»

Reviews for Chrysler PT Cruiser years:

  1. (11)
  2. (12)
  3. (13)
  4. (7)
  5. (10)
  6. (15)
  7. (8)
  8. (8)
  9. (2)
  10. (1)

Owners' Reviews

Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews and Owner Comments

 
87 Reviews
Chrysler PT CruiserOwner Reviews (87 reviews)
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Bristow, OK, August 11, 2014 09:41
    At 62000 miles no real problems. Replaced 2 tail lights, the plastic cover on the left side of the drivers seat replaced 2 times. the worst is gas mileage. local driving around 20. long trips the most 27 per gallon. I also have a Neon and it gets 26 around town and up to 38 on long trips. Same engine type. It must be the design or body style.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Kearney, NE, August 03, 2014 09:17
    new radiator, brakes two times already before 60,000,suspensine fixed three times, oil light comes on, air conditioner fixed, heater fixed,, transmission replaced, car is junk
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Nashville, TN, April 21, 2014 14:20
    very small inside. Handle on glove compartment cheap plastic. Brakes are good. Drive Train slow changing gears. Elec & Lights always something 'ON' and back lights go out everytime it rains. Exhaust & Emissions passed so far. Heating & Cooling AC kills my battery and nobody knows why. Suspension & Steering feels like a wooden wagon on a stone path when driving. Steering OK. Perhaps I was sold a lemon. I don't know but I do know I will NEVER BUY ANOTHER!
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Ms. Aint Right, Egg Harbor Township, NJ, April 18, 2014 05:51
     Rookie
    I bought this car in October, 2013. I had rented one for a week & wanted one ever since. Main point for me is that it's an affordable car. I love it. It's fun to drive. I wouldn't take it across country thou.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Biggredd70, Los Angeles, CA, March 07, 2014 11:56
     Enthusiast
    Brought my 2008 PT cruiser two years ago. I love the car, the only issues I have with it is the engine mounts I need to replace every two years. I live in a city full of Potholes and just assumed they are the reason.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Montgomery, TX, January 25, 2014 12:35
    I love my car the only thin is the dash lights only 1\2 are working left side that all
    Flag This
  • 2010 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Worcester, MA, August 02, 2013 06:04
    I bought this 2010 PT for my wife, who liked the retro styling and the convenience of a wagon. 60k miles and three years later, problems are beginning to appear, in spite of better than regular preventive maintenance. The gas mileage has slipped into the high teens, the front, lower control arm bushings have failed for the second time since new, the car is burning a bit of oil (Mobil 1) after the first two thousand miles and, most recently, the second ABS wheel sensor has failed. Overall, these are problems which one might expect at 120k miles, not 60k miles. For twenty grand, a Corolla or Civic would be a MUCH better value, I am sorry to say. Looks are fleeting; quality means everything. This is a practical design, but with less than quality engineering applied.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Sanford, NC, July 30, 2013 09:08
    we have put 2 batteries in it and it still keeps dying no lights on no radio on starter and alternator is good what is the problem
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Nixa, MO, June 08, 2013 12:38
    I bought my PT Crusier GT new in 2006, I have spent a lot of money on tires, and keeping it running, I park in my garge 6 months ago, and stop driving it, due it was always breaking down, the turbo stop working, go through tires, engine light is always on, due something is wrong, I bought the top end, black with crome packet with GT, looks good park, as long you don't drive it
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Saint Louis, MO, May 03, 2013 13:57
    I love my PT Cruiser. However at 109xxx miles I have had to replace 2 motor mounts.....brakes roters and calipers......shocks......now i still need to replace power steering pump and have my transmission rebuilt.....after all this I will make sure I keep this car till the very last day I can.......but I would never buy another one!
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, San Pedro, CA, April 28, 2013 15:15
    Have had my little car for about six years now. Hardly had any problems with it. Very reliable and fairly good mileage. Only have about 48,000 miles on it, however. I was trading in used cars regularly until I got this car. Negatives -- have to open back end with a key, turning ratio not easy. Love my car!!!
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Albertson, NY, April 06, 2013 08:32
    I bought this pt 2008 new, and never had a problem everithing is workink properly, i changed the brakes pads and rotor after five years of use not bad! my car has 42000 mmilles
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Columbia, SC, March 27, 2013 09:29
    Don't ever buy a PT Cruiser. I have had nothing but problems since about 35,000 miles. I have replaced the clutch, replaced the power steering pump, I have to get new tires every year and brakes! And today the transmission went out at 95,000 miles. I can't wait until me and this hoopty can part ways. Good riddance!
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    cplhott, Grafton, WV, February 26, 2013 19:20
     Rookie
    Purchased new 2006 GT Convertable, Had several electrical issues,Cam sensor replaced twice with less than 20,000 miles,Timing had to be replaced with less than 60,000. Lights flicker and dim while driving,windows freeze in the winter. Brakes and rotors problematic. Tires wear very fast.. Its a good thing chrysler discontinued this vehicle..
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    dollbaby33, Augusta, GA, January 29, 2013 11:03
     Rookie
    I brought my first 2004 pt in March of 2012 and from the first day that i get it was having issues with it the back whippers did not work so they call themself fixing it and it worked for a while then stopped. It would still when i go to 30mph they fix it .The wheels on the car have been replaced 5 times and still need more now. It was knotting and they claim to have fixed it but it still knotted. the inside light not come on where the gas hand is and sometimes all the inside lights would go out even the radio.I just had a fire. The front bumper was hanging on one side paint was bubbleing on th hood. I just wish that we would have saved that money that we put in it. The oil lecked and so much more.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Dana Point, CA, January 13, 2013 22:09
    I bought this car used in 2007. I have had nothing but problems. First the convertible top stopped working, then problem after problem. The first year I had 4 flat tires. replaced the brakes 3 times, check engine light comes on all the time for who knows what. spent $600 to fix spark plugs and other computer issues that caused the car to just shut off on the freeway. Now the front axle is leaking grease, the clamps that hold the engine in place are broken, and the top is still broken! I wish I could just trade this lemon in and get a foreign car
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    jhmiller, Fayetteville, GA, January 03, 2013 15:30
     Enthusiast
    I bought my car used in 2011 after a car accident. Wasn't even considering buying a Cruiser. I had gotten a great deal on this car. Now that I have it, I love it. Has plenty of room, a decent radio, lots of bells and whisles. I have only had to replace 2 tires on the car b/c they were worn when I purchased.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Newtown, PA, November 22, 2012 03:10
    All I can say about this PT which I purchased new in 2006 is "I'm glad to see you gone". Maintenance issue after maintenance issue from the time the car turned 36 months with less than 36,000 miles. Spent $3,000 - $4,000 in miscellaneous repairs from months 36 - 72.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Newtown, PA, November 22, 2012 03:06
    Bought this car new 2008. I had a 2006 PT at the time which ran great, until it turned three years old and then little by little, maintenance became expensive with the same issues. Now the 2008 has turned four years old and I am having major miscelleaneous issues, one by one causing me to kick myself for buying this hunk of junk. I like the styling and it's great for the family pet to get in and out with 1/2 of the rear seat removed, however: at 12 nonths I replaced the battery, at 24 months replaced the hub bearings, at 30 months (29,000 miles) replaced the rear shocks, and the brake pads and rotors, at 36 months replaced the battery again, at 48 months replaced the throttle body plenum, engine mounts, replace the CAM sensor and the fuel injector and was told that next time in, would need front and rear shocks AGAIN! Almost $3K in repairs and the car has only 45,ooo miles at 4 yeats old. Problem is, I just can't afford another car at this time.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Winchester, VA, November 13, 2012 10:20
    REAL NICE RIDE
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Salt Lake City, UT, September 27, 2012 15:48
    2003 pt Loser, is a nickle & dime machine! Has any one other then me had a problem with breaks locking up after driving 10-15 miles? I think this is it with chysler products. After i get this last in the line of problems taken care of, it will be time to go in debt. again & get something(anything) else
    Flag This
  • 2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Rocky River, OH, September 19, 2012 14:05
    Although this is not my first choice in a car, for the money I find the pt cruiser fun to drive and a good value. I have only had my 2009 cruiser for 3 months, but have not had one complaint.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Kansas City, MO, July 23, 2012 06:37
    I had to replace my front lower control arm bushings on both sides of the car at 38,000 miles. Now I have 55,000 miles on the car and they need replacing again. When you hear a clunk noise when you drive over a bump your rubber bushings need replaced. Must me a bad design on the front suspension. My engine has a slight miss in it. I believe its the fuel injectors. I have been putting fuel injection cleaner in it and it seems to be better. I drive allot of short trips so maybe thats why they are not clean and causing the slight miss in the engine. I had to replace a crank postion sensor on the car at 40,000 miles. The brakes are junk. They squeak allot. I had new special brake pads put on and had the rotors turned and they still squeak. I think the rotors of are made of a cheap steel that came from China and they rust real fast causing the squeak noise when I apply my brakes. There is different grades of steel . Chrysler used the cheapest they could get in my opinion. I also had the front wheel bearings replaced at 38,000 when I had my front control arm bushings replaced because I have read they don't last. Not sure if the wheel bearings are junk or poor design.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Citrus Heights, CA, May 16, 2012 17:51
    I took my 2005 cruiser into a local crysler dealership and was told, before it was even looked at, that I needed to have the timing belt replaced - at a cost of $1,5-600. Without looking at the car, how do they know that this item needs to be replaced? I am stumped. I have only 35,000 miles on my 2005 cruiser. The manual says the timing belt should be replaced at 90,000 miles. Have other dealerships' service centers recommended this action WITHOUT even looking at your car?
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Cary, NC, April 23, 2012 12:56
    I like the car style and the interior is comfortable. I don't have a turbo, so it doesn't have a lot of power and the gas mileage seems pretty bad. I have had ongoing issues with the air conditioner for two years or more now and am VERY unsatisfied with that. Still not resolved. Had a power steering problem awhile back that cost me some bucks along with a few other minor annoyances. The big problem now is the transmission. I have a 2003 model that I bought in 2005 and it had 12,000 miles on it. I just went over 100,00 on it and it appears that the transmission is dead. It went into the shop today and I am waiting for the verdict. If this car didn't come with so many inherent issues and if the transmission could get 150,000 to 200,000 miles, I would like it; however, replacing the transmission at 100,000 miles and not being able to figure out what the heck is messing up the A/C, I can't say I would buy another Chrysler product ever again. I had a horrible experience with a Chrysler vehicle in ther 1980's and swore I would never buy one again...then the PT Cruisers came out and I really like the style. Plus, Chrysler was supposed to be so much better! Mistake. If I had the money, I would go for another Honda in a heartbeat.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Rossville, IN, April 04, 2012 07:34
    Bought my 2005 Limited Edition PT in 2011, and purchased extended warranty from dealer. Almost immediately started having shifting difficulties. VERY delayed shift, accompanied by much chugging. This problem comes and goes--always gone when taken to the dealer for repair. The first time I took it in, I was told the right front wheel was about to come completely off, so that issue was fixed, but they couldn't find any problem with the transmission or shifting. Now, on top of the STILL ongoing shifting problem, it is taking longer and longer for the ignition to catch. It cranks and cranks and cranks, and just when you're about to give up, it starts. Got my Consumer Reports auto edition just last week--2005 PT listed in Worst of the Worst. Gee, I wish I'd known that sooner!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Spring Valley, CA, March 29, 2012 15:37
    I have a 2003 PT Cruiser basic. I absolutly love my car. He has 138,000 miles. Runs great. I change the oil, every 3 months. Never had problems with it. Just recently I had the timing belt changed and water pump. Gave it a tune up and and he is running like he was at 21,000 miles when I bought him 5 years ago. As he is getting older tho, he moans and groans just a bit. My mechanic said it could be his low control arm bushings. Overall love my 2003 Cranberry PT.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Wake Forest, NC, March 04, 2012 19:06
    March 2012 At 23,000 miles has to fix air conditioning leak. Between 80,000 and 100,000 miles had to replace front struts and bearings, have rotors sanded down, I've replaced brake pads twice, replaced ball joints and control arm, replaced both O-2 sensors in engine, had to have front headlights sanded due to failed visibility test. Also had to get a tune up. At 110,000 miles needed timing belt replaced. I drive responsibly and always service my car but it's a PT Loser money pit lemon! I will never buy another Chrysler.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Twin Falls, ID, February 02, 2012 13:01
    I wrote the story in January about my 2006 PT Cruiser having module/shifting problems. Now, in February, I am told that EQUIS insurance says to replace all of the electrical terminals and modules. It seems the modules cannot hold the codes that were inputted through technical service bulletins. Still shifts hard and the car has been in the shop NOW since November. I know it needs a new transmission but the insurance company is dragging their feet, probably until April when the contract expires. They claim the problem is electrical. I drove the car for one day and can hear the gears grinding in forward and reverse. It will also shift lock the transmission into the safe mode. If the people at EQUIS read this, keep in mind that I bought a brand new Buick in January and I made sure your company did not have the extended warranty contract.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Orlando, FL, November 20, 2011 09:13
    My mom was driving our 2006 pt cruiser touring edition and the speedometer went down and up and the gas meter went to empty .
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Douglasville, GA, October 24, 2011 18:46
    I have a 2001 pt cruiser and thought my car was posessed because my locks would lock and unlock, dome light would go on and off and car would ding indicating that a door was ajar. I was ready to go insane but when my Dad came to visit me he discovered there was a screw in the driver side door that was loose and it was connected to the grounding wire. When he tightened the screw all the clicks, dings and craziness stopped.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    pt_crusier_2002, Barre, VT, October 22, 2011 13:50
     Enthusiast
    Purchased a New 2002 Inferno Red Touring Edition, extra included moon roof, heated leather seats (which were not hooked up at time of delivery), Great looking retro style car. Love the exterior and interior styling very well thought out. Wish gas mileage were better. Issues have with the car have been minor, but expensive. The orginal Good Years Tires were replaced with less than 10,000 miles on them due to excessive wobbling in the steering- bad tires, chrome plated rims have developed a slow air pressure leak on front tires due to rusting over the years. Just spent $946.05 to replace front control arm and bushings, brake fluid exchange, and 3rd brake light bulb replacement. Time for service replacement was 2hrs or under, feel was greatly over charged for the repairs.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    jmdp231, Racine, WI, October 11, 2011 07:31
     Rookie
    About3-4 months ago, while I was driving the door ajar light came on as did the dome light (as it does everytime the warning goes off). So, I pulled over and opened/closed all doors including the hatch. This did not help at all! Every time I drive the car it constantly DINGs and the door aj light comes on and the locks lock and unlock themselves! It's like my car is possessed! I have found nothing to help this situation. Also, the radio display sometimes works, but mostly I have to guess what station I am on. Setting the alarm in a no-go. When the car is off and you lock all the doors (by remote, key, or manually) within minutes the alarm starts screaming! So, I cant even lock my car. This is very upsetting. I really need help. I love my cruiser, but this is ridiculous :(
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Marksville, LA, October 08, 2011 07:40
    DOORS LOCK AND UNLOCK BY THEMSELVES - DOME LIGHTS COME ON BY THEMSELVES - CLICKING NOISES IN DASHBOARD - MECHANIC CANNOT FIND REASONS - HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Rohnert Park, CA, September 20, 2011 14:17
    Poor rear visibility. Poor turning radius. WILL NOT DRIVE OVER 2500 RPM'S. Throws up 3 codes all of which have been replaced as well as the gas cap and still throws up same 3 codes. Its a money sucker to try to figure out the problem no one can seem to fix, and extremely dangerous to drive. But hey, must get the family around. Would not recommend this vehicle to anyone. Lent it to a family member who needed short term transportation and you should have seen the FB comments her friends were making about the car.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Clifton Park, NY, July 25, 2011 11:20
    I PURCHASED MY FIRST CHYSLER PRODUCT WHICH WAS THE 2001 PT CRUISER (NEW), AFTER THE SECOND RE-TOOLING TOOK PLACE. I FIND THAT THE A/C DRAGS ON THE ENGINE POWER, THE INSIDE SEATS= MATERAL DID SHOW OVER PULLING OR STRETCHING WHICH RUINED THE MATERIAL, THE APPEARANCE SHOWS BUMPS/STRESS ON ALL AREAS OF EACH SEAT, THE MAJOR FLOOR RUG WAS NEVER PLACED FLAT ON THE FLOOR, SHOWS MUCH BUNCHING AND TERRIBLE WORKMANSHIP...THE ORIGINAL BRAKES LASTED LONGER THAN MOST, THE BACK DOOR (HATCH) RUSTED OUT AT THE BOTTOM QUICKLY EVEN THOUGH THE CAR WAS IN THE GARGAGE AND WAS TAKEN CARE OF, TO THIS DAY THE ONLY WAY I CAN SHUT THE HATCH DOOR IS BY USING TAPE ACROSS THE BOTTOM SO I DON'T CUT MYSELF ON THE RUSTED AREAS WHICH STRETCH ACROSS THE BOTTOM. THE REPAIR JOB FOR THIS DOOR= $3,000, SO IT IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. THEY DID NOT LEAVE ENOUGH ROOM BETWEEN THE RUBBER FOR THE WATER TO ESCAPE...I NOW HAVE 100,000 ON THE CAR, I JUST REPLACED THE BRAKES & SHOCKS, I ALWAYS HAD TO ADD EXTRA OIL PRIOR TO THE ACTUAL CHANGING DATE,I AM NOT BURNING OIL AND DRIVE APPROX. 75 MILES PER WEEK. I USE FULL SYN. OIL SO I DO NOT HAVE TO CHANGE IT AS OFTEN, BUT I STILL HAVE TO ADD THE OIL ANYWAY. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER CHYSLER PRODUCT..DISAPPOINTED..
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Saint Robert, MO, July 21, 2011 15:46
    have owned a 2003 pt cruiser touring for 7 years, not to bad a car except let it set a day or two and the brakes will sqeak and make a loud grinding sound took to dealer many times tells me it just gets rusty calibiers from sitting? then a few years ago the starter went out and it keep going out had it replaced four times before it stopped going out, at same dealer; now two weeks ago went out to go work and click battery dead, charged the battery started, look out the window at night noticed fog lights on, would not turn off took to same dealer, told me it's the mulitifuction switch so the order one said it would take a couple of days since the part was back ordered, so hear it is two weeks since ordered called to check status of part was told still back ordered and that I was number 400 on the wait list...WTF and this is not on recall!!! my car has 65,000 miles on it and serviced regularly.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Oakland, CA, July 14, 2011 09:45
    I've had the front brakes done twice....excuse given to me was because I drive in the city alot on hills. I replaced all four tires and had them rotated once. Oil change every 3000 miles. Now I have a shimmy in the front end so that is my next fix it job. The car has been reliable. Had a check engine light on once, took it to the dealer, nothing found.....reset it and I was on my way again. Gas mileage leaves little to be desired but the car has good power. Lots of driving over 82,000 miles on it. Drove to LA several times and Las Vegas last summer and it did really well. Overall been a good car.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Vallejo, CA, July 08, 2011 15:23
    I purchase my car from enterprise rental a 2006 5yrs ago. I have not had any major problems. Until recently, i took it to be serviced for air. It kicked really good and lasted for 2days. I am at a lost because i dont know exactly what to do in this situation. Any suggestions?
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Polk City, FL, July 08, 2011 11:33
    I have a 2004, 5 speed in which I bought used in 2008. The car had approximately 65,000 miles on it when I purchased it. I love the body styles of these cars and love the many features about them. I was warned to not buy the car by many, but I bought anyway. I have replaced the entire braking system on it shortly after the purchase to include rotors, hubs, bearings, drums etc. That cost almost $700 from Just Brakes. The next repair was an all wheel alignment and a new set of tires which cost about $400 from Pep Boys. Then about 4 months ago I had to replace the Timing Belt after the car stalled on me in going home traffic on a Friday....and that repair cost me about $1,500. So all in all, I am very pleased with my car and happy with the purchase I made almost 3 years ago. The only thing I can really complain about is the fact that the car seems to eat up tires really fast. Especially the right rear one. Just bought a used tire to replace that one until I need a full set again....which will be very soon. If I was asked to rate the car on a scale from 1-10, I would have to give it an 8-8.5 because no car is a problem free car.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Hudson, IN, July 04, 2011 19:27
    this the 3rd.pt,I've had,and the worst.first the tires went in less than 20,000 mi.30,000 Mi. brakes, shocks and bushings.35,000,the valves in the engine began to rattle.now, the air conditioning has quit cooling. dealer est.$500.00-$800.00. I am 87 yrs.young,and can't afford that. any help? thanx Nolan Smallwood
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Ballwin, MO, May 14, 2011 15:01
    The wife and I luv our little PT Turbo Convertible and I enjoy cruising with the top down, a little Led Zeppelin and my gray hair flying in the wind! lol Being a crazy old white man never felt so good ;>)
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Opdyke, IL, May 12, 2011 20:28
    I love the fact that the seats come out of this vehicle and the room interior. I even like the fact the the window controls are on the dash above the radio. I do not however like all the repair bills that go along with owning this car. I bought this car with only 45 thousand miles. Now with about 72thousand on my car I have replaced the radiator (twice-but once was after a wreck I had two days ago.) both wheel bearings, air conditioner hose, timing belt, break pads, breaks, rotors, and of course the normal maintenance like tires. & i still feel like Im forgetting something. But hey it gets good gas mileage. Im averaging 21 mph in town and 24 interstate
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    allmons, Etowah, TN, April 11, 2011 13:49
     Enthusiast
    Good ride, some problems - but easily corrected.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Grand Junction, CO, March 18, 2011 10:06
    30 years turning a wrench Professionally, Purchased car with 31K. Have 141K now 3/11, It's going on 10 years old, and it has had it's problems, but no more than most made american made cars. I have got about $1100 in parts I have put on it over the years. My labor so no cash there. I will tell you I'm one that replaces parts when I see it borderline as some will push much harder before replacement. Changed timing belt, w/pump and tensioners. Replace Radiator, Starter, Alternator. Wheel bearings, Make sure you get the tapered bearings over the ball bearings. No more wheel bearing problems. Clutch is still good, but in the next 3 weeks will be replacing manual transmission as the Transmission Differential bearings are bad, and I will put in a new clutch as it will be all apart and a good time to do it. No such thing a perfect trouble free vehicle. On a 1 to 10 I have to rate it a 7. I would buy another one.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    purrdythang51, Kenner, LA, February 26, 2011 08:19
     Enthusiast
    I bought my 2005 PT(PurrdyThang)new, May 30th, 2010. She is Dark Plum Pearl Metalic. She is the PERFECT car for me. I would buy another one in a heartbeat, but I plan on keeping Her, till I take my last breath. Sounds kinda cheesy, right? O WELL..................
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Coopersville, MI, February 05, 2011 09:32
    I absolutely LOVE this car. Although I have had issues with it. The transmittion needed to be replaced at about 140,000 miles, the airconditioning keeps breaking, and I now need to replace the struts at 180,000 miles. Otherwise, if you have the money to spend on these repairs, it is a very nice car.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Bay Saint Louis, MS, January 26, 2011 19:01
    2007 PT NOT TURBO 50,000 MILES TO DATE FRONT BRAKES, TWO BRAKE LIGHTS, A/C LOW PSI CONTROL, BATTERY, SET OF TIRES, NOT BAD GOOD CAR GAS IS 17 TO 15 IN TOWN, 22MPG INTERSTATE. NOT MUCH POWER FOR GAS USEAGE. GOOD FAMILY CAR, TOOK IT ON A FEW 1000 + MILE TRIPS GOOD ON HWY.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Cedarburg, WI, January 05, 2011 06:09
    PURE GARBAGE. TRANS NEEDED REPLACEMENT AT 250 MILES. PREMATURE FAILURE, FRONT SUSPENSION, WATTS LINKAGE, WATER PUMP, EMISSION CONTROLS. CHRYSLER WON'T WORK WITH YOU-GARBAGE CAR.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Buckeye, AZ, January 03, 2011 22:15
    I have owned my 2004 GT HO Turbo since it was new. I am a lifelong Mopar owner, so I knew of this car's ( and company's) shortcomings in advance. All PT owners should replace their suspension bushings with polyurethane units if they intend to keep their cars for the long haul. The factory control arm bushings, especially, will not last. I have 110K on mine now and it was money well spent. To be fair, when I replace the normal wear items, I use aftermarket units (cross-drilled & slotted brake rotors, polyurethane timing belt, etc) If you shop around, you'll find better value and better quality than OEM.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Issaquah, WA, December 27, 2010 14:17
    I have a 2005 convertible. I have had issues with the air conditioning leaking, the bearings on the wheels failing, oxygen sensors replaced, the brakes, and the radiator replaced. I am a staunch American car buyer, and although alot has been replaced by the 7/70 extra warranty that I bought, this has been ridiculous.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    oskardog, Oak Creek, WI, December 09, 2010 09:30
     Enthusiast
    I bought this car after seeing it at the Milwaukee Auto Show in summer of 2000. Had to wait a while because they hadn't gone into production yet. Love the car! After nearly 10 years and 206,000 miles, I finally had to do a "major" repair - timing belt broke. Still has the original clutch which works fine, though probably will have to replace this year. Suspension is getting a little soft, too. Must be the miles....
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    DodgersHater, Kingman, AZ, December 09, 2010 09:30
     Rookie
    Bought our 2001 Cruzer in 2003, it had 60,000 miles on her. Now it has 182,756 and still going strong. Timing belt broke, had to replace the motor mounts, front ball joints, most of the front suspension. As we are keeping this car forever I plan on fixing all that goes wrong. I am 6' 5" tall and I'm very comfortable in this car I love it.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    sasse, Chicago, IL, December 09, 2010 09:30
     Enthusiast
    Have a 2001 and I am having trouble finding the transmission module part. Car is still under warranty.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    ljdev3, Loveland, CO, December 09, 2010 09:30
     Enthusiast
    We bought our 2001 PT Cruiser Limited, in 2004, with 40,000 miles on it. The only problem we had was we had to put a Transaxle Control Module TCM in it, it kept stopping at any speed. At first we thought it was the Brakes, but they were all replaced with the best we could buy, then Chrysler said it needed a new Transmission, with a cost of $2,600, but I read on the internet of somebody having that same problem,and they discovered it to be the TCM, we replaced it for a cost of $300. We love our car and will never part with it. It gets great gas mileage, very comfortable seats, very good looking little sports car. Couldn't ask for a better car.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Palm Bay, FL, December 01, 2010 05:22
    many many problems. Chysler poor support.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    twisted1, Oak Grove, KY, November 29, 2010 13:55
     Rookie
    I hate this car.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    JorjaPiech, Mcdonough, GA, November 29, 2010 11:05
     Enthusiast
    I bought my 2002 Dream Cruiser when it was 3 years old with 70K miles on it. I fell in love with it and am still in love with it even though it has almost 140K on it now. It's roomy, luxurious, sporty (5 speed manual), reliable and gets good gas mileage and also is cheap on insurance and upkeep. I highly recommend this versatile little cutie.
    Flag This
  • 2008 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Roseville, MI, November 26, 2010 08:24
    THIS IS THE WORSE CAR I HAVE EVER OWN, BOUGHT BRAND NEW AND IT'S NOT EVEN TWO YEARS OLD AND I HAVE TO REPLACE ALL BRAKES AND THE ROTORS...REAR BUSHINGS CONTROL ARM, BEARINGS AND HUB...
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Lakeland, FL, November 16, 2010 21:33
    I bought my Pt Cruiser new, in the fall of 2004. Within the 1st year, the fuel pump module, which incorporates the fuel guage, was replaced 3 times on warranty. The last time the tank had to be replaced, as the dealer cracked it in the process. The Engine has always run rough, which the dealer says is normal. The transmission (automatic) developed a whine this past summer. The 1st trip to the dealer, they determined it WAS an abnormal sound, and replaced the "transfer gears", which did not change the noise. They then decided it WAS NOT an abnormal sound, and I should ignore it. I called another dealer, and was told they would have to charge me the $100. deductable again (normal for 7-70 warranty claims) since the other dealer had already aledgidly fixed the problem. I called Chrysler, and they offered no help, and said the second dealer was correct. The car has 68,900 miles on it and I am sure as soon as it hits 70,000 the transmission will die. My best advice to anyone looking to buy a new car, DO NOT buy a Chrysler product. My Dad warned me of this 44 years ago, when he bought a 1966 Dodge Coronet, and fought with Chrysler for a year over a bad engine. He traded it in on a used Chevy, and said it was the best decision he ever made.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Ptjs, Council Bluffs, IA, November 06, 2010 17:52
     Enthusiast
    It's a convertible that has 33000 have had no problems in the 6 mo I have had it. The tires for it are expensive. It has the auto stick and that is fun. The turbo makes this car really quick at 250 hp.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Delta, CO, October 25, 2010 13:58
    P.S. If you bought a chrysler in the last 20 yrs and are happy with your purchase you have gotten use to having low standards
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Lubbock, TX, October 10, 2010 09:07
    I agree 100 per cent: The brakes are non ABS and they really dont grab well. I wonder whether it makes sense to allow ABS retrofitted, if possible. A ABS is essential for the security
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Topmost, KY, September 08, 2010 05:28
    when i bought the car ran fine. Now the abs and traction control light stays on just about all the time. When those lights are on the brakes are fine but when they are not the brake pedal jumps up and down and you feel like you dont have any breaks. Any suggestions would be appreciated, thank you.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Spokane, WA, July 16, 2010 03:46
    Just bought a 2002 PT Cruiser Limited Edition, with 126,000 miles on it. Drives great, some noise coming from underneath the car on the passenger side front, checked the suspension and everything looks okay and is tight. Next will check to see if it might be the exhaust that is loose. I get about 28 mph in the city and 33 on the highway.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, American Canyon, CA, July 07, 2010 11:20
    Just bought my 2002 PT Cruiser (it's now July 2010). It has 78,000 on it. It's a Limited Edition Woodie and apparently was garaged because it looks brand new. Bought it from a Lexus dealer in Marin County, CA and they went through it before selling it. It seems like a really solid car, and looks brand new inside and out. I just hope it stays this way and is a reliable car. I bought it for $6,200 and I believe got a good deal, for which I am very grateful.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    stewfred, Wylie, TX, July 05, 2010 10:27
     Rookie
    I bought my 2005 Touring about 3 months ago. Had 50K miles. Since then, I've replaced the front bushings & control arms. Also needed a tune-up. The "somethings wrong" light started showing, AGAIN. Replaced split trans hose. I've put this thing up for sale. No more Chryslers.
    Flag This
  • 2001 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Lithonia, GA, July 04, 2010 00:05
    I have a 2001 PT Cruiser-engine mount problems, steering gear problems, electrical problems and the list goes on. Every time I take my car to the dealership for regular maintenance, I end up sending a whopping $800.00. I will never by another Chrysler!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Boston, MA, June 01, 2010 13:19
    The engine sounds like it should be diesel but its not. The transmission upshifs and downshifts when it wants to. I've had the chip "updated with new software" 3 times now. The front end wobble can be fixed if you have your CV joints, axle shafts, and lower control arms replaced... I did at 24k miles under the extended warranty. The brakes are non ABS and they really dont grab well. The stopping distances are long. The steering is vague, and the transmission/engine drones and has a mind of its own. It gets 17mpg around town, and if I have an extremely light foot and coast a lot I can get 21 on the highway. I can think of 1 nice thing... with the rear seats removed (they weigh a ton!) the back is cavernous. Next time i'm listening to consumer reports and buying foreign...
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Visitor, Ashland, KY, May 14, 2010 23:51
    Pretty good car
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    tbone188, Atlantic Highlands, NJ, March 03, 2010 12:10
     Enthusiast
    I have had at least 5 PT Cruisers, I just sold one that had 125K on it, no trouble at all. The others were used when I bought them and I have had great success with them. They have enough power (all non-turbo) and good gas mileage (25mpg). Some folks complain about wobble etc. CHECK YOUR TIRES! I just replaced 2 front tires because of flat spots on a 07.that my wife loves and drives. The tires appeared to have a lot of life left, the car has 30K miles.Head lights glazed over on 01, got some 1200 grit wet sand paper and polished them back up, They also sell a kit at the auto store that will polish them.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Licy0912, Boise, ID, January 29, 2010 12:01
     Enthusiast
    I wish i can say the same about my pt cruiser, I have 2007 seven pt cruiser and sense the first year we bought it i was bad, keep blowing fuses took it to the dealership and they told us that nothing was wrong, next year summer start and start doing again, they look and they found a short in the ingnition switch and they say the fixt it and the same day the car blow more fuses. they have several time after that and they can not find any problem with it. so don't know what to do.
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    fourknuckle, New Albany, IN, January 03, 2010 16:35
     Enthusiast
    Bad things, head lights are glazed over, turning radius is awful, tire wear seems to be bad, if you have the steel crome plated rims, they rust inside and have to be cleaned or the tires lose air, if the water pump needs replaced you better be ready to dig deep in the wallet. Good things, styling, reliable, body has no rust and clear coat hasn't faded, engine has plenty of pep.
    Flag This
  • 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    chad685, Pearl City, HI, January 03, 2010 00:31
     Enthusiast
    I purchased the car new in 2006. Nothing on this car has given me troubles exept the A/C. The senser on top of the condenser went bad which I hear is common for Chrysler. I replaced the senser and the A/C is like new agian. The Gas mileage is terrible to be such a small car. I feel these cars would have been more popular if the gas mileage was better. on the highway I'd get around 340 miles on a tank which is not bad but in stop and go traffic, I might get 240 or less. Other than that car is great.
    Flag This
  • 2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Sassy-r, Grants Pass, OR, December 14, 2009 10:46
     Rookie
    I bought the my cruiser in Aug 2009 and almost immediately found a front end wobble that would occure between 43 and 48 mph. I only had about 300 miles on the car when I took it in to my service dept. I was shocked when after I was told that two service tech's drove the car and the wobble was typical Cruiser. "what a Farce" Now I have 2100 miles on the car and a front axle seal has gone out and there is a fuel leak in the engine compartment. The wobble is still there. The service rep told me that there is a part that is located where the fuel line goes thru the veh. fire wall/fender well that is leaking. I was also told that the part is backordered and will take about two weeks, but I can stil drive the car. Seem there has been 99 of this part fail and production is behind. As for the axle seal they say that the wobble is not reason for the seal failure. This is a wait and see since I have not got the car back as yet
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    blieumom, Blue Grass, IA, November 13, 2009 21:38
     Enthusiast
    Bought an 03 with 54000 on it in 2006. Drove til 74000 when the transmission gave out. Actually don't know if it may have been that sensor everyone mentioned, but transmission was replaced UNDER WARRANTY! Seems I was sitting in the car waiting for the tow truck and started to read the owners manual and in 03 the whole transmission was covered up through 75000. Otherwise it has been a little champ. Mileage isnt great, but I was impressed at the safety ratings before I got it, and it survived a teen driver with no problems since. At 115000 and four years later, I had to replace the front struts and mounting brackets, and the hatch has a couple rusty spots that it has had since we bought it. I just hate the fact that the hatch only works when the weather is 50 or above. Overall I would buy one again, except that Chrysler has since dropped that warranty. Too bad!!
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    stewie76, Pleasant Grove, UT, November 09, 2009 20:55
     Rookie
    I bought my cruiser new and have had it for 4 years. It has about 52K miles on it, and at about 48K we started having problems. In the last 4 months, we've replaced the radiator, front wheel bearings, control arms, and it needs new CV joints which are on back order. The only saving grace to all of this is the Chrysler extended service contract I bought -- it has covered every single thing they've had to do on our car. But I will not buy another Chrysler/Dodge product.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Proseus, Bothell, WA, October 24, 2009 18:19
     Enthusiast
    I have a 2005 PT Cruiser and love her. Great gas mileage, comfortable and cozy. Never a problem until now. My brake lights will not come on. If any one know how to fix it please write back. When I have this one payed off I'll get another it is that good!
    Flag This
  • 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    4woodie7, Yorba Linda, CA, October 04, 2009 20:44
     Rookie
    We purchased our 2004 PT Cruiser GT new and it now has 36000 miles. The car is well maintained and we have had no problems. We bought it on impulse and we love it. It's the first "cheap" car we had for years and see no reason to buy an expensive car again. Good points: Great looking! Accelerates like crazy thanks to the turbo! Hauls more stuff than cars much bigger. Easy to climb in and out of. Fun to drive! Good quality! Not so good points: Poor gas mileage for a small car (also requires premium) Poor turning radius (can turn my 3/4 ton pick-up in less space). Gas tank too small (200 miles on a tank)
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    KHC, Strongsville, OH, July 18, 2009 09:16
     Enthusiast
    At under 35,000 miles the 2005 PT Cruiser I bought new, had to have it's front end arm bushings replaced twice. Also at under 35,000 miles all four spark plugs had to be replaced. Now at under 50,000 miles I find that there is a problem with the ABS I am looking into getting repaired. Needless to say, I am not a big fan of Chrysler.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    martymapson, Sterling, IL, April 09, 2009 19:26
     Enthusiast
    Bought mine used with less than 5,000 miles on it. Base model non turbo, automatic. I have had no problems with it and I really like it. Great style, handles like a sports car, plenty of room, great stereo and not one rattle at 20,000 miles. Gas mileage could be better. It has ample power. especially after I installed a K&N air filter. The chrome wheel covers that it came with were extremely pitted after there first Midwest winter so I ditched them and bought some nice 5 spoke wheels. I think most people would be satisfied with a PT Cruiser.
    Flag This
  • 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    Bill71, Hot Springs National Park, AR, March 29, 2009 10:16
     Enthusiast
    My wifes' convertable is fully equiped with all extras. She calls it her youth mobile. We have had no problems except the cost of the tires for this sports model. The high output turbo gives a lot of power but uses more gas then we like.
    Flag This
  • 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    steveillig, Kansas City, MO, March 05, 2009 17:01
     Enthusiast
    I love this car but I have had troubles with it. Had to have 2 water pumps put on it, bushings on lower control arms, front wheel bearings, oil pan removed due a oil leak,camshaft sensor went bad . Car only has 34,000 miles on it.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    brstilson, Grand Rapids, MI, February 06, 2009 03:04
     Enthusiast
    I got this car at 104,000 miles, almost 3 years ago now. Despite only being 4 years old, the tailgate was beginning to rust, and the rear Chrysler emblem was gone. Other than that, the body is fairly solid, and still looks great in the wash. The brakes work well, and last quite a while. No problems there. I've had to replace a water pump for $600, which until recently was my most major expense. Chrysler has definitely gone with form over function on this car. The engine compartment is extremely cramped, making it difficult to work on. The battery is actually covered by the air filter enclosure. The air intake plenum has to be removed to even get to the spark plugs, which adds a significant cost to a tune-up. Despite all that, the engine itself (the base 2.4 liter i-4 in this case) seems pretty solid, albeit a bit slow, well, actually very, very slow. It feels very underpowered. This is a grandma's car through and through. There was a bit to be desired on the taillights. Changing the rear bulbs is a bit of a pain. Normally a large flathead screwdriver is enough to get the taillight assembly off, but if there is any corrosion, only a special star bit will work. Why they didn't just use a philips head for this, I'll never know, especially since the light bulbs need to be changed. After a few years of owning the car, the light bulb sockets fried. They aren't just sockets, but actually have circuit boards in them. It cost me about $80 to replace all four taillight/rear blinker sockets and bulbs. Also, some of the dash lights were burned out when I bought the car, so it's hard to see the gas gauge at night. I have had (thankfully) no transmission problems as of yet. I have had no exhaust or emissions issues, either. Heating and air conditioning works well, and the A/C has lasted 2 winters so far without needing a recharge, which is an improvement over Chrysler vehicles from the 90's, which required a recharge every year. I have had major suspension and steering problems. Currently the car is in the shop getting a new steering rack. Thankfully the power steering pump is okay. I got the issue fixed before but it didn't solve the underlying problem apparently. I would not purchase this car again just for that issue. Suspensions are extremely expensive to work on and only poor engineering and design can account for a car having problems like this. Overall, it is an okay vehicle. The base, non-turbo engine is not only slow, but gets lackluster gas mileage (only an EPA estimated 25 mpg highway, while other cars in this class regularly top 30). The handling is sloppy and it just feels like the car is too heavy for its suspension. It is not any fun to drive. For that reason as well as the steering problems I've encountered, I can't recommend this car to anyone for any purpose.
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    mkaresh, West Bloomfield, MI, January 29, 2009 11:15
     Enthusiast
    With 75,000 miles on it, my wife's 2002 PT Cruiser has required a torque converter, lower control arm bushings, wheels (original ones corroded), wheel bearings, and a few other items.
    Flag This
  • 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    ryanscruiser, South Richmond Hill, NY, January 12, 2009 08:41
     Enthusiast
    I just love my pt cruiser.....its so much fun to drive and very very comfortable to drive. The heat and a/c wow works a little to good...lol in the winter I have to turn it down a bit because I am burning up and in the summer the a/c is really cold like winter. But overall I really love the styling and comfort of driving the car. Gas mileage could be a little better but overall I just love it
    Flag This
  • 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser
    JIMBO_1, Cotati, CA, August 22, 2008 08:33
     Rookie
    This car now has about 75,000 miles. Tires and brakes have been replaced. The airbag light comes on during hard right turns at 35/40 miles an hour. The oil is changed every 3,000 miles. The trim around the windows has always looked bad. The car is kept in a garage. Still has the original battery. No other mechanical problems.
    Flag This
Ask a Question
More about this car