» » » Black Label Performance

Black Label Performance

4755 Town Center Drive, Colorado Springs, CO 80916 Map & directions

Call Now: (719) 694-5118

See more real customer reviews

About Black Label Performance

RepairPal’s Comprehensive Evaluation

RepairPal Quality Index (?)
Customer Satisfaction (Net Promoter Score®) (?)
Based on interviews with 25+ recent customers
Avg Repair Shop
American Express
Lowe's
JetBlue
Apple
94
Technical Ability (?)
88
Tools & Equipment (?)
91
Customer Service (?)
95
Customer Conveniences (?)
24 months / 24,000 miles
Parts & Labor Warranty (?)

Assessment Summary

Black Label is the brainchild of brothers Mike and Mark Gibson, who grew up helping their father rebuild classic cars. After tossing the idea around for many years, they finally decided to open their own shop in 2009. Mike is a Toyota Certified Master Tech, and their second tech, Brandon is an ASE Master Tech. Both have over 15 years of experience. Brother Mark works as the service writer in the shop, making this a family affair.

Message from the Shop

Black Label Performance is not just a performance facility. We service all makes and models of vehicles ranging from classic restorations to modern muscle cars, old school imports to the technically infused Asian and European imports of today. We are a full service repair shop that only employs ASE Master Certified Technicians to ensure your repair is performed properly, the first time. We offer OEM as well as quality aftermarket performance parts and service for far less than your dealer. Our 24 month/24,000 mile warranty ensures that your repairs are covered. Whether you need regular maintenance done, a full engine rebuild, performing an engine swap, turbocharging or supercharging your vehicle, setting up a road race or drift car suspension, repairing a curb/pothole hit or diagnosing a hard to pin down drivability issue, we are the shop for you! Don't take it from us, read our reviews that speak for themselves. We are a locally owned, family operated business!

Auto Makes We Service

Acura Audi BMW
Buick Cadillac Chevrolet
Chrysler Dodge FIAT
Ford GMC Geo
Honda Hummer Hyundai
Infiniti Isuzu Jaguar
Jeep Kia Land Rover
Lexus Lincoln Mazda
Mercedes-Benz Mercury Mini
Mitsubishi Nissan Oldsmobile
Plymouth Pontiac Porsche
Ram Saab Saturn
Scion Smart Subaru
Suzuki Toyota Volkswagen
Volvo

Specialties

AC/Heating Alignment Check Engine Light Classic Car Repair/Restoration
Diagnosis Hybrid/Electric Muffler & Exhaust Oil Change & Lube
Scheduled Maintenance Service & Repair Timing Belts Tire Sales/Repair
Transmission Repair

Amenities

Car Wash Child Friendly Coffee Early Bird Dropoff
Financing Free Estimates Free Inspection Gas/Diesel
Heated Waiting Room Military Discount Parts/Accessories Service Guarantee
Towing Warranty Accepted Wireless Internet

Customer Reviews 22 verified reviews (24 total)

Sort by: Date | Helpful
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
August 25, 2012

Very knowledgeable staff, they found problems that were unsolvable in other shops. Great service.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
August 14, 2012

Mark showed me the old part when asked (even opened the package core return) and Mike took pictures of the problem he found and fixed. They kept to their estimate. Very please with the work.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
August 10, 2012

These guys are amazing! I took them a project car that no other mechanics would go near and they had this thing running perfectly in a very short period of time. They are all very friendly, their shop is clean with a nice waiting area. Would highly recommend them.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
August 08, 2012

Mike was open, honest, and didn't recommend more than was necessary. He cared more about my wallet and meeting my needs than squeezing me for every dollar. I have already recommended his shop to my family and they too have been quite impressed with his level of integrity.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
July 23, 2012

They do what they were doing and they did the job right.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
July 14, 2012

Great guys that really know what they're talking about and will do the research and spend the extra time to find out what's wrong and fix it. True car guys and great businessmen. No surprise $500 charges here, they always let you know what's going on. I won't take my car anywhere else.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
July 06, 2012

Family business, will take good care of you and your car!

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 29, 2012

Everybody there was just fantastic. They were really a wonderful group, they were thoughtful and polite. I work two shifts and they had to get my car in and they did. They are just really great people.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 29, 2012

Very professional

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 22, 2012

They're good, good quality work. It got done fast and they are great people to work with.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 20, 2012

Overall they were great people, they were down to earth and they understand that people are on a budget.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 19, 2012

Friendly atmosphere, courteous, they're sincere about not having work done that you don't need. Family owned and operated, people like that, it is a local shop.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 15, 2012

They seem very knowledgeable about the repairs. They are very meticulous about their repairs.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
June 13, 2012

This shop and the people that work there are very honest people. They could have charged us a lot more for our repair as we couldn't find the part anywhere else. I will recommend them to everyone I know. Thanks Black Label Judy & Ken

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 26, 2012

I just thought they were extremely professional, very helpful, willing to accommodate. I was very satisfied with the whole operation.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 24, 2012

I took my super charger they did the gasket, there was a leak in the gasket so now my super charger is messed up and the fluid is leaking.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 22, 2012

Wasnt a big fan of price jumps the first time I came in. Also wish they would be more upfront about the amount of time it take for the repair. Other then that, they are extremely friendly and im glad I found them.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 18, 2012

They are really close friends of mine and they do excellent, I would recommend them to anyone who needs work on their car. They do excellent work.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 09, 2012

I will be back!!

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 07, 2012

Nice family owned business that takes care of their customers.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 01, 2012

I think they have done really well with all our vehicles and I really hope they stay in business so I can keep going.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
Verified Customer
May 01, 2012

Mike and Mark are two awesome mechanics in Colorado Springs. They are very friendly, very straight up and honest with you. They know what they are doing, really, they are very professional. They are willing to answer questions, even if you are not coming in to get a repair, and have a question, they are willing to share their knowledge.

Flag This
Black Label Performance
August 20, 2013

WATCH OUT! THIS SHOP IS GOING TO TAKE YOU FOR A RIDE!

My FEMALE friend took my 94 Toyota Camry for a simple estimate on a bad cv shaft. It took Black Label Performance three days for them to "investigate and write up the estimate".
Here on Repairpal.com the job was estimated at $330 - $772 including parts.
The estimate from Black Label Performance was over $2000!
Black Label Performance estimate had much more then a cv shaft down on the estimate. The shop also had it down for a complete front brake job among other things it did not need. I had just done a complete brake job on the car myself less then 10000 miles before Black Label Performance's horrible nonsense.
Needlessly to say I did not have them do whatever they were going to do to the car. The cars value isn't even $1500. I had the car repaired at John Senter Tire & Service. The total bill was just under $700 and they told me the only thing the car needed was indeed the cv shaft.

Flag This
Reply from Black Label Performance -  BlackLabelPerformanceAugust 20, 2013 14:32

Ms. Peru was very pleasant when she dropped her vehicle off near closing time on a Wednesday afternoon for a noise that she was told by a friend was a broken CV axle on her Camry. We explained to her that we would not have time to look the vehicle over until the next morning, which she said was fine. Our technician looked the vehicle over and found that there was a torn CV boot on the driver side axle, but there was no damage to the CV joint at this time and that it could simply be rebooted. What we found to cause the noise Ms. Peru was concerned about was a completely destroyed front motor mount. The insulator was torn and the through bolt to mount to the subframe was not even threaded into the subframe, and had been this way for some time. We explained to Ms. Peru that she would need not only the motor mount, but the through bolt and also some labor to chase the threads in the subframe. Ms. Peru requested that we look the entire vehicle over for any issues, since she was entertaining the idea of buying a new car and did not desire to put much more money into this car. We looked the vehicle over thoroughly and came up with a handful of repairable, but costly issues that were put into safety and prioritized order for repair. The total of ALL of the repairs we wrote up was around $2,000.00. We simply tried to fulfill Ms. Peru's request to give her our honest opinion of the vehicle. Ms. Peru stated that she only had $300 to repair the car. Friday morning, Ms. Peru left a voicemail prior to opening and stated that she was going to go to an auction and pick up another vehicle and for us to not touch the car. We followed the instructions that we were given and waited to hear from Ms. Peru. Friday, around 3:00pm Ms. Peru came in to pick up her vehicle. She was very upset that the repairs were not completed and that her car was not fixed, even though we never received authorization to do any repairs. I am not sure where the communication broke down, but we charged her nothing. We tried to find out what the miscommunication was, but she felt that we were simply trying to rip her off and make her feel like her car was not worthy of our time. We are very sorry to see a review like this and we are/were unaware of the 'bleeping' sound that your vehicle now makes. We are unsure of whether this sound has anything to do with us looking the car over, but if we caused the issue, we would like the opportunity to repair it. If you would like, we can take a look at the sound for you, free of charge. This other shop charge you for an axle assembly that you did not need, you just needed a reboot. This new axle assembly will soon fail without the front motor mount being repaired, which is why the axle boot tore in the first place. We recommended rear brakes, not front, which were simply pad slapped. Sincerely, Mark Gibson Service Manager/Co-Owner

Black Label Performance
August 30, 2012

These guys are very honest and great mechanics, I have and will continue to use their services. They spent 3 weeks looking for a rear axle for our Ford Windstar that Ford did a recall on, but we were never notified. We took our vehicle in for it's reg. servicing and this is when the cracked axle was found. Ford was going to charge us 1,100.00 to repair it, Black Label charged us 705.00 knowing ahead of time how much Ford was going to charge. Great company, you can't go wrong with this company.
Judy & Ken

Flag This
Get Directions to Black Label Performance
Get Directions
RepairPal Certified Shops
An exclusive network of auto repair and maintenance shops that delivers:
  • Quality work, backed by a minimum 12-month/12,000-mile warranty
  • Guaranteed fair prices
  • Happy customers
Hours of Operation
Mon - Fri:9:00am to 6:00pm
Call Now:

(719) 694-5118

Auto Repair Experience

  1. Mark Gibson, Manager
  2. Established 2009
  3. 2 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  4. 1 ASE Certified Auto Technicians
  5. 31 Years of Car Repair Experience