✓ RepairPal Certified
931 E. Little Creek RD
Norfolk, VA 23518
View map and get directions
7:30am to 8:00pm
7:30am to 8:00pm
7:30am to 8:00pm
7:30am to 8:00pm
8:00am to 6:00pm
7:30am to 8:00pm
7:30am to 8:00pm
Call now:
(757) 525-3920

Auto Repair Experience

  • James Bennett, Owner
  • Established 1998
  • 4 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 2 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 82 Years of Car Repair Experience


CarMasters Automotive has much of what we look for in a certified shop. They have a well rounded group of employees with a lot of experience, and they support that team with the training, tools, and equipment they need to tackle most any problem their shop will encounter, all with a 24 month, 24,000 mile warranty! They back this up with amenities that show a commitment to customer service; shuttle service, WiFi, extended business hours, and they are open Saturdays. We were impressed with CarMasters, we think you will be too!


Auto Repair Experience

  • James Bennett, Owner
  • Established 1998
  • 4 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 2 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  • 82 Years of Car Repair Experience


  • AC/Heating
  • Alignment
  • Check Engine Light
  • Diagnosis
  • Hybrid/Electric
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Timing Belts
  • Tire Sales/Repair
  • Transmission Repair
  • Windshield/Glass


  • Child Friendly
  • Coffee
  • Early Bird Dropoff
  • Extended/Evening Hours
  • Financing
  • Free Estimates
  • Free Multi-Point Safety Inspection
  • Heated Waiting Room
  • Loaner Car
  • Military Discount
  • Open 24 Hours
  • Open Saturday
  • Rental Car
  • Senior Discount
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shopping Nearby
  • Shuttle
  • Warranty Accepted
  • Wireless Internet


Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo

Message from the Shop

Retired Military owned. Napa Autocare. 2 year/24,000 miles Piece of Mind Nation Wide warranty most Repairs. Large drive through outside inspection lane for Boat, Camper and RV Trailers as well as Storage for all Vehicles.


Overall Rating

33 Verified Reviews

Customer Reviews

Verified CustomerFebruary 05, 2014

Second time using the services for self and for business, and found the establishment to be courteous professional and fair.

Verified CustomerFebruary 05, 2014

Whenever I dropped off the car, I had to come back twice to get the work done. Scheduling issues.

Verified CustomerFebruary 02, 2014

Great service!! Roy was very nice and professional!!

Verified CustomerFebruary 02, 2014

I would recommend them probably by telling somebody. They were very good, handling my car really good, checked in and out in a reasonable time.

Verified CustomerFebruary 01, 2014

Good service , helpful attendant.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJanuary 28, 2014

Repair work was quick and the expense was very reasonable. Best of all, my car runs like new!

Verified CustomerJanuary 25, 2014

It seemed like they found extra repairs to inform me I needed fixing.

Verified CustomerJanuary 24, 2014

Great customer service.

Verified CustomerJanuary 23, 2014

They're courteous and nice to my wife, been there a long time. Very up front with her.

Verified CustomerJanuary 22, 2014

They were very quick, I had my vehicle back in no time, and they kept me informed on what was going on through the entire process. very nice and professional.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJanuary 20, 2014

Prompt detailed service.

Verified CustomerJanuary 20, 2014

Your are good.

Verified CustomerJanuary 13, 2014

I have been satisfied with the service over the years I have been a customer. I like that you have a loaner car when doing service on my vehicle.

Verified CustomerJanuary 13, 2014

Customer service is great the people there are just awesome, technicians are very helpful, giving you good advice on what you need versus what you don't need. Very awesome atmosphere, I like them a lot I will recommend anyone to go there.

Verified CustomerJanuary 12, 2014

I got my car back in a decent time manner.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJanuary 12, 2014

They did what I wanted them to do, I had to wait a bit as there were a few people in front of me.

Verified CustomerJanuary 11, 2014

I trust Jim Bennett and his crew.

Verified CustomerJanuary 05, 2014

Technician Cracked The Windshield During The Inspection Syicker Installation Then Didn't Mention A Word About It & When We Noticed The Crack We Called Them To Ask For It To Be Repaired Or Replaced & Since The Crack Was Listed On The Mechanics Notes & He Claimed The Crack Was Already Present Prior To Arrival. Owner/Technician Notified Us Via Phone He Is Registered With The Courts As A Certified Reporter So Our Claim Wouldn't Stand Up In Court Not To Mention Since It's In The Mechanics Notes It Wasn't Necessary To Notify Us OF The Crack During Or After The State Inspection Process. He Also Cross Threaded A Stud OnThe Second Car We Were Having Inspected & Claimed It Was Cross Threaded Before But It's A Brand New Vehicle Only Maintenanced By Subaru Technicians At Perry Subaru. We Were Treated Unfairly, Our Vehicles Were Damaged, & We were Treated Terrible Along With Threatened When We Attempted To Allow Car Masters To Correct Their Mistakes. We Will Be Contactibg The BBB For A Complaint.

Verified CustomerJanuary 04, 2014

Pleasant management, and they were able to accommodate me on a Saturday without a prior appointment, and in a timely fashion.

Verified CustomerJanuary 04, 2014

Good service, nice people who have worked on my car four two plus years.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerDecember 31, 2013

I've been going there for nearly 10 years. Always had excellent service. They provide recommendations for other service. Very solid work, every time. Knowledgeable staff.

Verified CustomerDecember 31, 2013

Very professional, very nice, very understanding.

Verified CustomerDecember 26, 2013

Good friendly service.

Verified CustomerDecember 26, 2013

The warranty work for the starter was good. The response for the oil leak was unsatisfactory. Less than 1000 miles after having the timing chain and oil pump replaced, I asked for the oil leak to be checked. I have owned this S10 since September 1995 and have always parked it in front of my house. There was never a sign of oil leakage until this work was done at Carmasters. When the work was done, Mike called me and asked if I would authorize replacing the rear main seal while they had it open and I said yes. When I picked up the vehicle, Mike said that they did not replace the rear seal as it looked good and it showed no signs of a leak. The front seal was or should have been replaced with the timing chain replacement. Now you say the oil is leaking form the front seal and even more from the rear seal and I need to live with it and add oil as needed or replace the engine because of blow by. Blow by does not always mean that a new engine is required. It can be caused by a problem in the PCV system. I do not find this acceptable as a solution to a problem that I believe was caused by work done at Carmasters. I know times are slow, but I have been unemployed since March 1, 2013 and cannot afford to subsidize slow business. I know that you previously recommended a dye to find oil leaks, but when I checked for oil leaks prior to bringing the vehicle back to you, I found a bolt missing from the timing chain cover which caused the oil around the oil pan and did not show visible signs of leakage in the street. I had provided all of the gaskets and seals for the timing chain and oil pan when I brought the vehicle in. When I found some of the gaskets still in the cab when I picked up the vehicle, Mike told me that Carmasters had gotten an entire set of gaskets and seals under warranty from the first timing chain job that was done there. I have given you a lot of business over the years with many vehicles, but I may not come back in the future.

Verified CustomerDecember 23, 2013

It was good service and time that was spent was good too.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerDecember 21, 2013

Like the free loaner, work was done in a timely manner however when they called to tell me the car was ready the total was $100 more than I was originally told and I was never called to approve more work. Asked for the military discount and was told I'd get it but the final total was the same. Also a little concerned that a month later I am having the same problem with the vehicle (although it could be the other side).

December 16, 2013

They do a good job. Good price.

Verified CustomerDecember 14, 2013

They're fair and honest. They tell you what's wrong with your vehicle at a reasonable price.

July 09, 2013

When my 2010 Escape had a check engine light come on, Carmasters owner, Jim, checked it out himself. He explained the problem, a oxygen sensor. He told me that replacing it would turn the light off, but warned me that it might come back on in a few weeks for another problem that often happens. When it did, six weeks later, I did not worry because he had told me it might happen. They quickly ordered the Ford parts, made the repair, and it has been happy motoring for months now. Thanks Jim.

July 05, 2013

I would like to take a moment to thank jim and chuck at
Carmaster Automotive on Newtowntown Rd Va Beach,Va 23462
On two Incidents they put me back on the road with fast and
efficient service The thing that impressed me most was the
was the positive attitude that both men displayed when
they saw my problem they put my truck in the shop got the
parts made the repairs on both times and got me back on
the road again.I would like to thank the staff here
and would recommend the service that I received and the prompt
service of all Employees involved.
Again thanking you for the very good service I received
Louis L Werner Jr

Show more reviews
June 18, 2013

I am a satisfied customer of Carmaster's. I had a problem with my AC. I had already taken my car elsewhere and they did not corrected the problem. While I was stopped, whether in traffic or at a light the air blew out hot. Hot weather in Virginia with no AC was miserable. Well, They detected a broken seam in my radiator. They replaced the radiator and now I get cold air blowing anytime I need it.

I have had other work done by Carmaster's. They do a great job!

My daughter has taken her car there for several different problems, the most memorable was that they replaced her timing belt just before her second daughter was born last year. It gave all of us great peace of mind.

I trust them and have always found them to be very honest, fair priced and professional.

E. Carlson Va. Beach, VA

April 07, 2013

Jim and his crew are great automotive technicians. It is a mom and pop brick and mortar store, but it has some serious perks (free loaner, WiFi, extended hours, etc). Prices are very reasonable and affordable. They worked with me on my "new" used car and told me what needed fixed right now and what could wait for a couple months. Definitely a repeat customer for their service.

February 26, 2013

I have been going to CARMASTERS since 2001. Four of my cars have been serviced there. Very knowledgeable and trustworthy.

February 26, 2013

We have used Carmasters for many years. They are very, very good at repairs, and they are very, very honest. Their prices are reasonable, and the owner does everything in his power to provide great service at great prices. They have worked on all of our cars, and we wouldn't use anyone else.

December 28, 2010

They charged me $32 to aim my headlights...which took 5 minutes. They claimed that the state sets the price for the machine. So they charged me $32 for 5 minutes of labor. My friend owns a shop and says he charges $5 for aiming headlights. When I asked about the price he didn't give me a clear explanation and when I questioned the price he just repeated the same thing. They are dishonest and overpriced.

Reply from Carmasters Automotive – carmasterFebruary 20, 2013

The State sets the cost of inspections but does not set price for repairs. I know of no inspection station that charges $5 to aim more than one head light. We have 4 state police laser calibrated head light aiming machines, are open until 8 PM week days and 6 PM on Saturday, have a minimum of a 2 year warranty (even on head light aiming, unless evidence of collision)as well as free loaner vehicle that can be reserved for any maintenance, diagnostic or repair appointment as well as for walkins as available. If you have any additional questions please call me 456-0722, thanks, Jim

Show more reviews
December 14, 2010

These guys are wonderful, they have never missed anything and I have never broke down, Michael is so Nice and knows so much about Honda's. I love the WIFI when im waiting and the text reminders, Thanks, please dont change a thing

5 verified customers did not leave comments but provided these ratings:
by 2 verified reviewers
by 1 verified reviewer
by 1 verified reviewer
by 1 verified reviewer
Get Directions to Carmasters Automotive
RepairPal Certified

RepairPal Certified shops pass a rigorous 42-point annual inspection by our master mechanics for quality work and fair prices.

  • High quality repair
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Real, verified reviews
  • Current expert training
  • Warranty on repairs
  • Great customer service