    Bought it from a dealer in 2007 for $1500.00 certified and e-tested. Drove it every day. No problems. Passed e-test in 2009. I'l keep it for another 2 years.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Cromwell, CT, July 30, 2010 12:59
    love my car - bought a 2000 in 2001 would recommend to anyone.
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Ponder, TX, July 28, 2010 10:53
    I bought my 2000 Dodge Neon new. I drive it to work every day (100 miles round trip). 280,000 miles and counting. I've replaced parts here and there, mostly due to my own negligence. Recently I've considered purchasing a new (or gently used) vehicle, and have been drawn towards getting another Neon. If you change the oil regularly and follow the suggested maintenance, this vehicle will last you a LONG time. I can't help but to think "if there was a road to the moon, my neon could've made it there".
    Flag This
  • 1995 Dodge Neon
    nocanndo, Carrollton, TX, July 20, 2010 19:19
     Rookie
    I love my 1995 neon sc.I have replaced the ac, timing belt, head gasket, tie rods, ball bearings, 2 sensors, and rotors since i bought the car in 2001. I still get 35-38 mpg. The radio went out last month so I will get a new one soon. Has over 225000 miles.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Troy, MI, July 15, 2010 08:19
    I have driven this car for seven years and it still has the original battery and tires. No repairs except oil changes. Mileage is good. Still only have 28000 miles but so far its a very dependable car.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Oshkosh, WI, July 03, 2010 08:54
    I have had this Neon for under 2 years... I have never been able to drive it for more than 3 months without a repair having to happen.. I have had to replace the tires within the first 3 months, all brakes, rodars, starter, alternator, muffler, and also wheel barrings. Not to mention the oil changes to keep it up to date. I would never recommend a neon to ANYONE.... its a pain!!
    Flag This
  • 2005 Dodge Neon
    bnls, Milledgeville, GA, June 13, 2010 07:00
     Rookie
    2005 Neon SXT Brand new, I'll never buy another DODGE..# 3 cylinder went on engine ( 3 weeks in shop..under powertrain warrenty ) brakes, I paid for them,and shouldn't have at ,tires had to be replaced within a year, AC compressor, and starting sensor all replaced under After Market Warrenty at 100.00 deductible each time, and to top it off the dash started cracking and now has cracked all the way toward steering wheel after 1 year..no one will replace this manuf. defect!!! Oh the car does not even have 47,000 miles on it!!!
    Flag This
  • 1997 Dodge Neon
    cris1075, Joplin, MO, May 06, 2010 08:18
     Enthusiast
    bought this car brand new for wife she loves it but is get old and worn down it has over 200k miles on it need to get around and do some work on it but it has been a great car the only problem is that it is black gets really hot inside when sun is out
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Clarksville, TN, April 27, 2010 09:15
    I've had this car for over a year and it's caused me nothing but problems. I had to replace my radiator twice, and my brake shoes have come apart.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Dodge Neon
    Visitor, Seaford, DE, April 23, 2010 17:44
    bought this car in march of 2003 and is very reliable. changed battery and anti-freeze in 2008 only because they were 5 years old. replaced tires in 2010 at 45000 miles with generals..gets 29+/- mpg around town. have had no problems except regular mtn...has a/t a/c pw bra pw ste pw wind pw locks cd player. a friend i work with offered me 5500 dollars for it, not bad since i paid about 11000 for it in 2003
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Neon
    cocoa7385et, Miami, FL, March 02, 2010 07:56
     Rookie
    this car is starting to give me a headach
    Flag This
  • 2005 Dodge Neon
    Reura, Lewes, DE, January 31, 2010 00:18
     Enthusiast
    I've had this car since November 2007 and I've put a good 50k miles on it since I bought it at 42k miles. Just before 80,000 she wouldn't start one morning, had to be towed to my mechanic who couldn't fix it, took it to the dealer and it would up being an issue with the anti theft sensor that receives a signal from the chip in the key, it wasn't recognising it. Saved $800 by having it be covered under the 80k warranty. Just hit 90k and started having the check engine light come on. Not sure what the issue is, but my mechanic says it will be around $1400 to fix, ouch. I also had the same problem with water leaking into the car, but mine was in the rear drivers side floor in the back seat and in the bottom of the trunk. Havent gotten it fixed but I also say it should be a recall issue.
    Flag This
  • 1995 Dodge Neon
    wolverine9827, Shrewsbury, PA, July 30, 2009 08:54
     Enthusiast
    I just got this car and didn't pay much for it... took the bumper covers and trim off and painted them. It's a cute little die hard! Lots of them in the junk yard for parts too. Mine is the super basic model with no a/c or power anything, 5 speed manual. It gets 40 mpg!!! And it loves to go! I have to replace the timing belt soon but that's the only thing. I put in a new guage cluster with a tach - love it! Had a spare radio and put that in no problem - I like this little cutie. Nice, cheap, nimble, and sips the gas! :)
    Flag This
  • 2000 Dodge Neon
    mary_frances25, Pittsburg, CA, July 01, 2009 08:46
     Rookie
    Bought this car used from a private seller have had it for a little while now and has not caused me any sort of problem. I love it great on gas! the only problem now is that the a/c clutch just went out. But that is the only problem i have had since i bought it. I will defintely get another neon after this one.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Dodge Neon
    New Haven Sean, New Haven, CT, May 29, 2009 16:48
     Enthusiast
    wife's car for work. O2 sensor problems and computer problems at 80K miles. Other than that it holds up well.
    Flag This
  • 1999 Dodge Neon
    ladybirdtu, Grovetown, GA, April 09, 2009 20:02
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car brand new and have never had a problem with it. It handles well and is good on gas.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Dodge Neon
    NeonMama13, Marietta, GA, March 31, 2009 07:20
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car second-hand with 16K miles on it. I got 191K total miles on it before the timing belt gave out and I had to replace the engine. No other major repairs to list - this car has been awesome! I have run a newspaper route for the last six years - seven days a week and about 80 miles per day. Other than wearing out tires and brakes a bit faster than the average driver, this car is like the Times of cars - takes a lickin' n keeps on tickin'! When it comes time to replace my car, I'll be looking for another used Neon.
    Flag This
  • 1998 Dodge Neon
    Alliegamon, Erlanger, KY, March 03, 2009 20:32
     Rookie
    I have had problems with this car since I got it. I have had issues with the gasoline mixing with the oil in the engine compartment. The car runs, but it does have a miss at times. The O2 sensor is the problem it keeps going out, but I don't know what is causing it to go out.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Dodge Neon
    bettyeduhon, Biloxi, MS, October 09, 2008 15:13
     Enthusiast
    I have enjoyed my Neon since I bought it new in 2005. The 2 main complaints I have are that the brakes squeal from time to time and I was told that this is normal; and, when there is a heavy rain water puddles inside the passenger front floor. I was told by the dealer repair manager that this is caused from the tail light seals wearing out. He said that water seeps in and follows a channel into the front passenger floor. The repair cost was high and I did not choose to have it done, because I thought it should not have happened to begin with or at the very least, it should have been a recall to have been repaired at no cost.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car