✓ RepairPal Certified
1808 N Frazier St.
Conroe, TX 77301
View map and get directions
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
Call now:
(936) 657-1971

Auto Repair Experience

  • Chris Cochran , Owner
  • Established 1986
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technician
  • 42 Years of Car Repair Experience


Discount Brake and Auto Repair has been serving the Conroe community since 1986 and is a family owned auto repair facility. This RepairPal Certified shop prides itself in treating it's customers like family and consistently delivering good quality auto repair at a fair price. They have a team of experienced and up and coming professionals who work hard to stay current on the latest technologies in order to provide professional repairs for your vehicles. An investment has been made in the automotive tools and computer diagnostic equipment that are needed to accurately diagnosis and repair your vehicle. Local shuttle service, early bird drop off, and clean comfortable waiting area with wireless Internet are available. They also speak Spanish for your convenience.


Auto Repair Experience

  • Chris Cochran , Owner
  • Established 1986
  • 3 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technician
  • 42 Years of Car Repair Experience


  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Smog/Emissions Testing
  • Timing Belts


  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Se Habla Espanol
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shuttle
  • Wireless Internet

Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo

Message from the Shop

Whether you need us to check your brake pads, change the oil, or diagnose a problem, you can rely on Discount Brake & Auto Repair for fast and efficient service. We offer a wide range of maintenance and repair services, including tune ups, air conditioning, mufflers and exhaust systems, brake repair, wheel alignment, clutches, and more.

Our company was founded more than 25 years ago with two employees. By providing consistently high quality service, we have grown to have a full staff of highly trained and experienced mechanics. Our auto repair shop is equipped with state of the art technology, equipment, and tools to provide prompt and professional car care services for all types of scheduled maintenance and car repairs.


Overall Rating

24 Verified Reviews

Customer Reviews

November 14, 2013

They are just good and I was pleased.

Verified CustomerNovember 13, 2013

They are extremely straight forward people. They tell you what needs to be done and how much it is going to be. When you get the bill it is the same. They seem to appreciate you as a customer.

Verified CustomerNovember 12, 2013

I found them in the yellow pages. They had a website and it had good things to say so I decided to get an appointment. I was very happy with the service. I had a great experience. I would recommend anyone to go there.

Verified CustomerNovember 11, 2013

I have used them several times and they are very quick to get the vehicles done. They are fair on price.

Verified CustomerNovember 11, 2013

Repairs are always efficient. They do a good job and I have all the confidence in them.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerNovember 09, 2013

They did everything that I wanted done. They were fast and I was pleased with the work. I have been going there a long time.

November 07, 2013

They seem to be a trustworthy company. The people seem to do good work.

November 07, 2013

They are very honest. They will continue to work on you car until it is repaired. They have recommended not to do some work if it is not necessary. I completely trust them.

Verified CustomerNovember 07, 2013

First off, they are honest. Second off, when they fix something it is done right. They will not try to talk you into something your car does not need.

Verified CustomerNovember 06, 2013

I am just happy with the service. I get in and out quickly.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerNovember 05, 2013

I feel that they are vey honest. They do not do unnecessary work. They explain what they are going to go. I am pleased with their work. They are very honest.

Verified CustomerNovember 05, 2013

I have used them a number of times. I have been pleased with their service. I was referred by someone. I would feel comfortable referring someone else.

November 05, 2013

They assist you. They have quality with their work. They appreciate you business. They were respectful to me.

Verified CustomerNovember 05, 2013

I have been dealing with them for eighteen years. I had some work done and had to bring it back in to be fixed. I brought it back and they fixed it to my satisfaction. They also did some other repairs and did not charge me.

Verified CustomerNovember 04, 2013

They said they were going to fix the brakes a certain way and they did that. They gave me a discount because I had a discount card. I was pleased with the service.

Show more reviews
November 02, 2013

They are nice people. They do a very a good job.

Verified CustomerNovember 01, 2013

The owner was very honest and trustworthy. Their prices were very reasonable.

Verified CustomerOctober 30, 2013

They have good customer service, a friendly atmosphere, and speedy repairs. Extra care is given to the vehicle.

Verified CustomerOctober 30, 2013

They did more than they were supposed to. They checked every little thing for me and helped me out. Chris is really a great guy with good customer service.

October 30, 2013

I am satisfied with their work.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerOctober 29, 2013

We have been very happy with their services. Their price is reasonable and we feel that we have never been taken. He does good work.

Verified CustomerOctober 28, 2013

They are honest and do good work.

Verified CustomerOctober 25, 2013

They have always been fair to us and good. They are very friendly. They can always service our vehicles when we need it.

September 18, 2013

They were good with me and fixed my car. I would go back.

July 30, 2014

I bought a used Ford Truck with a loose tail pipe. When I called to make an appointment with Discount Brake and Auto yesterday, they got me in, put the truck on the rack and found that the truck had a very weak metal composing the entire exhaust. The exhaust system still worked. So, they welded the weak points and got me on the road. No charge.

Since the exhaust system is substandard, I'll have to replace the system in six months to a year. But, it was impressive to me that this shop didn't charge me for a small, temporary repair when they could have done so. Instead of making a quick buck, they made a long-term customer.

Show more reviews
May 07, 2014

I took my '89 Olds Toronado "Trofeo" 3.8 V-6 to them because it was not running as smooth as normal, not critical- just a little less than normal.
They were supposed to check it out and call me with the results,remedy etc.,this was in the early morning.
I received NO call all day, finally I called them as closing time was approaching and was told the car was ready. Ready? how could it be ready, I assumed they had checked it out and nothing was wrong with it. A friend dropped me off to pick up the car and was then told my bill was $400-$470, I don't remember the exact amount.
I told them no way was I going to pay for any work/repair I did not authorize. He- the manager or his son, said he was sorry but he had been gone most of the day and blamed an employee for not calling me to get my OK/authorization to replace the sensor. I did pay him $300+ because I was in a hurry to leave on a trip and did not have the time to pursue it.
Later that evening on the trip the car ran about the same with no improvement as when I took it in, THEN I turned on the radio to find a station and reset the station memory buttons- SURPRISE, they did not need to be reset, they were the same!
This tells me 1 of 2 things or both:
1) the electrical system had not been de-energized, which must be done by removing the negative battery cable.
if the system is not de-energized it will usually "FRY" any part/sensor/on-board computer etc. when being installed/replaced, plus damage to all components.
2) NOTHING was replaced!
I had the car for 10+ years and know it backwards and forward. I myself had replaced sensors in the past and did several 5-6 years ago when the belt split and "slapped"/destroyed several of them including the coil/distributor box.
I just retrieved my work order/ receipt recently and would be happy to provide it as proof.
I wasted $300+ dollars for work that was unauthorized, done totally incorrect or not done at all.
It is sad and appalling many greedy dishonest "repair shops" will rip you off for a felony amount of money with no conscious at all.

Reply from Discount Brake and Auto Repair – Chris CochranMay 08, 2014

My name is Chris Cochran, I have no idea what this review is about. I searched my records for ANY repairs on an Olds Tornado and the last time we had an Olds Tornado in our shop 2012. You said you have a receipt. I would love for you to bring it by so we can clear up the confusion. We do not make repairs without approval. I have been in business since 1986. I take a lot of pride in my business and the way I treat my customers. I would appreciate a call at 936-539-3040 so we can resolve this matter.

Get Directions to Discount Brake and Auto Repair
RepairPal Certified

RepairPal Certified shops pass a rigorous 42-point annual inspection by our master mechanics for quality work and fair prices.

  • High quality repair
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Real, verified reviews
  • Current expert training
  • Warranty on repairs
  • Great customer service