AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care

This shop is not RepairPal Certified. Learn more
2002 Broussard St. Ste. A
Tyler, TX 75701
OPEN NOW
T
8:00am to 5:30pm
OPEN NOW
F
8:00am to 5:30pm
T
8:00am to 5:30pm
S
Closed
W
8:00am to 5:30pm
Su
Closed
Th
8:00am to 5:30pm
M
8:00am to 5:30pm
(903) 561-6711

This shop is not yet RepairPal Certified - Learn More

When taking your car to this shop, we recommend you take the time to:

  • Ask if their technicians are ASE-certified.
  • Request written estimates from multiple shops and compare them with the RepairPal estimator.
  • Verify that the shop you select is willing and able to clearly explain the work being performed.
  • Ask whether they warranty their repairs (and for how long).
×

Get an Estimate

Tell us a symptom, service or repair for your car
Get a car repair estimate:
Show Repair List »
Show Repair List »
Message from the Shop
From transmission repairs to tune-ups and any auto repair service in between, people who know call AAMCO of Tyler, TX. With expert technicians and the latest tools and equipment, you can trust that we'll diagnose and repair your car right the first time. And back it with a nationwide warranty 900 centers strong. We know all makes and models so trust your car or truck to the experts and call AAMCO now. • Expert automatic transmission repair, manual transmissions, clutch service/replacement, and advanced computer diagnostics to identify and help fix all drivability problems, including 4X4s, fleets, and more. • Complete brakes services including brake pads, rotors, and anything you need for all vehicle makes and models. • Check Engine Light on? We'll check it. • Auto air conditioning check and complete A/C services including recharge, compressor repair/replacement, and anything needed to keep you cool. • Tune-ups and factory scheduled maintenance packages for about every car or truck on the road, to keep you in warranty and to help improve your gas mileage, for less than dealer prices. • Expert repair and service for your TOTAL car care needs: oil, lube & filter changes, transmission flushes, exhaust, radiator/heating/cooling system, engine performance and more.
Details

Auto Repair Experience

  • Bill Bell, Owner
  • Established 2000
  • 4 Auto Repair Mechanics on Staff
  • 1 ASE Certified Auto Technician
  • 75 Years of Car Repair Experience

Specialties

  • AC/Heating
  • Check Engine Light
  • Muffler & Exhaust
  • Oil Change & Lube
  • Scheduled Maintenance
  • Service & Repair
  • Timing Belts
  • Transmission Repair

Amenities

  • Open Saturday
  • Service Guarantee
  • Shuttle
  • Wireless Internet

Affiliations

Makes We Serve

  • Acura
  • Audi
  • BMW
  • Buick
  • Cadillac
  • Chevrolet
  • Chrysler
  • Dodge
  • FIAT
  • Ford
  • GMC
  • Geo
  • Honda
  • Hummer
  • Hyundai
  • Infiniti
  • Isuzu
  • Jaguar
  • Jeep
  • Kia
  • Land Rover
  • Lexus
  • Lincoln
  • Mazda
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mercury
  • Mini
  • Mitsubishi
  • Nissan
  • Oldsmobile
  • Plymouth
  • Pontiac
  • Porsche
  • Ram
  • Saab
  • Saturn
  • Scion
  • Smart
  • Subaru
  • Suzuki
  • Toyota
  • Volkswagen
  • Volvo
Reviews

Overall Rating

23 Reviews

Customer Reviews

Verified CustomerJanuary 10, 2014

They were extremely fast. They made time for me. I had an emergency and they worked me in.

Verified CustomerJanuary 03, 2014

Price was good and the service was good. It was a reasonable price, what I expected to pay. I shopped around and others were more expensive.

Verified CustomerJanuary 03, 2014

You get a fair price. Quality workmanship. Dependability and trustworthy.

Verified CustomerDecember 27, 2013

Bill does a great job.

Verified CustomerDecember 12, 2013

Their service should be quicker.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerDecember 05, 2013

I feel like they gave me a good price, the work seems good, they quoted a checkup. Two to three weeks in all was good, everything works properly. Good value.

December 03, 2013

They were good and friendly. They were able to do the job that I needed done.

Verified CustomerNovember 26, 2013

I just felt like they're really fair. They're really knowledgeable. I had a good experience there. What I asked for was done, like they didn't try to sneak in anything extra.

November 15, 2013

They did an excellent job. They returned our phone call.

Verified CustomerNovember 01, 2013

They have good customer service. They took care of the problem and fixed it. They're reasonable.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerOctober 31, 2013

I was happy with them. They did a good job. Very satisfied and had no problem.

Verified CustomerOctober 25, 2013

I have to say they did an excellent job at being accommodating. I dropped my truck off and they offered me a ride even thought I didn't need one. There was a part delayed. It was not there fault and I was very pleased with how they handled it. They are one of the better mechanic shops in the area. It is hard to find a good mechanic; you can find them but it is hard to find one that won't rip you off.

Verified CustomerOctober 24, 2013

I was happy with the service. They were speedy. I had an emergency and they got it right done.

Verified CustomerOctober 02, 2013

The owner makes sure it is fixed right. He stands behind it 100%. I had to take something back a year later and no questions were asked. He just repaired it.

Verified CustomerSeptember 27, 2013

They were accurate on the pre-assessment quote. They fixed it quickly. Before seeing the vehicle they gave me a quote and were on it.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerSeptember 18, 2013

I was satisfied with what they told me and the process that they used. They did not give me the run around. I appreciate that.

Verified CustomerAugust 28, 2013

Very good service. Very nice men that waited on me. Reasonable price. Good service quick. We had an appointment, we got in and out quick. It was a nice place to wait.

Verified CustomerAugust 28, 2013

They did me a pretty good job. It might not be their fault but my transmission had to warm up before it will shift. They said this would happen.

Verified CustomerAugust 13, 2013

They are top in honesty. They did not push anything that did not need to be done.

Verified CustomerJuly 12, 2013

I took my vehicle in there with a transmission problem. They told me it was going to cost $4300. They said the job was to rebuild the transmission because it was not running right. They rebuilt the transmission, I paid them the money. It slips out of gear at about 2nd or 3rd gear. I took it in and they said it must be something else. I told them about the problem, they said it must be the computer. I said, hey I paid you fix my car properly, and they didn't. It is still under warranty and they told me I had to buy a computer. It is still running but is slipping out of gear. They said bring it back in and we will check it out. They told me that I need to get a computer but they had told me previously that the computer was fine.

Show more reviews
Verified CustomerJune 20, 2013

The service was very good. I would say the waiting room and the location would be why I wouldn't give them a ten. It is not very large and it is probably not something a women would be comfortable at. It is kind of dirty. Not something I would assume you would want to send your spouse to.

February 02, 2016

Beware!! Car broke down in Tyler area so took it to this Aamco location. Big mistake. Feel totally ripped off. They quoted repairs at 2-3 X's the amount of every other shop we contacted. Decided to take the car elsewhere so they charged us 400.00 to diagnose the problem (fully expected to pay for that but 400.00??)

As we were paying for the diagnosis the guy says "oh by the way, we broke the axle when we were taking it out". Offered to pay 70.00 to fix that repair. Incredible!! The part alone to fix the axle is over 70.00!!

Would never recommend this shop! Horrible customer service. Beware!!

Reply from AAMCO Transmissions & Total Car Care – AAMCO TylerFebruary 02, 2016

Unfortunately this customer has a problem with the truth. He was given a price up front at right around $3,000.00 Customer had us tow the car to our center. Customer was told we need to disassemble the transmission to see the exact extent of the damage. After doing so gave him a price to repair the transmission of $2968.00. Customer was also told that he needed several motor mounts and was told that we would not charge any labor to install the mounts but the cost of the mounts would be $329.00. We did not tell him "oh by the way we broke the axle when we were taking it out". He was told that when we removed the axle the end popped off and that if we did the repair we would have fixed it. O'Reilly's sells the axle shaft assembly for $55.70. He was told I reduced the price by $70.00 to replace the axle shaft assembly.

I am not sure why someone would feel "ripped off" when they were told up front, before the vehicle was towed into our center what the price would be. He was given all of this information and feels the need to not be truthful.

This customer was not charged $400.00 for a diagnosis. He was charged $400.00 (actually $330.00) for the labor time to remove the transmission and do a complete tear down and towing.

1 verified customer did not leave comments but provided this rating:
by 1 verified reviewer